1434519 royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 4415
1433084 Oh please please please. Let us draw mayo. If we get that far. It can't be Dublin, so its a 1 in 3 chance. Please let it happen. That would make my year.
A first on HoganStand. A Meath masochist coming out & nailing his colours to the mast. "I love pain & I'm proud of it".
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2013 14:55:49
Round 3
Derry v Cavan - Derry (Derry at home should have enough here although the incentive is huge for Cavan - London in R4)
Galway v Armagh - Armagh (Galway are very poor at the moment)
Kildare v Tyrone - Tyrone (This one is a though call. But I just think that Tyrone just have the better footballers and better management, McGeeny is a very poor tactician as proved every year when they meet a team as good or better on paper then them.)
Wexford v Laois - Wexford ( Wexford at home should have enough for Laois. Disappointed that nearly everyone has gone for Laois)
Round 4
Provincial losers do not have a great record in Round 4. Getting the team back up for a game quickly (6 days for Monaghan and London) after a lose in a big game is difficult vrs the team with momentum.
Derry v London - Derry (No Brainer)
Armagh v Cork - Cork should have to much for Armagh and they have the time to recover from their poor 1st half against Kerry)
Tyrone v Meath - Tyrone (This is the toughest one of all so far as the two teams are at a similar level at the moment. But I think Tyrone to get through barring injuries.)
Monaghan v Wexford - Wexford (It will be a 6 day turn around for Monaghan and I think Wexford but not by much)
Draw yet to come but here's my 6 pence
Quarter final
Kerry v Wexford
Dublin v Cork
Mayo v Tyrone
Donegal v Derry
Wefords_No.16 (Wexford) - Posts: 6 - 17/07/2013 15:32:59
Once Dublin avoid Tyron and Cork im happy
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 17/07/2013 15:33:25
lilywhite1 County: Kildare Posts: 1688
1434547 Indeed it would. Whatever about getting over the winners of Kildare/Tyrone and it's far from certain that Meath would they would have no chance against Mayo.
I'm a big fan of Mayo this year and would be first in line to congratulate them if they win a long overdue and deserved Sam but if they are to be tripped up then the Q/F is possibly where it could happen. Mayo are coming out of Connaught cold, not so much as a sniff of a decent match for them this year out West and with all due respect and credit to London I can't see this Sunday being any different, Mayo need a good stern test and they won't get one before the Q/F, I said before last Sunday that I thought Meath had a good chance against the Dubs as they had steamrolled poor opposition prior to the final and that is a disadvantage when you come up against sterner and hungrier opposition that have been improving game on game as Meath were. I still expect Mayo to be in the last 4 come August end but if they are to be caught out then the Q/F could be a tricky one for them
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 17/07/2013 15:48:53
3rd round:
Derry v Cavan..... Cavan Galway v Armagh... Armagh Kildare v Tyrone.. Tyrone Wexford v Laois... Laois
4th round:
Cavan v Mayo.... Cavan Armagh v Cork... Armagh Tyrone v Meath.. Meath Laois v Donegal. Laois
Quarter Finals:
London v Meath... Meath Kerry v Laois.... Laois Dublin v Cavan... Dublin Monaghan v Armagh..Monaghan
Semi Finals:
Laois v Meath... Meath Dublin v Armagh.. Dublin
All Ireland Final:
Dublin v Meath... Draw 3 times and on the 4th, stephen bray scores a penalty to put meath 2 points clear with 1 minute to go....
(And then i wake up)
loyal82royal (Meath) - Posts: 260 - 17/07/2013 15:59:29
3rd round:
Derry v Cavan... Derry Galway v Armagh... Armagh Kildare v Tyrone... Tyrone Wexford v Laois... Laois
4th round:
Derry v London... Derry Armagh v Cork... Cork Tyrone v Meath... Meath Laois v Monaghan... Laois
and as for predicting the quarter final draw, a pointless new low in futility (quite apt it was concocted by waynoI)
LobinstownMan (Meath) - Posts: 129 - 17/07/2013 17:19:28
Donegal V Derry Kerry V Meath Dublin V Cork Mayo V Wexford
Reckon Meath will be hard beaten yet , they always have a good run every few years. Wexford are being written off too , they can beat Laois and once Monaghan lose to Donegal it wont take alot to beat them 7 days later in Round 4 of the Qualifiers. Dublin V Cork would be a brilliant game , Cork would be the biggest challenge the Dubs have faced yet , especially if Counihan makes the right calls. Derry will progress easily and are improving with every game under Brian McIver , don't be surprised to see them give Donegal a great game!
kinnegad75 (Westmeath) - Posts: 68 - 17/07/2013 17:24:27
Ahh there is nothing better than a broken mayo man after yet another beating at the hands of the royal. sure their still crying over 96 never mind 09. Its fantastic.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/07/2013 18:58:50
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1696
1434313 Cute_Kerry_Hoor County: Kerry Posts: 2028
1434184 foreverroyal County: Meath Posts: 37
1434070 If we bet kildare or tyrone. I'd fancy drawing kerry.
And why is that?
