Katrina's looks can boost camogie

Wasn't she on championship matter a few weeks back. She is a great analyst and put the other two men to shame. At least I think it was her!

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 19/07/2013 19:24:38    1436174

Who? Susan Boyle?

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1043 - 19/07/2013 20:27:11    1436201

ringo
County: Wexford

"Yeah, fair enough, participation is key. My whole take on it is that if more glamorous women are seen to be playing it, it might be more appealing to the ladies to play it and keep playing it. I've sisters myself who play sport, but wouldn't be caught dead playing camogie."

I was a bit to quick, a very important point. In fact probably the most important one from girls point of view. One of the big reasons for girls given it up s as a sport amongst girls themselves it has a really poor image. Plus girls seem to think they'll develop mega muscle and I guess muscles are fat! So points well mad and taken.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 19/07/2013 20:54:28    1436222

Jesus is this really a thread?!? As a woman I find if laughable that seeing an attractive girl playing a sport would encourage me to take up that sport! Total BS!!! Is that what encourages young lads to take up GAA. A good looking fella plays? Doubtful! Nothing to do with the looks of your peers. Jesus wept!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/07/2013 21:21:42    1436238

Le mot juste Jackeen. And well said Gabriel. I know Dub camogs who are livid over this. It is a serious game played by dedicated players. Patronising bollix. Without putting too fine a point on it.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 19/07/2013 21:38:44    1436258

CRYSTALSWING comes to mind. Mothers don't always know best. It will be forgotten about by next week.

danpaddyandy (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 19/07/2013 21:59:35    1436269

DLlegends,

"Wasn't she on championship matter a few weeks back. She is a great analyst and put the other two men to shame. At least I think it was her!"

No, that was the Cork camógie team captain & she was excellent. Not too shabby either!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 20/07/2013 10:57:55    1436313

The other two fellas on that show were golfer Shane lowry and derry footballer Eoin Bradley.
Dj Legends, the Cork camogie player did a fine job as an analyst but how did she put the other two lads to shame?
All three of them were quite articulate and talked sense. No way did she put them to shame. She was just a normal player, talking about the championship.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 20/07/2013 16:07:19    1436470

Wexford star Katrina Parrock says she would have no problem using her good looks to promote camogie.

Katrina's mother Liz caused a storm last week when she urged the Camogie Association to use the three-time All-Ireland winning forward's "pleasant" looks to promote the sport after the player was captured by the RTE cameras entering the pitch in a pair of denim shorts to give a team-mate water during Wexford's clash with Kilkenny in Nowlan Park last Saturday week.

The 22-year-old was unable to play due to a broken arm, but she still made quite an impression with viewers and has picked up hundreds of male admirers as a result.

Now Katrina - who has become an online sensation - has broken her silence on the matter by saying she isn't ruling out the idea of doing adverts on behalf of camogie.

"I'd love to see camogie at the same level as hurling with games shown every weekend," she said in the Irish Sun.

"As long as an ad campaign would be in keeping with the culture and ethics of our game I see no reason why any player would have a problem."

Katrina added: "It's not something I've ever thought about to be honest. I'm due to finish my degree in Sports Management this summer so that is something I will be looking to put to good use.

"For the time being I'm very happy doing the Cul Camps in Wexford as I used to be enrolled in them every summer as a youngster. My main aim this year is to get to another All Ireland with Wexford."

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 22/07/2013 11:53:57    1438466

"As long as an ad campaign would be in keeping with the culture and ethics of our game I see no reason why any player would have a problem."

A bit more restrained than her mum's comments and who would argue with her statement above.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 22/07/2013 13:02:57    1438591

Yeah, I would like to see a GAA calendar, all the money raised go into youth development for the ladies games. Get the twelve hottest girls in ladies football and camogie to volunteer, and to cut down costs I will take the photos. [I am sure I have an old camera somewhere] and I am willing to travel to Curracloe for a beach shoot type of thing. All tasteful arty type shots, with strategically placed hurleys and footballs of course.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 22/07/2013 13:20:38    1438618

waynoI

Wexford star Katrina Parrock says she would have no problem using her good looks to promote camogie.

Would she promote Hunky Dorys?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 22/07/2013 15:51:38    1438973

Wexford camogie did a calendar a few years back. Nothing raunchy, but they were all glammed up and the whole thing looked reasonably professional...

ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 22/07/2013 15:56:08    1438980

This thread reads like an episode for Fr. Ted. Pretty sad stuff.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 22/07/2013 16:21:08    1439035