Fans Behaviour

Firstly let me say that the vast majority of GAA fans behave in an impeccable manner and I include Tyrone fans in that.

But I think Karl was right in highlighting extreme cases such as this: http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=196920

We don't want to go down the road and end up segregated like the ones across the water. So it's good incidents like these are highlighted and nipped in the bud.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9769 - 19/07/2013 09:30:01    1435717

Lockjaw that link doesn't seem to work just gives a webpage error

kildarecat22 (Kildare) - Posts: 257 - 19/07/2013 09:53:11    1435731

Of course he was right to highlight it Lockjaw and any right minded supporter is behind Lacey 100%. This comment from the report actually sums up the thoughts of the real Tyrone supporter, well done to the lad who posted this.

Fair comment Karl, I was at the game, and am a tyrone supporter through and through, and also play in division 1 in tyrone and I can tell you that the exact same language and abuse is prevalent in our club game also. Lads train their guts out four or five nights a week in the wind and rain, feezing cold evenings in January, in gyms and on tracks, while these so called "supporters" sit in their house in front of the fire watching eastenders and coronation street, and it comes to a sunday and we get nothing but abuse and slagged off for giving all we have for our club, and in your case, your county.

The tyrone county board didn't take the appropraite action in this case, it is our club game that is the problem in tyrone. I'm sick of the abuse we get from the stands, and its only a matter of time before a player takes the matter into his own hands, jumps the wire, and sorts the problem out physically. These guys who mouth, train with a galeic team for two weeks in the modern era, and you will learn to shut your mouth and give respect where it is due to guys of the calibre of Karl Lacey, and all committed players in the modern club and county game.

P.S Karl Lacey, you look like popeye in that photo with those arms.
Conor, Tyrone on 19/07/2013 at 09:37

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/07/2013 09:54:01    1435734

Don't really see the point in this thread. Every county has gobsh***s. People that are no addition to the GAA with their ignorant views and actions. I believe no matter how good Laceys intentions were all he is actually doing is singling out Tyrone whether he likes it or not.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 19/07/2013 10:00:04    1435739

Fully agree. And i was delighted to see the comment under the article from the Tyrone lad. I have never thankfully had any issues while playing or supporting a team in Gaa. I'm a Meath man living in Dublin and have great banter but it never goes further than that. these lads give up most of there 20's & 30's home & social life to play at the highest level and they deserve respect. People get hot under the collar (myself included) during a match and may shout and Moan a bit but when it comes down to it 99% of supporters are excellently behaved and their love for the game & County is what makes them go to games. Not to abuse the Players or other fans.

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 19/07/2013 10:00:48    1435740

kildarecat22

1435731 Lockjaw that link doesn't seem to work just gives a webpage error

Its on the main HS page

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 19/07/2013 10:01:15    1435741

Its on the home page kildarecat22.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/07/2013 10:02:08    1435743

Why bring this up again now, was sorted back then no one in their right mind would condone what happened. There are idiots at every game up and down the country mostly old men and women who don't know how to keep there traps shut. don't understand why he is bringing this up again now. There was a lot of crap fired out in ballybofey too especially towards stevey o'neill who has achieved far greater in the game than Murphy but there is no point playing tit for tat

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 19/07/2013 10:10:44    1435748

Good post from the Tyrone supporter. It goes on in club football in Donegal aswell but I won't go mentioning specific clubs.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9769 - 19/07/2013 10:11:53    1435749

Cheers guys just read the link, from a personal point of view I find the older generation of supporter is much more likely to eff and blind at you if you make an error, sometimes its just spur of the moment stuff heat of the battle etc but some supporters are just down right ignorant, as Niall Buckley once said you're only as good as your last game you can go from hero to zero in an instant.

Every county and every club team has them unfortunately nothing you do will ever change that.

kildarecat22 (Kildare) - Posts: 257 - 19/07/2013 10:17:48    1435751

redhanddefender

Why bring this up again now, was sorted back then no one in their right mind would condone what happened.

