So Kildare were naive, a comment I also made myself and the blanket defence is 'puke' despite Ulster attendances being strong as usual. How then is this mighty flying Dublin team to be beaten. If Meath go toe to toe , they will get taken apart. Realistically so will Cork or Kerry, maybe not to the extreme of Meath or Kildare but they will eventually wear them down. The reason Jim went extreme in 2011 was from what he seen Dublin doing to Tyrone in same year. So lets say Mayo or Donegal / Tyrone or whoever were to meet Dublin in final should they go man to man or cut out danger to their six excellent forwards (4 more on bench waiting) and drop bodies back? TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2013 14:26:27 1422761 Link 0 |
Scoring more than we do perhaps...............? Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/07/2013 14:37:27 1422782 Link 0 |
In fairness the Dubs are the team to beat.... Sure didn't Michael Murphy himself say so! Aiders (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 03/07/2013 14:45:19 1422792 Link 0 |
Well whoever tells you 'Attack is the best form of defense', words which I may have used last week, well let's just say it's safe to assume they're wrong. doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/07/2013 14:46:38 1422796 Link 0 |
Let them attack from the back en mass. Show them a gap to go for goal, they will go for it, and when they do converge on them and close up the area with sheer numbers. Hit them on the counter with a long ball into their fullback line, when their halfbacks are miles up the field. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/07/2013 14:50:03 1422803 Link 0 |
Liam, it's a genuine question on how to beat Dublin because man to man, they are relentless but puke football is a no-no so should we just roll over ? TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2013 14:50:19 1422804 Link 0 |
Donegal won't have to 'roll over'. They won't know what hit them. Actually I think Dublin are more likely to meet Mayo than Dublin. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 03/07/2013 14:58:30 1422818 Link 0 |
attack is the best form of defense,you cannot concede a score in the other teams half,the problem is when you give the ball away thats called errors,its all about limiting the errors and using the possesion correctly hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/07/2013 15:00:39 1422824 Link 0 |
It ain't a Donegal V Dublin question as Mayo could equally be there because they are flying as well. This attack is the best form of defence is questionable unless you are Dublin. Their strength in depth is surreal at times. Dublin play great football but its gonna be a futile championship if sides adopt the McGeeney approach of thinking you can match then in the traditional way TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2013 15:08:22 1422839 Link 0 |
Simple by playing better football than Dublin, not handball arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 03/07/2013 15:10:13 1422845 Link 0 |
Do Donegal not think they'd take Dublin by going man to man? clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/07/2013 15:14:30 1422854 Link 0 |
Lads please its only July and they have beaten 2 poor teams .................... let them keeping talking and thinking themselves up, they'll be in for a surprise when they come up against a top 4 team, do you honestly think there half backs will get the space they have got for the last 2 games! Will they be as cavalier if they have to mark the Gooch or the like .... I think not! Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 03/07/2013 15:15:08 1422856 Link 0 |
Really Ciarrai Abu? It's clearly people from outside of Dublin who are hyping us up, look at all the threads they've made sure! CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 03/07/2013 15:17:26 1422863 Link 0 |
Clobdalkin , I think we have some exceptional players despite assertions that its only a system. No is the answer due to Dublin and their forwards. We like most counties ain't blessed with an array of talent that's at your disposal. I think with a good game plan, we or Mayo/Kerry could beat yous but not man to man TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2013 15:25:33 1422878 Link 0 |
Sorry for the spelling mistake Clondalkin TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2013 15:27:24 1422882 Link 0 |
Lads, the speed, the power, the accuracy, the sheer footballing ability... It will be like trying to race Usain Bolt!! Aiders (Donegal) - Posts: 49 - 03/07/2013 15:27:42 1422883 Link 0 |
Love the Dubs going on about "the hype" like it can be referenced in the same way people can say 'the plague', a culchie farmyard disease which could have devastating effects if it reaches the city... Bottom line is that when I got home on Sunday evening I went out the back for a badly needed cigarette and I heard my neighbour calling a bookmaker to put €200 on Dublin to win the All-Ireland. A fantastic moment that was just the cherry on top of the worst day ever. Presumably plenty others did the same as their odds shortened so much. Dublin supporters need to stop pretending that all this expectation is coming from outside. Living and working in Dublin there's plenty of people around here getting excited about this Dublin team also. And probably rightly so... doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/07/2013 15:31:29 1422890 Link 0 |
I think they will win the All Ireland. However, I am intrigued by the mostly Donegal emphasis on Dublin. Is it (a) a pop psychology mind game to upset Dubs?; or (b) a genuine beleif that Dubs might be only team which Donegal would not hold defensively? hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 03/07/2013 15:37:40 1422902 Link 0 |
Exactly doublehop , then one gets the blame for setting up a forum which only reaches a small sphere of people. Who do people think have the best chance of beating them ? TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/07/2013 15:39:27 1422904 Link 0 |
Not easy, somehow you need to push enough men up to contest the kickouts but have enough back in case you dont win the kickout or they will cut you to bits if its one on one. white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 03/07/2013 15:44:26 1422914 Link 0 |