04/07/2013 13:19:05 superbluedub County: Dublin Posts: 241
1423585 Donegalman County: All Posts: 766
1423571 Dublin beat themselves?
We did ?
We did, it was in an alternate universe, in this alternate universe Dublin was split in half.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 04/07/2013 13:42:43
The culchie hype machine in full flow as always.
Yous build us up to knock us down. I can hear the knives sharpening as we speak. The Dubs have a new manager, playing a new system with a lot of new players. It'll be a massive ask to win an All-Ireland.
I'll be happy with a Leinster title and something to build on for next year.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 04/07/2013 14:49:39
Well according to Pat Spillane...
"Pray"
Hype machine is right...
A manager in the job for 6 months, a team full of young lads.... etc etc etc
We Dubs belch in the general diretion of this thread.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/07/2013 15:17:03
... Enjoy the 2nd hand battered sausage / Dutch Gold smell combination.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/07/2013 15:23:56
Dublin beat themselves by praying with Pat Spillane?
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 04/07/2013 15:27:00
TheRightStuff County: Donegal Posts: 271
1423340 Joxer , Dubs that I worked with last year stated they were lucky,I see your waiting to pounce. Relax man. Yourself Joxer would be of the belief that Kildare were naive and you have certainly slated our tactics before. If open man to man don't work , then what does. Try a different reply than 'this is embarrassing'.
-------- Don't worry TRS I'm not going to pounce or call your post embarrassing so you can relax. A bit of advice though, a couple of lads in work from Dublin does not constitute 'most Dubs'. I can only guess that you were WUMing and in the hope that some Mayo posters may row in behind you. Must try harder though Jim!
Re tactics. Yes Kildare were very tactically naive. Show me somebody who doesn't agree. On Donegal I have only ever stated that I don't like watching them but I have always called it effective. What tactics will beat Dublin? I've already posted this but Dublin struggled against Tyrone twice and Donegal this year. That tells the story. Both teams have the ability to stop free flowing footballing teams.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 04/07/2013 15:27:44
04/07/2013 15:23:56 jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10614
1423730 ... Enjoy the 2nd hand battered sausage / Dutch Gold smell combination.
Thats a great idea for one of those smelly candles... a smell of Dublin....
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 04/07/2013 15:30:37
Donegalman County: All Posts: 769
1423732 Dublin beat themselves by praying with Pat Spillane? ________
That's what he said after the Dublin v Kildare game on Sunday
Lester:
"How can Meath beat this Dublin team"
Off camera
Spillane:
"Pray"
Hype Hype Hype Hype... and disrespectful towards Meath
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/07/2013 15:56:50
Realistically I think Donegal are the only team in the country with any chance of stopping this Dublin team. As much as I hate to admit it they have a set of forwards that Meath's backs will be no match for. Certainly can't see the tight game we witnessed in the first half (well first 34 minutes) of last year's encounter. If Alan Brogan comes back it could get embarrassing for Galvin in terms of who to pick but either way he has probably 10 forwards in his arsenal that would make any team in the country (well most teams - reckon the Meath first choice 6 are as good but not much in reserve) If Meath are to win they will need a big performance from midfield but Gillespie won't be able to hold this on his own and the half backs are the weakest link - expect Dublin to run at them on towards goal as they did with Kildare. I think Meath are a better team than Kildare despite all the hype surrounding the lillies but they won't be able to contain this Dublin team who must surely be their best since the 70's. Can't see any of Cork / Kerry / Mayo / Tyrone being good enough to contain them either but Donegal might if they can hit them early in the middle of the park before the build up momentum - expect Dublin to be back in O'Connell St for some time to come though
Real_Slim_Shady (Meath) - Posts: 153 - 04/07/2013 15:57:28
bluedubstar County: Dublin Posts: 500
1423739 04/07/2013 15:23:56 jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10614
1423730 ... Enjoy the 2nd hand battered sausage / Dutch Gold smell combination.
