How does a team beat Dublin?

Muckross

The chips were down in 2011 when we only had 14 and were trailing the big yellow machine! Also behind by 4 with 6 to play against the mighty Kingdom. Plenty of character in that team.

Although you are correct that there's nothing proven yet this year and we are yet to see how good the likes of McCaffrey, Cooper, Daly, Mannion, , Kilkenny et al are when the chips are down in a big game. We've enough lads with character on the bench though which is good.

I don't think it'll be a lack of character that'll beat us. A better team on the day is usually the reason for a defeat.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 05/07/2013 13:00:01    1424345

But that applies to every team in the top 5 doesn't it?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2013 13:03:18    1424346

themaster

Have to agree with you

We have the best squad but we're not the finished article

We'll def get better in the coming years under Gavin

Hand on heart.. IMO I think it's still a wee bit early

Once we get lads like Costello, Hudson moving at full tilt we'll be one hell of a team

Gavin is building for the future by giving these young lads the shot in 2013

If he wins it this year it will be a marvellous achievement and I'f be hugelu hopeful of perhaps seeing the birth of a golden generation in Dublin GAA

One capable of winning Sam for the next 10 years

Still think it's too early for 2013 but hey I hope I'm wrong

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2013 13:03:35    1424347

MesAmis

Muckross

The chips were down in 2011 when we only had 14 and were trailing the big yellow machine! Also behind by 4 with 6 to play against the mighty Kingdom. Plenty of character in that team.

Although you are correct that there's nothing proven yet this year and we are yet to see how good the likes of McCaffrey, Cooper, Daly, Mannion, , Kilkenny et al are when the chips are down in a big game. We've enough lads with character on the bench though which is good.

I don't think it'll be a lack of character that'll beat us. A better team on the day is usually the reason for a defeat.

Fair enough MesAmis, but 2011 wasn't the "big yellow machine" it was a baby yellow machine just finding it's feet. Neither do I think you can compare the Dublin from 2011 to this team, new personnel, new ideas but more importantly new management. I am a big believer in the idea that the management team are as important as the team on the field & in that regard Donegal are the best in the business wheras Dublin's sideline has yet to be tested. I have nothing but respect for Galvin & love his style of play but until the 3rd Sunday, when the chips are down, only then will we know just how good he is.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 13:09:10    1424352

woohoo, passed my final exams, i am now a full radiographer, now to find a job, dublin to beat meath by 4. An Mhi abu

loyal82royal (Meath) - Posts: 260 - 05/07/2013 13:13:51    1424356

Jimbo,

I ggree with most of what you say but I don't thin you can be serious about winning Sam for the next 10 years. Teams everywhere are upping their games & while I agree that Dublin may well dominate over the next few there will be plenty of competition from teams like Tyrone, Donegal, Mayo, Cork, Kerry etc etc one or two of whom will always be competitive.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 13:16:59    1424361

Muckross

It looked fairly big and yellow to me!

I agree with you though. Nothing proven by Dublin so far this year. In fact nothing proven by anyone yet this year from what I've seen. I don't think wet really know how good Kerry, Mayo or Cork are. Likewise we are yet to see how much, if anything, last year has taken outta Donegal.

A fascinating August/Sept awaits. Also on Jimbo's point though I reckon he means that the way we're building at the moment we should be at least in contention for Sam every year for the next ten. I'd slightly disagree with him there. I think ten years is too long a time frame to be making predictions but I'd say that for the next 5 or so years, this year included, we'll hopefully be there or thereabouts.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 05/07/2013 13:27:35    1424372

Worded that badly

I meant that over the next 10 years

They'll be capable of winning an AI

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2013 13:30:10    1424376

That's fair Mes...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2013 13:39:40    1424384

The big yellow machine was a work in progress in 2011 and if Donegal had the belief that day they should have pushed on and beat Dublin. Dublin always have a massive advantage over any team in the championship playing all their games in Croke Park. The hype around Dublin this year who will go in favourites against any other team will be their demise.

