Well done Dublin!!

Really refreshing to see Dublin win Leinster. Great achievement. Exciting times indeed for Dublin GAA.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 08/07/2013 10:28:57    1426281

Well done great result for Dublin and Hurling

tonto21 (Donegal) - Posts: 181 - 08/07/2013 10:48:11    1426304

What else can be said...

It's a truly marvellous achievement

2 games against Wexford where we looked dead and buried in the first game

No one... including myself gave Dublin a chance against Kilkenny

Look how that turned out...

Big up to Snuff on that one...! Spot on...

Then to beat Galway by 12pts.... dream land stuff.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/07/2013 11:26:24    1426345

as a monaghan man I just want to say congrats to Dublin yesterday on a great win and badly needed boost to hurling in general.. over the moon for daly this man would inspire anyone in life..from his playing days with clare I have always had the upmost respect for him..seeing him nearly in tears yesterday at the end was a magical moment and the passion he has for hurling is incredible. it would be great to see the dubs go on and lift the liam mc carthy!

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 576 - 08/07/2013 11:27:27    1426346

no need for d**k measuring,im sure all them mean the world to him

+1,000

Completely agree.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 08/07/2013 11:35:55    1426353

A great win for Dublin yesterday.

A great win for hurling yesterday.

And great hurling by Dublin yesterday. Exhibition stuff at times. Soem beautiful points taken. Never paniced after the Galway goals; went straight back up and got a quick point to calm the nerves.

No doubt about it, these lads can hurl wonderfully.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 08/07/2013 11:44:20    1426365

Dare we dream? As Donal Og said yesterday we are there so we now have a 1 in 4 chance. Jesus me nerves will be shot!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/07/2013 11:52:29    1426380

Yesterday was a very proud day to be a Dub. As a supporter who has been on and off the bandwagon this last few years and who was on the Hill yesterday I felt especially happy for all the loyal hurling Dub fans that have been supporting the county team since they were kids. Yesterday was a grest sporting feeling and one that was only matched by All Ireland wins in football.

Ps I intend on staying firmly on the bandwagon after that great win yesterday. Na Dubs abú!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 08/07/2013 11:55:59    1426384

Well done Dublin, delighted for ye (yous)

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 08/07/2013 12:03:03    1426392

Congrats to Dublin on an excellent 70mins against a highly rated Galway, well deserved win and now must surely be rated 1st for the AI.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 486 - 08/07/2013 12:03:42    1426393

Very very disappointing from a Galway perspective. What a difference 12 months makes, for both Dublin and Galway. At no
stage after five mins did I think we were ever going to win the game and apart from 10-15 minutes in second half when
we scored about 2-3, we simply didnt play.

Repeatedly with Galway hurlers its plain to see a lack of heart, appetite, courage and backbone. In the first half they
didnt want to know....too casual, too leisurely, basically watching Dublin and almost admiring them play. No hard tackles
put in, nobody shouldered over the sideline, nothing.

Tanian, Donnellan, Regan were very poor compared to last year in first half and were replaced. Basically all the
backs apart from Johnny Coen were awful. Skehill certainly should have saved first goal, but redeemed himself with two
great saves in second half. Andy Smith made a difference when he came on, nobody else apart maybe from JC can be happy
with their performance, and even apart from his goal he was quiet, and missed a few easy frees. Basically 1 out of ten
for most Galway players in my book.

Take nothing from Dublin, they were brilliant - playing for five consecutive weeks didnt seem to knock a stir out of them...if
anything they were fitter and sharper for it. Delighted for hurling that they won (i.e. would have been much worse
to lose to KK in final), but im still gutted.

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 08/07/2013 12:37:50    1426438

Richly deserved. Congratulations to all who have put in such time and effort. I hope you complete the job in September.

LoyalVin (Mayo) - Posts: 88 - 08/07/2013 12:43:22    1426443

Jackeen

1426380 Dare we dream? As Donal Og said yesterday we are there so we now have a 1 in 4 chance. Jesus me nerves will be shot!
_________

Dreaming has got Dublin Hurling this far...

As the great Tomo used to say

We are Dublin

Believe!

A big shout out to you Tomo...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/07/2013 12:44:37    1426444

Cavan_Slasher

1426074 Great to see the Dubs win. Great team with tremendous work-rate.
_______

Good to see you posting again CS...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/07/2013 12:45:25    1426447

Brilliant win by Dublin yesterday, they are a credit to their county.

The big winner yesterday was hurling.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 405 - 08/07/2013 12:52:53    1426454

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

onlyhurling
Galway

Where Dublin leads, Ireland can follow

Heartiest congratulations to Dublin yesterday. While gutted by the Galway performance, that is for a different topic, and Dublin should take all glory the rightly deserve from the championship to date. They have been brilliant and now have a very realistic chance of winning the All Ireland this year. Yesterday was not a short term success however but based of the back of a magnificant underage structure for the last 15-20 years. Hurling success is not a short term thing, it takes years of work and dedication. You can't take a group of athletes and turn them into All Ireland champions, you have to develop hurlers from the age of 6 up. I have been lucky to see my Club and County win All irelands and I would dearly love to see these days again, but if I had a choice of success or developing the game, I would much rather a genuine 32 county hurling All ireland with all teams reasonably competitive. I believe that ever child in Ireland should be given a genuine opportunity to play Hurling. If they then choose to play or support other sports that's fine but right now they are not beeen given the opportunity. County boards around the country, time to stop hiding and take a leaf out of Dublin's book, develop a long term (20 year plan) now. You sucess will be measured by your kids and grandkids.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 08/07/2013 12:53:16    1426456

I still cant believe it , being waiting for so long it just doesnt seem real

Fair play to all non Dubs posting there congratulations fair play lads

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 08/07/2013 13:00:11    1426463

what a game end to end action pure class DUBLIN SENIOR HURLING LEINSTER CHAMPS 2013 sounds great well done daly and the lads dug deep and never let the foot off,hard luck galway yous played a blinder too...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 08/07/2013 13:12:46    1426481

To be fair to Galway, Dublin played better yesterday than they did against Kilkenny the week before. If Dublin's opponents yesterday had been Kilkenny or Tipp the score would have been very similar. The quality/intensity yesterday was fantastic, the last time I felt so exhausted after a match was the AI Final when Tipp beat Kilkenny. Yesterday's match was played at a frantic pace and this was the intension as Dublin are a 70+ minute team now. Three years ago I watched Dublin cough up an 8 point lead to Antrim in Croke Park, that was Dublin's wakeup call since then they have moved forward, even last year when they were relegated they had some tremendous performances in the League where they lost by very small margins. Hopefully now someone can remove KK from the championship, the earlier the better as they will be at a fierce pace come September with Henry and Michael F back. Go On Waterford!!

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 08/07/2013 13:33:04    1426506

delgihted for dublin,and their loyal hurling following who stuck with them.i thought after last year they were going backwards after las year and again against ourselves,but they turned it around.
well done.i'd say hurlingdub mes_amis etc have sore heads today!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 08/07/2013 13:38:42    1426516