Thats a great idea for one of those smelly candles... a smell of Dublin.... ________
Great idea... we can set up a stall on Henry Street
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/07/2013 15:57:39
jimbodub County: Dublin Posts: 10616
1423759 Donegalman County: All Posts: 769
1423732 Dublin beat themselves by praying with Pat Spillane? ________
That's what he said after the Dublin v Kildare game on Sunday
Lester:
"How can Meath beat this Dublin team"
Off camera
Spillane:
"Pray"
Hype Hype Hype Hype... and disrespectful towards Meath
Meath get a great start, and then pray for the rest of the game then.
Prayer isnt going to win or lose any game and it never has.
If I said that 5 goals would beat dublin before the game on sunday, I would have been right, provided kildare scored 14 points as well. Seems outscoring is not going to beat Dublin. Plan B anyone?
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 04/07/2013 17:06:44
1/Catch Bernard Brogan on an off day 2/Make sure Stephan Cluxtons only job is net minding 3/silence the hill 4/ hope for a GOOD REFEREE ! 5/ If all else fails look to the heavens and prey for some Divine Intervention .
fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 04/07/2013 17:13:59
Joxer , Rory is gonna kill me when he finds out. Don't need support from the Mayo lads for back up , there's a nice triangle of rivalry between us already.
TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 04/07/2013 18:08:28
If things keep going the way they are the hype & weight of expectation alone will crush them. Galvin needs to learn from JMcG and throw in some dodgy performances along the way!!!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/07/2013 21:13:22
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1605
1424019 If things keep going the way they are the hype & weight of expectation alone will crush them. Galvin needs to learn from JMcG and throw in some dodgy performances along the way!!!!!
We'll be fine. Gavin is level headed and won't be taking any sh*te from anyone.
bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 04/07/2013 21:23:55
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1606
1424019 If things keep going the way they are the hype & weight of expectation alone will crush them. Galvin needs to learn from JMcG and throw in some dodgy performances along the way!!!!!
Were nearly there Muckross one more game and if we win, our goals for this year have been achieved, div 1 champs ,leinster champs anything else with these young lads is bonus territory.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/07/2013 21:29:39
bluedubstar County: Dublin Posts: 505
Galvin may well be fine but last I checked he wasn't playing wheras some of those who are have a decidely flaky side to them.
AthCliath County: Dublin Posts: 2102 Were nearly there Muckross one more game and if we win, our goals for this year have been achieved, div 1 champs ,leinster champs anything else with these young lads is bonus territory.
If you you think that that Dublin's ambitions stop at being Leinster Champions then you are in a minority of one in the entire universe!!!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/07/2013 21:41:18
MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1607
1424042 bluedubstar County: Dublin Posts: 505
Galvin may well be fine but last I checked he wasn't playing wheras some of those who are have a decidely flaky side to them.
AthCliath County: Dublin Posts: 2102
Were nearly there Muckross one more game and if we win, our goals for this year have been achieved, div 1 champs ,leinster champs anything else with these young lads is bonus territory.
If you you think that that Dublin's ambitions stop at being Leinster Champions then you are in a minority of one in the entire universe!!!
Never used the word ambition:)
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/07/2013 21:51:13
AthCliath Were nearly there Muckross one more game and if we win, our goals for this year have been achieved, div 1 champs ,leinster champs anything else with these young lads is bonus territory.
Oh right. Sure throw on the second team after the leinster final so. It is all a bonus and they could do with the run out... Give me a break. If the dubs dont win sam this year, from the position they are in it will be a big failure.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/07/2013 09:08:57
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7546
1424095 AthCliath Were nearly there Muckross one more game and if we win, our goals for this year have been achieved, div 1 champs ,leinster champs anything else with these young lads is bonus territory.
Oh right. Sure throw on the second team after the leinster final so. It is all a bonus and they could do with the run out... Give me a break. If the dubs dont win sam this year, from the position they are in it will be a big failure.
If Dublin win the leinster having already won the league,regardless of what you think TheMaster,2013 with a new manager new system several new players will not be a failure,this Dublin team is being built for the future and as already been said one more win and anything else is bonus territory.
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 05/07/2013 09:27:32