How does a team beat Dublin?

The have the strongest squad, dominated the league and are showing the best form by a distance. As I said, if they dont win sam from this point it is a failure.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 09:38:16    1424114

In order to beat this Dublin outfit,you need to 1. gain parity around the middle, 2. when you have the ball,let it in fast to a 3-4 man inside forward line 3. Stop their strike runners coming from the half back line by crowding out the middle,and hitting them hard and often.

Of the teams out there at the moment, only Donegal have the proven forwards in Murphy, McFadden, McBrearty etc, and a mean midfield and defense to cater for the Dublin attack. Mayo next in line, lots of potential, just have to prove it.

Can't see Cork or Kerry being able for any of the top 3. Hope for a good match between these 2, with a narrow Cork win on the cards.

It will be interesting to see how Meath go about trying their hand at beating Dublin. Unfortunately, too many things have to right for Meath, and too many wrong for Dublin, to give Meath a serious chance of winning this one. Fully expect this to be a low scoring Leinster final, with both defenses doing the majority of the work, heart says Meath, head says Dublin by 4.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 486 - 05/07/2013 09:42:34    1424118

Any one team is capable of beating the other on any given day.

Dublin have started the championship well but Meath will certainly put it up to them.

Meath could beat Dublin, I don't think they will but they could.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 05/07/2013 09:47:22    1424121

The culchie hype is in full flow.

"Anything less than an All-Ireland is a failure"

Did you ever see the likes of it! A new manager, several new young players and a new style of play, and yet some people think a league title and a provincial title would be a failure! It really is hilarious. And to think some people have the cheek to tell us Dubs that the hype comes from Dublin whilst posting up that scutter. Build us up so that in the likely event we don't win the All-Ireland they can knock us right back down.

It's funny to see how much enjoyment the Dubs footballers give the culchies in defeat. I suppose it means that almost every year they've something to cheer about.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 05/07/2013 10:11:36    1424149

Dublin are unstoppable.......Utter nonsense.

I agree 100%, they look awesome at the moment, but nobody has ever won an AI in June/July! They've bigger fences to jump before they can lift Sam. A few years back Tyrone were unstoppable, and were duly beaten in the Q final, Down beat Kerry, etc etc, so they can and hopefully (Being outside of the capital no one wants to see you winnning!!) will be beaten.

Teams than could beat them:
1. Kerry
2. Donegal
3. Tyrone
4. Mayo
5. Cork (doubtful though)

And Maybe Wexford!!! :)

rossytilidie (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 05/07/2013 10:17:03    1424158

Put as much spin as you like on it. The strongest squad who are also performing to the highest level should not be beaten. If they are then they have blown a great chance. They have the tools, and the form. Losing to a lesser team from that point is a failure, plain and simple.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 10:29:15    1424168

Put as much spin as you like on it. The strongest squad who are also performing to the highest level should not be beaten. If they are then they have blown a great chance. They have the tools, and the form. Losing to a lesser team from that point is a failure, plain and simple.

I would agree with that.

But the strongest squad performing at the highest level don't ALWAYS win things and this is only the beginning for this Dublin team one would imagine.

Dublin should beat Meath. A D3 team of last year. People can say what they want about Meaths heart and all that carry on.. Great having the heart and the stomach for a battle but Dublin players will be just as hungry and have just as much heart. Places in this sides starting 15 will dictate that more so than winning a leinster title especially for the lads like Bernard Brogan and Diarmuid Connolly who have leinster medals coming out of their ears at this stage another one wouldn't make a difference.

At the end of the day Dublin simply have the stronger squad. They will dispose of Meath. Where they go after that. Who knows?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 05/07/2013 10:39:02    1424175

1424168 Put as much spin as you like on it. The strongest squad who are also performing to the highest level should not be beaten. If they are then they have blown a great chance. They have the tools, and the form. Losing to a lesser team from that point is a failure, plain and simple.

Have we beaten the main ireland contenders in championship already NO. Have we young team and new manager who is building YES.
would not making at least an allireland final for Mayo or Donegal be seen as failure YES.
Would not making an allireland final for Dublin be failure NO.
Ye can hype us up all ye like we are just enjoying the journey, It seems the Donegal and Mayo lads are more cornerned about us.
All Ireland champions and a Donegal poster asks how to beat the Dubs , obsession, obsession, obsession.

h

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/07/2013 10:54:51    1424195

05/07/2013 09:38:16

The have the strongest squad, dominated the league and are showing the best form by a distance. As I said, if they dont win sam from this point it is a failure.

James Horan would be proud of that line. Your not James Horan by any chance?

