Limerick v Cork

freetaker1, I was thinking of it being similar to Wexford v Kilkenny in the past. We often hurled above ourselves v KK but couldnt get to the same level of intensity v Offaly for example. That was what I meant. I think Limerick hurled out of their skins to beat Tipp, can they re-create that level of performance? I hope so, but am not sure!
Dont worry, I will be shouting for yaz on Sunday, no disrespect to Cork but I always shout for anyone playing the traditional big 3 although Cork are no longer in the big 3.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 10/07/2013 10:40:26    1428030

Too much talk in Limerick of winning. Cork have 50 Munster titles, we have 18. Cork have lost more Munster finals than we have won. We need to be realistic. Tradition plays a part in GAA because of the relatively infrequent meetings of counties so tradition dictates Cork should win.

We have a chance. I'm a big admirer of cork hurling. I haven't always liked their style or the antics of the hurlers but I admire how when they are a collective bunch, they get results. 1990, 99 for example, two years where they were not favourites but they won. They've beaten Cody's great Kilkenny side (99, 04) they've done it all in hurling.

We are proud hurling people in Limerick but now these players need to take their chance to make history and see this game as another match, not a Munster final. In the past, too many times we have raised our game for one match and then lost a final of some sort.

The victories of 1980, 94, 96, 01 tell me that we can do it. The defeats of many other games tell me the odds are stacked in Cork's favour.

I believe in our manager, our players and their ability. But I also believe in tradition. If we don't play tradition, we can do this.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 11/07/2013 14:47:08    1429019

Cracking game in prospect and too hard to call for me, I have the utmost respect for Limerick and if they were playing anybody else I would be shouting for them. I'm really liking the blend of height, power and pace in JBM's team.
While B. Murphy is a big loss, I think we still look ok in defence. However our lack of goals is a worry. I think we will need to score one or two to win this one.
We have high ball winning potential in the half forward line with Cronin and Harnedy and low fast ball options to the likes of Hoggy and O'Farrell. Cork will love playing in Limerick, I have no doubt about that. If they apply the same work rate as they did against Clare, I think they may sneak it.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 12/07/2013 09:52:09    1429563

My memories of Cork v Limerick games

1987: Very vague as I was but a pup. Limerick were winning well in the first match. There was some shenanigans between Eamon Cregan and Cork supporters -some hand signals etc-it seemed to motivate Cork and two late goals (at least one scored by current selector Kieran Kingston) forces a replay. The replay will be remembered for John Fenton's great goal from the middle of the field. Cork won well.

1992: Munster final: A dodgy Tomas Mulcahy goal helps us to win by 5. In truth we were good value for the win.

1994: We get off to a flyer. Goals by Ger Manley and Mark Mullins and we are winning by 8 points-cruising. Then goals by Gary Kirby and Pat Heffernan and all of a sudden we are losing by 4. The Gaelic Grounds is going mental. I have never heard such noise. Limercik win a cracker by three points.

1996: Humiliation. Limerick simply wipe the floor with us.

1998: We are league champions. Time for some payback after 1996. Alan Browne/Kevin Murray inspire us to victory.

2000: We are mostly in control and win by 9 points.

2001: somebody stupidly wrote that Limerick were afraid of Cork. Eamon Cregan uses this to motivate his charges. Limercik win a cracker by a point.

2002: A qualifier played in front of a small crowd. Cork fight back and win by a point (ref did not give Limerick a free for a blatant foul by Ben O Connor). Not a good year for either side. Limercik at least won their third u21 that year. We went on strike (the first of many).

2004: A lucky goal by Ben O'Connor (the sun deceived the keeper) is the difference. Brian Corcoran returns and scores a great point while on his knees. A good year for us.

2006: we win by a point in quarter finals but it was a stale enough game

2010: This time Limercik players have opted off the panel. Cork cruise to victory. A very poor game.

was that the last time we played? longer term memory working better...

