SFC Qualifiers Round 3 & 4 Draw

Omahunt: Study Quantum Chaos Theory much then, do we?

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 15/07/2013 18:17:22    1432777

OakGael
County: Derry

Some people on here giving off about another home draw for Derry. It's the luck of the draw and if we had been drawn away against Down I would have still fancied us to win and if the Cavan game was away I feel we would win. Derry fans have travelled a lot throughout the years of the qualifiers and I am happy to have home draws.

A Dub asking is the All-Ireland final being played in Celtic PK, when was the last time Dublin played a championship match away from Croke Park?

2006 away to Longford.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 15/07/2013 18:32:03    1432797

Really looking forward to July 27th against whoever it is, after watching a full rerun of yesterday's game on Sky+ and if we improve again as much as we have done game on game this year then we are capable of challenging anyone, a good evenings football in Croker awaits, Kildare v Tyrone in Newbridge could be interesting indeed next weekend

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3757 - 15/07/2013 18:50:44    1432821

I've looked at how I think it will go, and my gut feeling over who will get who in the Quarter final's.

Round 3

Derry v Cavan - Winner Derry

Galway v Armagh - Winner Armagh

Kildare v Tyrone - Winner Tyrone

Wexford v Laois - Winner Laois

Round 4

Derry v London - Winner Derry

Armagh v Cork - Winner Armagh

Tyrone v Meath - Winner Tyrone

Laois v Monaghan - Winner Monaghan

Quarter final

Kerry v Derry

Dublin v Armagh

Mayo v Monaghan

Donegal v Tyrone

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3032 - 15/07/2013 21:46:53    1433018

Gary I see you have 5 northern teams in the last eight. What happened the other 4?

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 15/07/2013 21:56:28    1433030

Richieq - great position to be in and even more so for Cork, already being able to plan and scout their round 4 match and opposition. Hope not all Monaghan fans - and especially the players and staff - are a bit more focused than me: counting the days until Sunday while also working out the permutations should we win (could even be Cavan in an All-Ireland q-final) or if we lose (surely we can beat Laois or Wexford can't we, but then again, and what about that six-day turnaround).

Mike Patton (Monaghan) - Posts: 82 - 16/07/2013 08:35:46    1433050

Nobody in Derry thinks this is going to be easy for us even in Celtic park.Look Derry aren't world beaters and are currently building up a youngish team and Cavan are going to see this as a great chance to get to a quarter final with Mayo in the next round (c'mon London).The Sligo game gave Derry time to try and sort out the defense and with the Down game they tightened up more but the loss of PJ McCloskey in the middle is a massive blow as he had a stormer against Down.Home advantage,again should just about see Derry over the line.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 16/07/2013 11:34:02    1433207

Sergeant i think you will find Galway have one of the youngest teams in the country as young as ye or Derry. Essentially it is the 2011 all-ireland winning team with a sprinkling of this year's final winners and 3 or 4 from the 2005 u21 win. On the matches nobody is giving us a prayer but who knows. We might get a reaction after the Deise debacle. Hard to call the other games but a hesitant vote fro Tyrone, Wexford and Derry.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1993 - 16/07/2013 12:08:03    1433263

Cavan seem very underestimated by most. Think they will beat Derry tbh, very decent outfit.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/07/2013 12:26:21    1433291

51longago

Cavan seem very underestimated by most. Think they will beat Derry tbh, very decent outfit.

By their own standards, this year has been good. They have beaten 3 teams, and lost a provincial semi. But it is their showing in the semi v monaghan that is most revealing about their chances imo. They were weak for more than half the match, after a bright start. I can see Derry bossing the game as they have a bit more to offer. Watch cavan over the next few years though, they have u21s coming thru and will be a force.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 16/07/2013 12:40:51    1433315

Cavan are missing big McKiernan at midfield which is putting a lot of work in terms of fielding on Givney. Also McKiernan was usually worth 2 to 3 points from play. If he gets back to his best from the cruciate ligament injury next year Cavan could be a force to be reckoned with. However, I believe Derry in Celtic Park this year is a step too far.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 16/07/2013 12:59:48    1433346

Happy enough with drawing Derry.

The sceptic in me knew we would get an ulster team and having played Armagh, I guess Derry is a change.

It will be very tough as we are playing for a quarter final place (no disrespect to London but they will lose their next 2 games)

I fancy us to sneak it tho - Derry were good against Down but blow hot and cold and I think our defence is superb and will frustrate them. If Dunne and Keating are on form id go with a cavan win by 2 points.

