Well done Dublin!!

Firstly, great win for Dublin. Delighted for them, they deserve it after all the hard work that has been put in. Secondly, I hope the Dublin supporters get up off their couches and support them. A half full Hill 16, no upper tier sales....the football LF will be a completely different story. Wouldn't surprise me at all if the hurlers landed an all Ireland before the footballers.
Again, as a hurling man, its great to see a new team winning Leinster. Fair play.

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 07/07/2013 21:16:29    1426135

Yes on reflection and after calming down a bit, I am happy for the Dubs and I apologise.. What an interesting championship this has been, great for the game of hurling!!!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 07/07/2013 21:17:53    1426137

Super performance by Dublin today. I never thought I would hear myself saying this, but I hope the Dubs go all the way!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/07/2013 21:21:34    1426145

My expectations for the start of the year was for promotion to 1A which we got, then for the championship was to hopefully get past Wexford and then take on the superpower that is Kilkenny. After two mighty battles we finally got the Kilkenny championship hoodoo off our backs.....as far as I was concerned a really really good season so far....so to take on a team like Galway
who probably should have won Liam last year in the drawn game and play like for most of the game with the exception of when Galway superbly battled their way back into the game and to come on out as Leinster champs for the first time since 1961 makes an unbelieveable season and one that I didn't think might happen but never gave up hope that it would. We are in our second semi in 3 seasons and we will give it a good lash...we might fall short but if we do then I am really really proud of the lads and our achievements this year. People called for Dalys head after the drawn Wexford game.....we are extremely lucky to have a quality man like him at the helm, he is a proud Clare man but he is an extremely passionate christened Dub too and gave everytbing for our cause since 2009 and hopefully for more to come. Well done to all involved.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/07/2013 21:22:00    1426146

Nice one ashure, it takes a man to apologise like that. Fair dues to you and you are right about one thing, Galway are still very much in the race for Liam.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/07/2013 21:27:38    1426151

Saw this on Proc thought it deserved a post

Carlow nearly beating Wexford.
Wexford pushing Dublin to a replay.
Kilkenny handed their arse on a plate by Dublin after two great encounters.
Galway handed their arse on a plate by Dublin with a convincing score.
Tipp stuffed by Limerick.
Tipp stuffed by Kilkenny (who were stuffed by Dublin) and dumped from the championship.
Limerick with their first chance for a big trophy since 96.
Cork with their first chance for a big trophy since 06. After stuffing Clare.
Laois gave Galway a scare.
Offaly gave Kilkenny a scare.
Waterford could have beaten Clare.
Waterford beat Offaly (after Offaly gave Kilkenny a scare), and knock them from the championship.
Clare recovering to beat Laois (afte rLaois gave Galway a scare), and knock them from the championship.
Westmeath, with 5 minors of the past 2 years, pushing Waterford for 40 minutes. And Waterford knock them from the championship.
Antrim really pushed Wexford.

And, as of this moment, any one of Kilkenny, Waterford, Wexford, Clare, Cork, Dublin. Galway and Limerick are capable of, if not winning the AI, at least of causing a serious upset along the way.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/07/2013 21:30:38    1426155

jimmy90

i think your being very unfair there was 36 thousand in croke park today.
the largets crowd at a leinster hurling final for a number of years.
there was 10 thousand at both dublin games against kilkenny so to say that dublin supporters didnt come out today to support hurlers is unfair.its the 5th week in a row they have been playing and with the footballers playing kildare last weekend and meath next weekend its an expensive time for people who support both like myself,but im lucky enough i dont have too much responsibilitys where as alot of people cannot afford to go to both.there was a few hundred more at dublin v galway then there was in killarney for kerry v cork i dont think many would have predicted that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/07/2013 21:31:11    1426156

Well done to Ballyboden st endas who won Feile div 1 hurling today, must be some celebration over in Boden.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 07/07/2013 21:35:47    1426160

I agree with hillno16, There isn't a great tradition of following hurling in Dublin and I thought 36,000 the vast majority of whom were Dubs was a very respectable crowd. I reckon there could be an extra 20,000 at Semi Final.People might mock and call the newcomers bandwagoners but you can't have it both ways. If you are a hurling fan and you want to see the game develop, you want more people to come to matches and be converted. It hardly makes sense to then mock them when they do turn up.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/07/2013 21:41:32    1426170

Congratulations to Dublin, on what was a well deserved Leinster championship. Beating Kilkenny and Galway is no easy feat, and there can be no doubt this was much deserved.

Excellent day for hurling, and for the GAA neutral fans who long for some freshness in the Hurling championships.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 07/07/2013 21:42:05    1426172

Fair play to you ah sure.
We all say things in the heat of battle and no harm caused man. Galway are a top team and won't be going anywhere despite todays result. Its been such a fantastic hurling championship with some fantastic games around the country and long may it continue with the remaining teams involved. Kilkenny are still top dogs but there are teams still there that can have a serious crack at Liam this year too.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/07/2013 21:56:08    1426187

Fair play to Dublin, some sensational scores.

Persistence & hard work has paid off.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/07/2013 08:59:56    1426214

To all the Dublin hurling boys on here and all Dublin fans i hope ye enjoyed yesterday. You took our title in style and gave us a thoroughly good beating.

Best of luck in the Semi's and after my prediction that no-one could do a double - well there's a very real chance that could be on.

Hopefully the feeling after the match yesterday will pull our lads together for the backdoor assault. We could still meet Dublin again and please god we do!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 08/07/2013 09:11:40    1426224

Well done Dublin, it's always great to see a side make a breakthrough in any sport. I hope there is a full house for the semi final. It's the least these players deserved after all they have put in over the last 4/5 years.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/07/2013 09:30:13    1426241

Congrats to Dublin fair play. I would be interested to hear the take on Daly now who IMHO came in for a lot of unwarranted stick following last year. Surely he will get the key to the city now. If ye still don't want him we will gladly take him back home.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 08/07/2013 10:02:30    1426257

08/07/2013 09:11:40
tribeinbrum

To all the Dublin hurling boys on here and all Dublin fans i hope ye enjoyed yesterday. You took our title in style and gave us a thoroughly good beating.

Best of luck in the Semi's and after my prediction that no-one could do a double - well there's a very real chance that could be on.

Hopefully the feeling after the match yesterday will pull our lads together for the backdoor assault. We could still meet Dublin again and please god we do!!!

Fair play tribeinbrum. Galway are by no means out of it yet.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 08/07/2013 10:19:57    1426271

I'd say that medal yesterday means more to Keaney than his 5 football ones combined
Delighted for him

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/07/2013 10:20:26    1426272

Congratulations Dublin on a great victory yesterday. it was a great day for Dublin and for hurling.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3032 - 08/07/2013 10:22:14    1426273

Its fantastic to see that most of the comments on this thread are from people outside of Dublin. The whole Country (Except Galway obviously) were rooting for a Dublin win yesterday and my god they Delivered. Great For Dublin Hurling and for Hurling in the Country as a whole. Well done again to the Dubs

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 08/07/2013 10:24:18    1426275

Liamwalkinstown

I'd say that medal yesterday means more to Keaney than his 5 football ones combined
Delighted for him

no need for d**k measuring,im sure all them mean the world to him

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/07/2013 10:27:20    1426279