2 possibilities spring to mind
1 Kerry are the biggest name in football. Every player wants to be able to say "I beat Kerry in Croke Park" 2 Going by the Munster final, their old legs are shot & if you can stay with them for the 1st half you are home & hosed.
Take your pick.
Exactly.
foreverroyal (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 17/07/2013 21:20:58
Derry v Cavan..... Cavan. Would normally say Derry, But just have an inkling Cavan may pull off the shock of the round here. McCloskey is a big loss for Derry.
Galway v Armagh... Armagh. To be honest Galway's qualifier record is abysmal and with all due respect to Waterford they should be cannon fodder to Galway if they have any serious ambitions this year. Fair enough the opposition have been poor but Armagh are bang in form, can't beat confidence.
Kildare v Tyrone.. Tyrone. Tough one to call. Kildare actually showed a bit of bottle the last day. Both sides with two poor enough sets of forwards so expect a low scoring game which may suit Tyrone.
Wexford v Laois... Wexford. Fair enough I'm biased but I just feel there's another few kicks in this team. Best midfield we've ever had and if we return to getting fast, dynamic ball into the forwards they can do some serious damage. Laois are a bit jeckyll and hyde this year, but always have a performance in them. Home advantage to swing it. I hope Wexford get a good following these lads deserve it.
Round 4.
Wexford v Monaghan...Wexford. Can see the Donegal juggernaut being stopped this summer.. but not this weekend. I know people talk about a 6 day turn around but I don't envisage that being too much of an issue, though it has the potential to be a bruising encounter. If we can get past Laois our gander will be up and think we could take it in a tense thriller.
Cavan v London.. Cavan. The fairytale can't go on all summer.
Armagh v Cork.. Cork. Very disappointed in Cork the last day, a lot to prove. May prove a step too far for this Armagh team.
Tyrone v Meath.. Meath. Will be an immense battle. If Meath can finish what they created against Dublin they could sneak this. Reilly has frightening pace. Think Tyrone still have too much re-building to do.
Quarter Final Draw.
Kerry v Wexford (Missus is a Kerry woman, be some laugh)
Donegal v Meath
Dublin v Cork
Mayo v Cavan
*As a side note I'd love to see Donegal v Dublin at some stage. I know a lot of people would be in disagreement but I found their 2011 clash fascinating. The clash of styles is breathtaking. Off now to the bookies now to stick a tenner on all this happening
Paddywex (Wexford) - Posts: 12 - 18/07/2013 16:24:02
royaldunne.... No way would ye beat us this year if we meet ye. No way
mayoaresavage (Mayo) - Posts: 313 - 18/07/2013 17:03:43
After the Meath v Dublin game I don't think anyone will fear Dublin from now on in, Monagahan could very well pick up where Down left off and do the same to Donegal. Its turning out to be a more open championship than the 2/3 horse race we were hearing about a couple months back.
SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 18/07/2013 17:13:50
That's how I felt having seen Donegal v Down. Though fear is the wrong word really. It's all to play for yet.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/07/2013 17:32:50
After the Meath v Dublin game I don't think anyone will fear Dublin from now on in, Monagahan could very well pick up where Down left off and do the same to Donegal. Its turning out to be a more open championship than the 2/3 horse race we were hearing about a couple months back.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 18:04:11
Its turning out to be a more open championship than the 2/3 horse race we were hearing about a couple months back
It started off as a 5 or 6 horse race Seanie ? .. the top 3 sides in that 6 horse race where Donegal, Dublin and Mayo (In that order) , The others where Kerry Cork and Tyrone ... All 6 are still in at this stage and SHOULD all be there on the august BH weekend. So nothing has changed.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 18:12:05
Impossible to predict, but don't see cork getting to the semis whoever they draw. They'll still get further than us though.
joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 18/07/2013 20:18:45
Joncarter
Dublin will get Cork ... And Cork will beat them
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 20:32:19