How was it dealt with? I for one have heard nothing about it & have no idea who the spitter was. Until these people are identified, named with photos then there is not deterrence. It is not enough to say that it has been "dealt with" or was "sorted". Not alone must justice be done but it must be seen to be done.
Not for one minute am I saying that everything in Donegal is a bed of roses. We have our share of embarrassments as well & there is one ground in Donegal that I won't visit anymore because of a small knot of lunatics who make life unpleasent for visiting supporters. But spitting is n a different level & needs to be stamped on publicly.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/07/2013 10:23:14    1435752

I dont understand Karl's point.

Unless the journalist lead him to the remarks, and then quoted him out of general context, it is a puzzle to me why he is revisiting these steps.

The issue was dealt with, as he says himself, and is 'water under the bridge', but how can it be if it is brought up again?

I was at the game in Omagh, and did not see the incident, as I was under the pressbox on the terrace at the opposite end to the stand where it all seemed to be going ballistic. It went over the top but I think that the Tyrone county board apologized twice on the same day (by mickey harte as well). That should be the end of it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 19/07/2013 10:24:43    1435754

Every county has them but doesn't make it right or acceptable. Some of the comments at last weeks Kildare V Louth was just so bad and have no place in any form of acceptable behavior. Any amateur that gives practically all his free time to a team should never, never have to listen to the venom and shite spewed at them by supporters (from both sides) when things go wrong. It is not just at matches but in the media (in a gentler but still barbed manner), on forums etc.
To put it in context,I know one county player who along with his commitment to his county also is contending with looming redundancies in his job, has a young family, loans etc. That on its own is enough to stress the best but then to read he "lay down", questioned his "parentage", sexuality, was a useless a gym monkey, and thats the mild end of the spectrum etc etc. He has heard or read all this and while he usually lets it in one ear and out the other evening he did comment he would love to hear what these fans have to say face to face.
If a teams is playing badly yeah criticise the tactics, formation, team choice but some of the shite is just pure vindictive and frankly nasty bile from insecure small minded people, who probably couldn't make it on a starting team in tiddlywinks. And then on top of all this we seem to have racism creeping in, its up to all decent fans to stamp this shite out....as why let a small minority tarnish our game.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 19/07/2013 10:43:55    1435764

the way it is and will never change. Decent fans can't do anything to stamp it out, if a guy is shouting abuse what can you do, does it look like he is going to listen to reason, if you asked him to stop would you expect him to say 'fair point and thank you for showing me the error of my ways' or get a volley of abuse back. I don't think Lacey was stirring it, a journalist asks you a question, what do you do, say no comment all the time.

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 19/07/2013 10:57:13    1435776

Exactly switec. It's fair enough players being coy when questioned about the team/tactics etc but when something asked something like this I think players have a moral obligation to respond truthfully and not to brush it under the carpet.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9769 - 19/07/2013 11:01:44    1435778

not so sure Switec, there was a Kildare fan mouthing dogs abuse at some Louth players and sections from both counties told him where to go, wasn't long shutting up. I am on about really nasty shite, most don't want to listen it.

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 19/07/2013 11:02:43    1435779

Spitting is obviously going too far but this is the same Donegal panel that consciously made sledging a part of their game plan. For them to take issue with verbal abuse during a match is a bit hypocritical. Yes, they deserve respect but they should show the same courtesy to their opponents

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 19/07/2013 11:09:24    1435786

Fair play to Karl I think.

It is important that unacceptable behaviour by supporters is highlighted in the GAA. As an organisation we tend to think that there is nothing wrong at all with supporters in the GAA and clap ourselves on the back about how great we all are.

Even though most supporters are great and impeccably behaved there are still problems that shouldn't be brushed under the carpet imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13801 - 19/07/2013 11:22:21    1435800

Lads without bias it is undeniable that the same counties are in the spotlight continuously as a result of their fans and/or players actions!

I don't think I could have reacted a calmly as Mr Lacey!!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 19/07/2013 11:24:27    1435803

Exactly Ciarrai Abu, I'd say my first reaction to being spat at would be physical retribution and I wouldn't be the only one here saying that.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9769 - 19/07/2013 11:29:00    1435812