2013: who knows? here is hoping for a great game.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 12/07/2013 10:44:03    1429595

Very hard game to call. Both inexperienced teams in terms of playing in a Munster final anyway. I think Cork may just about shade it. Will hopefully give a huge boost to the winner and both push on in the next few years

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/07/2013 10:51:34    1429605

Its Sunday morning of a Munster Hurling Final day. Hard to explain the feeling and emotion
on what it means to be involved. Would love if this one was in Thurles but that is just sentiment...
Gaelic Grounds is a fine pitch and wont complain if we get get half the entertainment as last evening
between KK & Waterford. Both teams deserve a win to-day but heart and head thinks we might just shade
it...THIS one is almost as big as THAT September date! and will show exactly where Cork & Limerck are
in the ever-changing pecking order that is the hurling championship of 2013.

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 14/07/2013 08:29:43    1430714

Does anyone know if dubs match is on tv since this match is on rte

snipingfredo (Armagh) - Posts: 45 - 14/07/2013 09:06:42    1430727

I have my Match ticket in my pocket but my daughter has just given birth to a baby daughter, 2 weeks ahead of schedule. There are other children to be minded so it looks as if I'm going to have to settle for TV. Thrilled with the new baby of course, haven't seen her yet but when she is a big girl I'll tell her how she caused me to miss the Munster Final. Hurling games last night provided brilliant entertainment, what a year, what a game.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 14/07/2013 10:39:09    1430778

wasnt allen involved in some capacity with jbm in 99 when cork won liam two barrs lads wuld love to see their interaction at the club with donal o grady and ger cunninham also hanging about.....its great to have cronin back but i hope we dont go back to relying on him only to win ball we need to give low ball to luke and horgan for goals ....limerick have the better bench but if cork bring the same intensity as last day we will win......and yes gardiner should be there

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 14/07/2013 14:50:47    1430972

Come on cork lets do this

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 14/07/2013 14:50:53    1430973

another day of heartbreak for Limerick, I fear. .

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 322 - 14/07/2013 16:04:03    1431072

Who's this Gardiner fellow, Bunny? Any relation to the lad that was dropped?

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 322 - 14/07/2013 16:12:27    1431083

Tough sending off. Cork should be well ahead now they're going to have some battle. Don't think there was intent in the challenge to merit a straight red. If we compare the Galway player giving the Dublin player the hurley into the stomach and got away with a yellow.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 14/07/2013 16:42:54    1431111

Bad decision for the Red card imo. A free and nothing else.

Big chance for a Limerick. Cork should be well ahead. They're reaction will be key to this match. It's still there for them.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 14/07/2013 16:55:23    1431130

Sending off very harsh, evens it up, limerick will never have a better chance.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 14/07/2013 17:02:37    1431145

Well done to limerick 6 up and cruising limerick have it, well done. Who'd have bet on Dubs food Leinster and Limerick for Munster. Well done

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 14/07/2013 17:28:49    1431173

Great scenes with all the limerick supporters on the field. The way it should be Croke park.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 14/07/2013 17:32:26    1431179

yea well done limerick ...cor beat themselfs nearly 20 wides and the ref gave us little hope in such a even game sending horgan off.....we in the qualifiers bring on the cats their fnished lol

booboo (Cork) - Posts: 1382 - 14/07/2013 17:35:36    1431183

Fantastic for Limerick. Certainly long overdue!

Sending off was harsh but the game was still there to be won and fair play to Limerick they went and won it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 14/07/2013 17:36:03    1431184

Very disappointed with result but heartiest congratulations to Limerick. Ye have a fine team and I wish ye all the best in the remainder of Championship.Its great to see Dublin & Limerick as Provincial Champions, our lads will have to try and pick it up for a quarter against Kilkenny. A daunting job at the best of times but without Pat Horgan it will be an Everest. Despite being beaten well at the end I don't think Cork are that far away. Maybe next year, when hopefully we will have Paudie O Sullivan, Brian Murphy and Pat Horgan available.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 14/07/2013 17:40:16    1431193