Either way, a quarter final appearance for either of these young teams would set them up nicely for a great few years ahead!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5306 - 16/07/2013 19:15:19    1433828

Right, prediction time

Round 3

Derry v Cavan - Derry,but Cavan will by no means roll over
Galway v Armagh - Armagh, some people are saying galway have a big performance in them, but I just cant see it.
Kildare v Tyrone - Tyrone, hadrest one to call, but MIckey will have the troops ready and geared up for this one
Wexford v Laois - Wexford, toss of a coin really

Round 4
Derry v London - Derry, enough said
Armagh v Cork - Cork, they haven't gone away you know
Tyrone v Meath - Tyrone should have too much, despite Meaths encouraging performance in the Leinster Final
Wexford v Monaghan/Donegal - Winner Monaghan/Donegal.

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 18/07/2013 14:42:53    1435305

Great to see Meath being written off as usual.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/07/2013 15:11:15    1435337

Laughable the way Meath constantly get written off and then put in an 'unexpected' performance on the day. One could just imagine the response on this forum if we won the All Ireland! 'oh sure they got a good draw! 'x' team played bad on the day!' You can never win with the uninformed bigoted average gaa fan.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 18/07/2013 15:37:13    1435358

Cavan V Derry - Its a hard one to call would have to plump for Derry on home factor. But would not be unduly suprised if cavan win. Seriously impressed with their NO.10 (name escapes me)

Kildare V Tyrone - I think alot of people are dismissing Kildare on the basis of the Dublin result. Which to me is a bit unfair as dublin on that day would have ran up a big score against most teams. Everything went right for them nothing went right for Kildare. Kildare have bounced back and bet a very good Louth team. As for Tyrone hard to tell where their at with championship results thus far but this is the sort of game they usually up a gear and march on so Tyrone to win for me.

Galway V Armagh - Cant see past an Armagh win for me. Galway are in transation and this game is a year or so to soon for them.

Wexford V laois - Tough one to call beat us well in the league but i think if we hit our stride we will win.

Tyrone V Meath - fancy meath to win this one

Armagh v Cork - Cork for me

Derry V London - Londons fairy tale to come to an abrupt end.

Wexford v Dongel/Monaghan - Not even going try this one till the laois game is over. But we dont have the greatest recorde against northern teams

wexcore (Wexford) - Posts: 740 - 18/07/2013 15:46:50    1435362

Jimin10

Laughable the way Meath constantly get written off and then put in an 'unexpected' performance on the day. One could just imagine the response on this forum if we won the All Ireland! 'oh sure they got a good draw! 'x' team played bad on the day!' You can never win with the uninformed bigoted average gaa fan.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 18/07/2013 15:55:22    1435367

Jimin10

Laughable the way Meath constantlyget written

off and then put in an 'unexpected' performance

on the day. One could just imagine the response on this forum if we won the All Ireland! 'oh sure

they got a good draw! 'x' team played bad on the day!' You can never win with the uninformed bigoted average gaa fan.

+1

Its either bigoted or ignorance.
No excuse for either.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/07/2013 16:17:45    1435384

royaldunne

1435384 Jimin10
Laughable the way Meath constantlyget written

off and then put in an 'unexpected' performance

on the day. One could just imagine the response on this forum if we won the All Ireland! 'oh sure
they got a good draw! 'x' team played bad on the day!' You can never win with the uninformed bigoted average gaa fan.

+1

Its either bigoted or ignorance.
No excuse for either.

Aw, poor ickle Meath, are the other posters being mean to you? Jaysus lads, grow a pair. I think there is a general consensus that Meath have made strides this year. I wouldn't be surprised if Meath made the quarters, but am basing my prediction that Tyrone will come through on their impressive form for the year to date. I also cant get last years complete capitulation to Laois in the qualifiers out of my head after running Dublin close in the Leinster final.

Anyway, best of luck no matter who you come up against

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 18/07/2013 16:43:07    1435401

Pete what about the fact we had to play Laois 6 days after losing the Leinster final?

wexcore
County: Wexford

Kildare V Tyrone - I think alot of people are dismissing Kildare on the basis of the Dublin result. Which to me is a bit unfair as dublin on that day would have ran up a big score against most teams. Everything went right for them nothing went right for Kildare.

Lazy analysis. Nothing went right for Kildare? There were 5-0 up after a few mins which makes their hammering look even worse.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/07/2013 17:02:34    1435417