We didn't take our chances. Thats what lost us the game. Nothing can be done about it now. IF we get to quarters i do think id prefer to face dubs than any other apart from mayo.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2013 18:53:13
Some of us actually predicted Meath would get to the Quarter Finals.
tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 18/07/2013 18:54:00
tyroneed County: Tyrone Posts: 210
1435528 Some of us actually predicted Meath would get to the Quarter Finals.
And thank you for that
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3757 - 18/07/2013 18:59:55
Well said Richieq enough is enough. I actually don't know why Meath are getting so much abuse even though we are well used to it. We played in div 3 in the league but we do have a good management team who had the lads both mentally and tactically prepared for Dublin. Westmeath and Kildare are supposed to be div 2 and 1 teams and yet got hammered by 16 points and were not subject to near as much abuse.
ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2013 19:20:36
1798man County: Wexford Posts: 125
1435514 Snapper i'd love to hear your reasons for thinking Laois will dominate midfield? By all accounts it has been our best sector this year and if i'm not mistaken we controlled that area against ye up in Drogheda. In the Meath game we controlled the first half and then last weekend the two lads playing there were two of our better players. I can't see midfield going worse than 50-50 for us but the big question is if we can use the ball smartly enough once we get possession. Honestly couldn't say for certain who'll win but I'm hopeful home advantage will swing it for us.
He still is having trouble with the fact wexford bet Louth. But then again it was all part of A O'R master plan wasn't it snapper.
wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 18/07/2013 19:49:25
Richie
Hooooold on there you picked me up wrong.
I would NEVER .. I repeat, NEVER run anyone down for the effort, or commitment they put in on a gaelic field, Meath included. It is one of the many many reasons I absolutely love this sport over other sports. If I came across in a way in which I seemed to be knocking that commitment or questioning Meaths commitment or attitude/application last weekend, Then I am very sorry. Genuinely. I also apologise for my original post starting with "yawn", This time I can understand how you would have seen that as disrespectful, Its not my intention to ever be disrespectful here Richie, Have a bit of craic, Absolutely but disrespectful ? No. I've been on here long enough and have had people have a go at Dublin in times when we bottled it so I know what its like being slaughtered.
Don't tell me im abusing Meaths performance on sunday or belittling it. I never once criticized Meath for their performance on sunday.
Meath gave us one hell of a battle. Where did I dispute that ? Read over the comments im after sending here and you will see I praised Meath for their first half performance. I said they obliterated Dublin in that first half .. That is completely true they did .. I did not say that Meath played as well as they did because Dublin where only at 50% of their game, If I did, Find where I said it and come back and have a go at me about it, But I am telling you I did NOT suggest that. I have been here praising Meath (See below) so to suggest I am abusing Meath over Sunday is simply wrong. The second half we at least played aswell if not better than yous. Thts a fact as we scored 1-11 as oppose to our 1-4 in the first half no?
Yes Meath did show Dublin up to be average ..... In the first half ... In the second half we scored 1-11 So i'd argue an average tore yous up in the second half. A game is 70 minutes long. for 35 minutes yous absolutely obliterated us, And credit where its due, Yous where fantastic, Yous didn't do it for the full 70 minutes.. that's a fact.
So yes, Well done for your performance on Sunday. In the first half yous battered us, Second half, Not so much, Good luck for the rest of the year. I don't think that year will go on for much longer, Its my opinion that's all, I've even given the Dublin hurlers no hope as Dubs here will say so its not a thing against Meath. I've been wrong before I could be wrong again. Time will tell.
And one final thing, What people say here regarding Meath disrespectful/abuseful or otherwise is not something I can control. I am only responsible for my own work/comments here.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 20:10:33
We didn't take our chances. Thats what lost us the game. Nothing can be done about it now. IF we get to quarters i do think id prefer to face dubs than any other apart from mayo.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 20:15:40
I know we cant get Dublin. That was my POINT. I said id love to get them, read back loosing provincial finals cant be drawn. That doesn't mean id not see that as a disadvantage. my point been, I think second time around we wouldn't be sooo wasteful.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2013 20:24:31
Richie .. I also suggest you please look over the MEath v Dublin thread.. In there you will see my very first post the morning after the game said
Meath where never going to be a walk over. Anybody who thought they would be where deluded ..
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 20:25:25
I know we cant get Dublin. That was my POINT. I said id love to get them, read back loosing provincial finals cant be drawn. That doesn't mean id not see that as a disadvantage. my point been, I think second time around we wouldn't be sooo wasteful.