Dublin are in need of a tough battle or they will be caught cold against realistically 1 of the 4 other teams that can actually win Sam; Mayo, Cork, Kerry and Donegal.

marvinberry (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 05/07/2013 14:11:06    1424419

marvinberry

1424332 Dublin have beaten nobody yet. They struggled against Tyrone in league final and barely got over the line. Tyrone hammered an Offaly side that were 4 points behind Kildare. The championship begins in August.

Finally a realistic sensible post from a culchie

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 05/07/2013 14:19:45    1424438

Worded that badly

I meant that over the next 10 years

They'll be capable of winning an AI

I think there is more than that in them Jimbo. All joking apart they are a really exceptional group who will only get better with experience. If they are to be caught then this is the year to do it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 14:22:20    1424440

Marvinberry

Two things.....I agree with most of your post however it's lazy analysis to say that hype will be the demise of this team. Was it the demise in 2011? Last year the AI was sewn up early in that donegal were the only contenders for Sam I'm the medias eyes And on various gaa forums across the country. Did hype affect them?

Secondly, a lot of people are saying that Dublin haven't been tested yet and rightly so it would seem. I ask you, does the same not apply to mayo, another team in the running for Sam.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2013 14:31:40    1424446

The fact that they lack experience isnt an issue for me. They have shown they are up to playing at this level already. They have been tested throughout the league, plus, they have been good enough to take the places of guys who have won all irelands. Dublin are out in front of the rest and it is theirs to lose. If they do manage to lose it, it will be a failure in my opinion. I dont think that goes for the likes of mayo, kerry etc because they are not the favourites or the team on the best form. If they were playing dublin in the morning they would be underdogs. Skirt around it all you like, but this year, sam is dublin's to lose.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 14:34:03    1424451

marvinberry
County: Donegal

The big yellow machine was a work in progress in 2011 and if Donegal had the belief that day they should have pushed on and beat Dublin. Dublin always have a massive advantage over any team in the championship playing all their games in Croke Park. The hype around Dublin this year who will go in favourites against any other team will be their demise.Dublin are in need of a tough battle or they will be caught cold against realistically 1 of the 4 other teams that can actually win Sam; Mayo, Cork, Kerry and Donegal

I think that's a fair enough post on Dublin possibly being caught cold. However the same could be said of Mayo and Donegal. Neither of them will have been relistically tested when they hit Croker for the quarters. Mayo in particular. Donegal's only test will have been against Tyrone back in May which much like our big test against Kildare didn't work out being as hard as expected.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 05/07/2013 14:39:30    1424461

If they do manage to lose it, it will be a failure in my opinion

Haha

Thats the usual outcome of not winning alright.

We have a chance, but the lack of experience will more than likely be a major factor for us not winning.

The next game is against Meath... for now thats all that matters.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 05/07/2013 14:44:13    1424468

So you think dublin are a better team than donegal and mayo themaster? Is that that you're saying?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2013 14:45:30    1424470

Mesamis,

I have to agree with what you've said, it will be a fascinating august September and I can see some crackers of games. I think its fair to say that it's hard to know what Mayo, Kerry and cork teams will come out and as for what last year took out of Donegal, I think we seen it during the league campaign and its been put to bed since. I think this Donegal team are a very grounded bunch of players (even the younger ones), they've enjoyed the buzz but its business time again, so if they are beat, I certainly won't be putting it down to 'over-celebrating'. As for Dublin, their really flying but we've seen that before and we've seen them caught on the hop in croke park before. Their capable of winning an all Ireland easy this year but I can't see too many teams (the top 5 or 6) lying down against them. They do seem to have a great work ethic and that impresses me most... It will be very interesting to see if tyrone and Kildare come through the qualifers so lots of good football to look forward to..

81DLSAM (Donegal) - Posts: 281 - 05/07/2013 14:46:09    1424471

It will take 70 minutes of high intensity and ruthlessly clinical finishing... Set out the stall to initially defend and take whatever chances come your way for the first while and then as the game wears on, if you're still in the contest attempt to unsettle them and hit a few sucker punches.

Easier said than done, but I don't think targeting players or setting aside plans for individuals will work as the threat is wider than thst.

red_rum (Down) - Posts: 39 - 05/07/2013 14:57:15    1424483

Pointless thread, the Dubs are unbeatable this year!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 05/07/2013 15:32:20    1424523