SFC Qualifiers Round 3 & 4 Draw

I was waiting for a Meath conspiracy post!

They stumbled over Wicklow, beat Wexford and then got beat by a Dublin team who were at 50%. I do think they have unearthed a few good players this year and they are competitive, but it's hardly crazy to think that Tyrone or Kildare are favourites to beat them!

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 18/07/2013 17:07:00    1435420

They stumbled over Wicklow, beat Wexford and then got beat by a Dublin team who were at 50%. I do think they have unearthed a few good players this year and they are competitive, but it's hardly crazy to think that Tyrone or Kildare are favourites to beat them!

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 18/07/2013 17:07:35    1435422

SeanieSense:

Donegal stumbled over a mis-firing Tyrone team, and again over a poor Down team and now take on a team no better than Meath. But if you beat Monaghan by say 3 points people will still be saying Donegal for Sam. After what Dublin did to Westmeath and Kildare it was encouraging to see Meath rattle them for 60mins. We also beat Wicklow in Aughrim which ain't easy and took a fancied Wexford in Croke park by 5.

We have every chance in round 4. But please continue to write us off like we've been in our first 3 games this year and after the Cavan defeat in the league.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/07/2013 17:19:17    1435430

Also Dublin at 50%? How about we just didn't let them get up to 100%. Because you know, we were good and should have lost by a lot less.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/07/2013 17:19:58    1435431

Its the donegal /mchugh thing small narrow mindedness.
Jack not even worth bothering with. As colm orouke said donegal proved that the best team doesn't win all Ireland anymore, its all about puke.
honestly they wouldn't know a good game of football or good footballers if it slapped them in the face. The worst players to ever win all ire =donegal 2012

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2013 17:37:13    1435446

Meath lads, there is no conspriacy against ye. If ye dont agree with with peoples opinions on Meath fair enough, put across your point of view and explain why you think those opinions are nonsense. Why take it so personally? And as for the bizarre claim that some of the opinions expressed about Meath are bigoted, how in God's name do ye figure that out? I really would love that to be explained.

For the record here is my predictions:

Galway v Armagh. Nothing to suggest Galway will be able to raise their game. Armagh very comfortably

Derry v Cavan. Home advantage will see it Derry edge it

Wexford v Laois. Tough enough call. I think Wexford have a bit more about them and that with home advantage will see them through

Kildare v Tyrone. Kildare still yet to beat a big team under McGenney and Tyrone are a big team. Tyrone by 3 or 4 for me

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 18/07/2013 17:44:51    1435452

SeanieSense

Mmm I see the last two years have gone to your head a bit, how do you know Dublin were at 50% and what brought you to that conclusion?? did you not see Kildare struggle over Offaly and get hammered by Dublin for the second time this year before a hard victory over Louth, did you see Tyrone using one or two of their 9 lives in getting out of Dr Hyde Park and fluffing their lines big time in the first half against Donegal, true they hammered Offaly but th opposition had long folded the tent before the final whistle. Nothing is written in stone and based on what I saw the last day against Dublin I give us every chance

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3757 - 18/07/2013 17:51:46    1435459

royladunne in fairness donegal were more exciting to watch than dublin 2011. Dublin IMO are the first team to win the all ireland playing puke football, i don't consider Tyrone or Armaghs previous style to be puke despite what Spillane likes to think.

but yeah it's a pity all teams don' play the meath and dublin did last sunday night. most have the "if you can't beat them join them" mentality so become poor/boring versions of donegal. thankfully gavin is switching back to an enjoyable style but I fear if they don't win the all ireland with his new style they'll resort back to the dreaded borefest that gilroy brought in.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/07/2013 17:58:39    1435468

Galway v Armagh...Galway aren't great but they are better than Armagh. This is one game which could well go to extra time, Galway however will win either narrowly in normal time or extra time.
Wexford v Laois...Laois to dominate the mid field sector and therefore win easily enough.
Kildare v Tyrone...Kildare to win by a minimum of 4 points.
Derry v Cavan...I'd fear for Cavan in this, Derry in an absolute canter.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 18/07/2013 17:59:11    1435469

Exactly Richie and equally if we fold and go out tamely I won't be surprised. But we've every chance of beating either and results so far suggest we deserve a little bit more respect!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/07/2013 18:00:21    1435470

Never write off da Royal

Remember 1949, 1954, 1967, 1987, 1988, 1996 and 1999

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 18/07/2013 18:02:35    1435472

Never write off da Royal

YAWN !!

Meath will be gone soon.

Played well against Dublin and still lost by almost 10 points ..

Tyrone would dispose of them easy, They might shock Kildare..

either way they would be going no further after R4 of the qualifiers if they manage to Progress

Donegal, Kerry and Mayo would all tear them asunder..

They played out of their skin in the first half against Dublin, As good as Meath have played in a very very long time, And yet we still scored 2-15 without really being let play in the first half, 1-11 in the second half .. With Bernard having an off day .. The gap between Meath and the top teams like Dublin is still ridiculously big .. Don't let 35 mins of play fool ye.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 18:09:00    1435479

Never write off da Royal

YAWN !!

Meath will be gone soon.

Played well against Dublin and still lost by almost 10 points ..

Tyrone would dispose of them easy, They might shock Kildare..

either way they would be going no further after R4 of the qualifiers if they manage to Progress

Donegal, Kerry and Mayo would all tear them asunder..

