How does a team beat Dublin?

Another question arises for Dublin, if they are to win this year how would they like to win?

Would they like to utterly dominate their opponents in a final say and beat them out the gate by a cricket score or would it be more enjoyable a tight contest that they come out 4 or 5 point winners of?

Aiders (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 03/07/2013 15:48:39    1422920

I'm not sure you're contributing anything to the debate there Aiders. McGuinness dictates the tone of Donegal's press coverage more than any manager in the history of the game. At least Dublin just let the press flow and if people get a little excited they try to deal with it. Even Pillar allowed a documentary to be made. With Donegal you can't even quote someone in a book saying nice things about McGuinness.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/07/2013 15:56:32    1422934

Doublehop , you ain't correct there , Colm Keys , Damien Lawlor and a number of other journalists stated on Rte radio that McGuinness and Donegal are great to deal with . They speak openly and Jim is sublime with media speaking as he doesn't stop. They also praised Jim for letting players like Eamon McGee speaking flowly about his football career. This is a thread in how you would tactically beat Dublin (obviously out score them)

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2013 16:04:56    1422948

"McGuinness dictates the tone of Donegal's press coverage more than any manager in the history of the game."

Ah now come on, next you will be saying that I had to ask permission to come on here, or worse yet I've been sent here to comment. :)

4 points is a nice margin to win by, no1 can ever say "sure there was only a kick of the ball in it"

Aiders (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 03/07/2013 16:09:44    1422954

A referee could easily beat this Dublin side in my view and that's my biggest fear. That's not to say I don't think Donegal or Mayo on a good day could beat us, but if Kerry go man for man with this Dublin machine well then they are in for a nasty surprise and a extremely bruised ego.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 03/07/2013 16:14:06    1422958

Have to laugh at Donegal trying to play down their chances and big up the Dubs

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 668 - 03/07/2013 16:30:19    1422980

Aidan , would you play your traditional game or risk getting battered

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2013 16:40:00    1422988

Deep down I can't help but feel the Dubs know rightly they are miles ahead of everyone else in the country, and no other team can match this team for pace and scoring ability.

The Dubs have brought an interesting and useful style to the table this year in that speed seems to be their main trait. In the past, teams focused more on strength and conditioning as a way of overpowering the opposition. But if you want to tackle someone, you've got to be able to catch him first right? So the very best of luck to the teams trying to catch and indeed keep up with James McCarthy, Jack McCaffrey, Mannion, McMenamin etc.

I can't see how teams will deal with that pace. But I and others did say on here not so long ago that teams will come up with a plan to beat the mass defence. This is it.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 03/07/2013 16:53:14    1423001

Sergeant_Slash

Have they improved their speed since last year or is it just the new kids on the block who have been training with yer man Bolt?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 03/07/2013 17:04:06    1423015

The people on here saying how good we are will be the same people on here slating us if we don't win Sam. Would everyone relax we've beaten a team that's in transition , Mayo have hammered two good teams as well but all of a sudden no one is talking about them cause its last weeks news were this weeks and whoever wins between Cork or Kerry will be next weeks. I think people have to stop judging teams after one good or bad performance , only 6 weeks ago after the Tyrone game no one gave us a chance now after Kildare were unbeatable.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/07/2013 17:05:07    1423016

Aiders
In fairness the Dubs are the team to beat.... Sure didn't Michael Murphy himself say so!

Donegal and Dublin are the teams to beat. Mayo seem the only other team capable.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8982 - 03/07/2013 17:07:47    1423022

Tis getting very giddy in here lately all right , Clondalkin. Everyone knows Dublin and Donegal are the bar, Kerry and Cork are not far behind and that's if they're behind at all. Tyrone are in with a shout and the winners of Derry/Down could have a say too. Mayo will win Connacht.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 03/07/2013 17:12:21    1423030

I've been saying since the start of the championship that I can't wait to see this Dublin team in a full tilt championship match and through no fault of their own they have had two teams turn up and wave a big white flag. Meath in the next round may or may not throw in the towel but they have a less talented squad than Kildare or Westmeath so the writing is on the wall by the look of it.

I doubt Dublin are happy about this either as it is not good preparation for the later rounds but its very hard to take anything from their games thus far. We had teams who have already been knocked out put up cricket scores last weekend also it doesn't really tell you how good a team is.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 03/07/2013 17:18:56    1423039

Win possession at mid field. Mark their forwards effectively. Hit them of the ball. Hit them fairly as well. Don't commit too many players to attack. Don't turnover the ball. Don't have Joe McNally, I mean McQuillan as ref.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 03/07/2013 17:24:53    1423046

pdempsey

Win possession at mid field. Mark their forwards effectively. Hit them of the ball. Hit them fairly as well. Don't commit too many players to attack. Don't turnover the ball. Don't have Joe McNally, I mean McQuillan as ref.

Will that be Mayo's plan if they meet it will?

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 03/07/2013 17:32:58    1423061

Well as I said on another thread, it's quite simple really. If you look at the teams that Dublin struggled against this year, Tyrone twice, Donegal and Kildare ( OBC Final). The tactic in each of those games was to pull everyone back, hound the Dublin forwards, disposess them and then break to score, usually from long range points. Anyway the point being that if our forwards are smothered, our midfield is weak enough and our backs are lightweight, not physically strong enough for my liking. So our main threat is speed and ace marksmen. Counteract those two elements and you can beat Dublin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 03/07/2013 18:01:06    1423094

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

1422856 Lads please its only July and they have beaten 2 poor teams .................... let them keeping talking and thinking themselves up, they'll be in for a surprise when they come up against a top 4 team, do you honestly think there half backs will get the space they have got for the last 2 games! Will they be as cavalier if they have to mark the Gooch or the like .... I think not!

open you eyes Ciarra Abu
its not Dubs talking themselves up,and its not Dubs starting these silly threads.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 03/07/2013 18:02:15    1423100

Aiders

1422792 In fairness the Dubs are the team to beat.... Sure didn't Michael Murphy himself say so!

WHO???

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 03/07/2013 18:03:13    1423101

Aiders

1422883 Lads, the speed, the power, the accuracy, the sheer footballing ability... It will be like trying to race Usain Bolt!!

Serious outfit these Dubs, it will take a team with a real strategy, clever manager, with a proper game plan playing the 70 mins of their lives to beat them.

Does there exist such a team this year

Yes Donegal Mayo Kerry Tyrone Cork take your pick.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 03/07/2013 18:10:10    1423109

Ask Mayo, they have a good record against the boys in blue in Championship!!!!!

maxitwist (Kildare) - Posts: 144 - 03/07/2013 18:12:26    1423111