_____
Maybe your right, But whos to say Dublin wouldn't be as wasteful too ? It isn't a one sided thing RD.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 20:29:11
I know I've said it before but I can not stand when people describe teams as 'average'. It makes no sense. It's a nonsense messageboard word that doesn't actually describe anything. The dictionary is a big book lads with plenty of descriptive words. 'Average' is not one of them. It makes you sound about as smart as the Kaiser Chiefs.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 18/07/2013 20:33:06
Wayno we will leave it at that your last post ragged me we are progressing and building and playing well, better than some give us credit for, and the suggestion that others may tear us apart after what happened last Sunday I found to be an unnecessary statement, I am passionate about Meath and make no apologies for that however I have taken the time to read over your previous posts and fair enough, nothing is certain in this championship and one thing I know for sure is that this Meath team would love another game with Dublin and you never know maybe they will get one
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3757 - 18/07/2013 21:11:30
Wayno we will leave it at that your last post ragged me we are progressing and building and playing well, better than some give us credit for, and the suggestion that others may tear us apart after what happened last Sunday I found to be an unnecessary statement, I am passionate about Meath and make no apologies for that however I have taken the time to read over your previous posts and fair enough, nothing is certain in this championship and one thing I know for sure is that this Meath team would love another game with Dublin and you never know maybe they will get one
You are progressing, Building and playing well. Again something I never denied and its good to see.. Maybe better than some give you credit for but don't get worked up over it, This is a forum at the end of the day. You get people on the wind up too just rise above it. Maybe tear yous apart was abit strong but I used the same words regarding the Dublin hurlers so its not something I said just cause of Dublin and Meaths rivalry. It was nothing personal. I don't expect you to make an apology. I just thought you where out of line by saying I was criticizing Meaths performance when before... and after the match I done nothing but praise Meath. But its forgotten..
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 21:22:07
1435459 SeanieSense County: Donegal Posts: 284
1435422 I was waiting for a Meath conspiracy post!
They stumbled over Wicklow, beat Wexford and then got beat by a Dublin team who were at 50%. I do think they have unearthed a few good players this year and they are competitive, but it's hardly crazy to think that Tyrone or Kildare are favourites to beat them!
Richieq County: Meath Posts: 1234
Mmm I see the last two years have gone to your head a bit, how do you know Dublin were at 50% and what brought you to that conclusion?? did you not see Kildare struggle over Offaly and get hammered by Dublin for the second time this year before a hard victory over Louth, did you see Tyrone using one or two of their 9 lives in getting out of Dr Hyde Park and fluffing their lines big time in the first half against Donegal, true they hammered Offaly but th opposition had long folded the tent before the final whistle. Nothing is written in stone and based on what I saw the last day against Dublin I give us every chance
Lads I'm just saying its a bit detached from reality and ironic that you won't acknowledge the quality in the current All-Ireland champions (and unbeaten in the championship this year after Tyrone and Down) but you expect us to try and agree that this Meath team demands respect from beating Wicklow, Wexford and losing to Dublin!?!
Respect is earned, and I'll have no problem giving it out if/when they've earned it. They showed a marked improvement in the Dublin game and controlled it for long periods, but in my opinion Dublin were far from their best and tactically naive. And its only my opinion and time will soon tell, but I think either of Kildare or Tyrone will beat Meath. And as for the other comments about the ability of the individual Donegal players I happen to rate Murphy, McFadden, McBrearty (only 19!), Lacey, McGlynn, Neil McGee, McHugh and Kavanagh as fairly talented players!!!
SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 18/07/2013 21:33:39
lates scores
Galway 1-6 Armagh 0-4 Derry 0-5 Cavan 0-6
Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 20/07/2013 17:32:47
Half time Galway 1-6 Armagh 0-5
Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 20/07/2013 17:38:42
Half time Derry 0-7 Cavan 0-9
Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 20/07/2013 17:44:30
Can Galway keep the intensity up in the scorching weather? Come on Galway.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 20/07/2013 17:53:45
Come on Cavan,believe.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/07/2013 17:54:36
I tipped galway to beat Armagh, not sure why walkovers against Wicklow and Leitrim made them hot favourites in many peoples eyes. Galway may not have been having the best of times but there's something to be said for pedigree and Galway have it by bucket full.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/07/2013 17:59:42