MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 6050
1424372 Muckross
It looked fairly big and yellow to me!
They are all grown up now MesAmis, one or two are actually shaving & showing a healthy interest in women. What really gets them going though is the smell of confident Dubs, like young calves in a field when they get a sniff of that!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 15:52:32
If you are good enough you are old enough jimbo. They have already shown that they are good enough therefore their age is not an issue.
From this moment in time jackeen, if dublin allow donegal, mayo or anyone else to take sam from them this year should be deemed a failure. You sound like you think they are going to throw it away. Why do you think they will allow teams in a lesser position to get the better of them?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 15:52:48
Lesser position?
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2013 16:09:23
Packed defence, well disciplined at the back, quick counter but don't commit too many forward, have forwards who can shoot on sight without messing around and at least break even at MF .... means you have a good chance, and sadly I think Donegal are capable of all of this, as are Tyrone but I think Donegal do it to a higher level.
CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 05/07/2013 16:16:46
Do the Haka at the start of the match....and for every one of Cluxton's kickouts and 45's
St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1730 - 05/07/2013 16:23:56
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7563
1424547 If you are good enough you are old enough jimbo. They have already shown that they are good enough therefore their age is not an issue. _________
Sorry man. No dont agree with that
We havent come up against the best yet. That will be the true test.
I mean are you suggesting that the way Mayo put away Galway/Roscommon that they've been truly tested yet?
Same as ourselves. The only team who has been truly tested thus far out of the top 5 is Donegal
I think there are still question marks above Dublins head... and you cant answer those questions by what we've seen so far.
As a fan I'm concerned about a couple of them and you'll seem them exposed soon enough
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2013 16:26:21
St.Conleth County: Kildare Posts: 756
1424570 Do the Haka at the start of the match....and for every one of Cluxton's kickouts and 45's
Haha, very good. I must have a word with JMcG. Any way of slowing the game down he's interested, don't you know.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 16:36:15
The fact that they are keeping all ireland winners out of the team indicates that they have proven enough
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 16:37:58
Poor Dubs! You can only love the Silly hype they have to put up with.. 2 big wins against a very poor Westmeath performance and a little better from Kildare.. Its not even July and its a done deal.
Mayo, Donegal, Cork and maybe Tyrone and Kerry must be finding the whole thing very funny. I do think the Dubs are in with a great chance but there's a long way to go. Really looking forward to how this pans out..
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 05/07/2013 16:50:44
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7567
1424581 The fact that they are keeping all ireland winners out of the team indicates that they have proven enough
I have to agree with jimbo on this one Master. They are a fine side, playing fantastic football, but that alone is not enough to win you an AI in 2013. You also have to have meanness, ruthlessness & absolute faith & knowledge in what you are doing & in your ability to perform as well as a faith in your teammates & management in the white heat of an AI final. There is no way that this young team with a young manager will know how good they are until they come out the far side of that. They may well sweep all before them this year, but equally they may not & if they don't it should not be seen as failure but as part of the apprenticeship towards greatness.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 16:52:11
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1617
1424592 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7567
1424581 The fact that they are keeping all ireland winners out of the team indicates that they have proven enough
I have to agree with jimbo on this one Master. They are a fine side, playing fantastic football, but that alone is not enough to win you an AI in 2013. You also have to have meanness, ruthlessness & absolute faith & knowledge in what you are doing & in your ability to perform as well as a faith in your teammates & management in the white heat of an AI final. There is no way that this young team with a young manager will know how good they are until they come out the far side of that. They may well sweep all before them this year, but equally they may not & if they don't it should not be seen as failure but as part of the apprenticeship towards greatness.
BINGO.
the apprenticeship towards greatness.
Nice.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2013 17:15:21
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1617
They are all grown up now MesAmis, one or two are actually shaving & showing a healthy interest in women. What really gets them going though is the smell of confident Dubs, like young calves in a field when they get a sniff of that!!
Sure won't some of our boys eat Donegalmen for breakfast.
Literally.
Allegedly.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 05/07/2013 17:34:22
The Master talking about how Dublin's younger lads are keeping out proven all Ireland winners, has he not seen the Kerry and Cork benches for Sunday's Munster final?
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2013 18:13:45
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 6051
1424624 MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1617
Sure won't some of our boys eat Donegalmen for breakfast.
Literally.
Allegedly.
Young McBrearty's bones still lie bleached in Ballybofey. When the children won't go to bed when they're told we frighten them with retellings of the terrible deeds carried out on that awful day.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 18:22:43
Dublin look like a fine team in the making,strong squad quality players and above all a well grounded manager who is tactically astute. Are they unbeatable of course not, no team is what ever the sport is. Donegal look the best equipped to beat them if they have the same hunger as last year, we wont find this out until later on in the championship, my own team Mayo on their day could take the dubs. Cork possible are the dark horses in the mix, very good players, with pace to burn in key areas, although Counihan is a weak link.
theshamen (Mayo) - Posts: 129 - 05/07/2013 20:48:48
Alright already everyone, the bus leaves this thread for the munster final thread
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 05/07/2013 21:43:10
loyal82royal County: Meath Posts: 124
1424356 woohoo, passed my final exams, i am now a full radiographer, now to find a job, dublin to beat meath by 4. An Mhi abu
Congrats, fair play! But lets hope your predictions aren't as good..:)
ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 05/07/2013 21:59:57
1424451 The fact that they lack experience isnt an issue for me. They have shown they are up to playing at this level already. They have been tested throughout the league, plus, they have been good enough to take the places of guys who have won all irelands. Dublin, are out in front of the rest and it is theirs to lose. If they do manage to lose it, it will be a failure in my opinion. I dont think that goes for the likes of mayo, kerry etc because they are not the favourites or the team on the best form. If they were playing dublin in the morning they would be underdogs. Skirt around it all you like, but this year, sam is dublin's to lose.
Is it our players that in their positions are far superior to Mayo or is it our managements tactics on the pitch that is far superior to Mayo , that makes you come to the conclusion that we are out in front of you. If this is the case you should be very annoyed with Mayo going backwards from last year under JH.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/07/2013 22:01:10
1424114 The have the strongest squad, dominated the league and are showing the best form by a distance. As I said, if they dont win sam from this point it is a failure.
As you have been told already,it would not be a failure,this young team is for the future,league form means nothing come champo time as you well know.
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 06/07/2013 09:07:36
Dublin are clearly behind both Donegal and Mayo at the moment.
Nothing can be taken about these new players until they do it when it matters. Some posters seem to think they've nothing to prove at all but that's clearly ridiculous.
I personally don't think Mayo or Donegal have gone so far backwards to be languishing behind a bunch of inexperienced Dubs. If it's true, as some are suggesting, then serious questions need to be asked of Horan and McGuinness in terms of how they've let their teams slip so badly.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 06/07/2013 10:28:49