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 05/07/2013 10:57:42    1424200

The master likes to throw these little tidbits out superbluedub. Yes we had a great league, as did Tyrone. We have the strongest panel of players, but as of yet don't have a settled starting 15. And to date have only beaten Westmeath & Kildare. Mayo & Donegal are in the same position as us having beaten teams who are not at their level. So, I would argue that it will be more accurate to say if Mayo were not to reach and indeed win the AI this year based on the fact that they reached the AI last year and look considerably stronger this year with Moran back, that will be seen as a failure! If we get to a semi final like we did last year and win then that is progress.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2013 11:03:44    1424210

But the strongest squad performing at the highest level don't ALWAYS win things and this is only the beginning for this Dublin team one would imagine.

That is true. And when this happens it is because the strongest team failed to deliver.

Jackeen, I dont see how mayo, having a weaker squad, which is also noticeably depleted, can be expected to upset the odds every time because they managed it once. That doesnt make sense, as much as you and your countymen/women would like it to. The best team, producing the best form should win. If they allow another team to take it from them, from a weaker footing, then they have failed. Like it or lump it, that is a fact.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 11:43:39    1424247

AthCliath
Have we beaten the main ireland contenders in championship already NO. Have we young team and new manager who is building YES.

So you have to beat every team in the country before you can be declared stronger? That isnt accurate. Mayo have never played waterford, yet I cannot say we dont know who is better until we beat them, we already know who is better. The same logic applies to the dubs. Also, having a young team and a new manager dont really matter when the team is already producing the required level of performance. If these were issues then this would not be the case. Clearly, the performances show that these potential pitfalls have not had any effect. Any more half-baked excuses?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 11:48:16    1424252

We have the strongest squad in some people's opinions. The fact that some are saying that any team that beats us are actually "lesser" teams is again opinion.

I don't consider Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Cork or Kerry to be "lesser" teams at all as some clearly do on this forum. If we were to be knocked out by anyone else then maybe it could be considered a failure. However if we take Leinster and are then eliminated by one of the above counties then I'd be happy enough with the year as a whole.

There's very little between those teams, and anyone could beat anyone on any given day. It's gonna be an interesting summer from August on. Although not for those who seem to think we're miles ahead of everyone! Although we all know they don't actually think that!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 05/07/2013 11:55:59    1424266

So you are saying Dublin are superior to Mayo the master?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2013 12:00:39    1424273

jimski

Damothedub

Id start with putting decent opposition in front of us , may be a runner .

One ALl-Ireland in 18 years - I wouldn't get too cocky yet

You've missed my point completely , decent opposition playing to form will trouble us , so far that hasn't happened , I'm not cocky , I'm weary of what awaits ,
Also the question asked was how do you beat the Dubs , well ask mayo , tyrone , kerry or cork as they haven't had too much trouble over the years , as a previous poster mentioned the post is patronising and churlish , I commented sarcastically as I am well aware we've achieved nothing yet .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 05/07/2013 12:06:27    1424278

Something I believe the OP set out to achieve Damo. However we see through such nonsense :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/07/2013 12:19:12    1424293

AthCliath

If you you think that that Dublin's ambitions stop at being Leinster Champions then you are in a minority of one in the entire universe!!!

Never used the word ambition:)

I stand corrected AthCliath. However I still don't think that the Dublin camp will be sitting back after the Leinster final thinking "well we've reached out goals, that was a great year". I'd say there are a whole new set of goals on the dressing room wall by now.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 12:33:06    1424314

jackeen dublin have the best squad and are also showing the best form. The bookies have them as favourites also. From this point it is theirs to lose. The only way this can happen is if they let inferior players outperform them. If they do that then in my opinion they will have failed this year.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 12:40:05    1424324

Don't paint all us culchies with the one brush. There are subtle nuances of culchieness that might not be apparent to the untrained city bred eye, but they are there nonetheless.
For my part I still think 5 teams could win Sam. Dublin, Donegal, Mayo, Kerry & Cork. The Munster final will tell us more & probably will reduce the list to 4.
All the hype is about Dublin at the moment & on form they are favourites but they haven't played anyone yet & until they come up against a really tough, defensive, cynical & well organised team we won't know whether they have the backbone to go with their undoubted talent.
The white heat of battle tends to reveal character & only when the chips are down will we know what's what.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/07/2013 12:41:31    1424327

Dublin have beaten nobody yet. They struggled against Tyrone in league final and barely got over the line. Tyrone hammered an Offaly side that were 4 points behind Kildare. The championship begins in August.

marvinberry (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 05/07/2013 12:46:59    1424332