They played out of their skin in the first half against Dublin, As good as Meath have played in a very very long time, And yet we still scored 2-15 without really being let play in the first half, 1-11 in the second half .. With Bernard having an off day .. The gap between Meath and the top teams like Dublin is still ridiculously big .. Don't let 35 mins of play fool ye.

I don't know what has happened to you since the Leinster Final but your talking awful crap and starting to sound like a young spoilt child that could do with a good clatter

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3757 - 18/07/2013 18:17:25    1435488

Waynol. Yawn.

Ever come up with a original post? Meath should have taken chances in first half. Id agree meath showed Dublin up to be average and that no sam will be coming to capital this year.
meath have given others a template to beat Dublin. My one bug is that wr cant draw yous in quarters,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2013 18:20:01    1435490

I don't know what has happened to you since the Leinster Final but your talking awful crap and starting to sound like a young spoilt child that could do with a good clatter

_________

Here's an off the wall idea Richie.

How about responding with a valid argument instead of throwing out personal trash ...

Nothing has happened me since the Leinster final by the way .. I don't think im talking absolute crap. I think I have an opinion and im putting my opinion across. So either come back with an educated opinion yourself, Or don't respond, Your choice..

Honestly, Idon't know whats happened you, Your going around like a child handing out personal insults over an internet forum..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 18:28:53    1435499

Ever come up with a original post? Meath should have taken chances in first half. Id agree meath showed Dublin up to be average and that no sam will be coming to capital this year.
meath have given others a template to beat Dublin. My one bug is that wr cant draw yous in quarters,

My post is 100% original. Just because it doesn't lick Meaths arse for playing for 35 mins against Dublin doesnt mean it isn't original.

Yes Meath did show Dublin up to be average ..... In the first half ... In the second half we scored 1-11 So i'd argue an average tore yous up in the second half. A game is 70 minutes long. for 35 minutes yous absolutely obliterated us, And credit where its due, Yous where fantastic, Yous didn't do it for the full 70 minutes.. that's a fact.

You're also right regarding taking chances, Meath should have taken theirs. They where very wasteful in the 18 minutes between scoring their second and third points of the game, Dublin however also missed chances themselves... Swings and roundabouts.

I never suggested Sam was coming to the capital, All year (and even Dubs here will tell you) I have been saying this side wont win it this year as the defence is far too average and I fear they ill lose badly against a top side.

You's aren't in the quarters , How about focusing on that first ? And the template to beating Dublin ? Sure yous didn't beat Dublin ? Or am I missing something.. How can yous give other teams the template to beating the Dubs when yous didn't beat us ? You may have showed we are vulnerable, But we knew that before the game, Nothing changed..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 18/07/2013 18:36:06    1435503

Wayno you have damn all to contribute yourself except waffle off the obvious about a team or a game.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 18/07/2013 18:42:30    1435512

_________

Here's an off the wall idea Richie.

How about responding with a valid argument instead of throwing out personal trash ...

Nothing has happened me since the Leinster final by the way .. I don't think im talking absolute crap. I think I have an opinion and im putting my opinion across. So either come back with an educated opinion yourself, Or don't respond, Your choice..

Honestly, Idon't know whats happened you, Your going around like a child handing out personal insults over an internet forum..

It's hard to argue against rubbish Wayne, you and others seem to imply that Meath gave a performance last week that was a fluke, a once off, Dublin still won by 7 so no big deal, if ye won by 20 points after getting no challenge you would gladly bury Meath, we give you a hell of a run, play great football and fight to the end against everyone's opinions of us and you still run us down, you expect us to be gone soon that we might surprise Kildare but Tyrone will eat us up well sure maybe they will but you remember one thing now Wayno everything that happened last Sunday wasn't because Dublin let it happen or because they were at 50% some of it was because Meath played well and didn't let Dublin play as well as they would like, how's that for an off the wall idea. I've listened to my county dragged through the proverbial hedge backwards on this place and even when we do look like we're improving and play well we have to listen to biased jargon like yours recently. Don't expect me to sit back and not defend the players that I saw busting their guts last Sunday against a supposedly vastly superior force, and if you think that was a personal insult then I suggest you get out more your posts prior to last Sunday had a degree of respect about Meath in them but your latest ones haven't so forgive me if I hurt your feelings there but poke a dog once too often and you get bitten

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3757 - 18/07/2013 18:45:59    1435513

Snapper i'd love to hear your reasons for thinking Laois will dominate midfield? By all accounts it has been our best sector this year and if i'm not mistaken we controlled that area against ye up in Drogheda. In the Meath game we controlled the first half and then last weekend the two lads playing there were two of our better players. I can't see midfield going worse than 50-50 for us but the big question is if we can use the ball smartly enough once we get possession. Honestly couldn't say for certain who'll win but I'm hopeful home advantage will swing it for us.

As for the other games I think home advantage is going to be the key determinant in all bar one. I just think Tyrone have too much firepower for a Kildare team still heavily reliant on brilliant John Doyle. Galway Armagh is probably the toughest game to call but I have a suspicion Galway will come out on top. Finally I think Derry can overcome Cavan. Cavan have been impressive this year but I just think Derry are playing a higher standard of football at the moment.

1798man (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 18/07/2013 18:46:16    1435514

waynoI

Is it not lobsided ? Always thought it was lobsided myself now ..

NO. it is actually Lopsided.. I have corrected many a man on that one. in fact someone on here even started a thread with the non-existing word "lobsided" in the title. think about it LObsided what on earth could that mean.. some people also still think the word is chimley and not chimney....

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 18/07/2013 18:46:44    1435515