Donegal v Down

I have read a number of number of your anti-Donegal posts on a few threads.... It's clear you are very threatened by us.... comes with being champs I suppose. You beat us once in 2011.... League don't count for Jack... and you know in your heart of hearts that Mayo spared you from us by beating ye in the semi last year.

Time will tell this year....We have no fear of the Dubs or anybody else.. That is not arrogance.. merely the confidence that comes with being champs... We played as bad as we will probably play all year... missing Lacey and Gallagher, the spine of our team, then losing McGlynn and Bradley... Yet we still had enough in the tank to get home by 3. IF that's a bad day at the office I would take it every time.

mickyrua (Donegal) - Posts: 55 - 24/06/2013 20:25:32    1414721

There are a lot of new posters shooting off at the mouth here & not doing it very well at all.

If you new guys want to learn how to give grief look back at some posts from the following

GateKeeper, Snuf, jimbo & my good self (modest nearly won out, nearly)

A little wit with the barb goes a long way on here. If all you can do is abuse nobody will pay much attention!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/06/2013 20:26:26    1414724

Wow, don't sound so humble lads

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 24/06/2013 20:29:21    1414728

I have read a number of number of your anti-Donegal posts on a few threads.... It's clear you are very threatened by us.... comes with being champs I suppose. You beat us once in 2011.... League don't count for Jack... and you know in your heart of hearts that Mayo spared you from us by beating ye in the semi last year.

Time will tell this year....We have no fear of the Dubs or anybody else.. That is not arrogance.. merely the confidence that comes with being champs... We played as bad as we will probably play all year... missing Lacey and Gallagher, the spine of our team, then losing McGlynn and Bradley... Yet we still had enough in the tank to get home by 3. IF that's a bad day at the office I would take it every time.

Have ye ? Tell ye what, Find them, Then come back and explain exactly how i'm anti Donegal.

Yea i'm shi**ing myself. Imagine coming up against the aristocrats of gaelic football in Croke park, We simply are not worthy. We simply wouldn't be able to cope. Im lying in a dark room in a ball rocking. Send for the men in the white coats.

No way of proving or disproving who would have won if Dublin had of beaten Mayo in the semi final last year.

Trust me its not long ago that Dublin where champions, Sure didn't we beat you on the way ? Trust me nobody in Dublin is quaking at the thoughts of coming up against yous. We have absolutely no reason to. But, We will concentrate on Kildare for now.

You are deserving champs. But that was last year. NOBODY in the top bracket of teams fear you. If you believe anything to the contrary, Then sorry for bursting your bubble.

Slowly but surely you are being found out

And surely such a phenomenal side like Donegal shouldn't let 3 or 4 injuries rattle them :O, If Down had the balls they would have beaten you. Its all hypothetical now. We will just have to wait til August, From then, Yous will be a ticking time bomb and itll only be a matter of when and not IF you are beaten.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/06/2013 20:30:13    1414732

I will make a not so bold statement. Donegal will beat Dublin should we meet and I am completely confident of that.

_________

Like yous did so many times under Jim so far ............................. Wait a second!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/06/2013 20:31:39    1414734

______

What about Wayno Muck ? :(

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/06/2013 20:41:37    1414745

waynoI

______

What about Wayno Muck ? :(

Wayno my old friend!!! Mea culpa mea culpa. Put it down to the sadly diminishing abilities of an addled old brain.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/06/2013 20:47:50    1414753

Reading all these Donegal and dub fans on here kinda makes me think it would be nice neither won it.Now obviously i hope donegal win sam but there is certainly questions about their form this year. Were not great against Tyrone or Down but they did beat tyrone by six and down by 3. In the league and indeed the last day when teams ran directly at them they struggled. But they are missing two or three all stars. I actually hope Mcguinness has Donegal at 75% for ulster and peaking around august. He would be a very brave man to do this but im hoping its true. And lets get things straight about rule changes in the game. You know when the bully at school is better than anyone else at a game and he wins every day. You know when someone catches on and starts to win and beat the bully at his own game. What does the bully usually do. HE CHANGES THE RULES so he can win again. Get on the training pitch and get a system to beat the current style of football then people will follow and dont be the bully of the GAA. Funny enough the people who complain the less are Kerry who me thinks are just doing this

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 24/06/2013 20:49:21    1414755

Wayno my old friend!!! Mea culpa mea culpa. Put it down to the sadly diminishing abilities of an addled old brain

______

Jesus Muck. Hardly old. I'm only after celebrating my 21st birthday on Friday.

I'll forgive ye though.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/06/2013 20:55:34    1414764

waynoI

Have ye ? Tell ye what, Find them, Then come back and explain exactly how i'm anti Donegal.

Yea i'm shi**ing myself. Imagine coming up against the aristocrats of gaelic football in Croke park, We simply are not worthy. We simply wouldn't be able to cope. Im lying in a dark room in a ball rocking. Send for the men in the white coats.

No way of proving or disproving who would have won if Dublin had of beaten Mayo in the semi final last year.

Trust me its not long ago that Dublin where champions, Sure didn't we beat you on the way ? Trust me nobody in Dublin is quaking at the thoughts of coming up against yous. We have absolutely no reason to. But, We will concentrate on Kildare for now.

You are deserving champs. But that was last year. NOBODY in the top bracket of teams fear you. If you believe anything to the contrary, Then sorry for bursting your bubble.

Slowly but surely you are being found out

And surely such a phenomenal side like Donegal shouldn't let 3 or 4 injuries rattle them :O, If Down had the balls they would have beaten you. Its all hypothetical now. We will just have to wait til August, From then, Yous will be a ticking time bomb and itll only be a matter of when and not IF you are beaten.

Let me start by saying that I don't believe for a minute that you are anti Donegal. Neither do I believe that Dublin or any of the other challengers are worried about Donegal & vice versa. No Manager or team worth it's salt is thinking any further than the next game.

Where I would take issue with you is the idea that we are "being found out" & if I read you right, that it's only a matter of when not if we are beaten this summer. I have seen no evidence of us being found out, Down proved yesterday that the best forwards in the business will struggle against "the system" which if anything should be food for thought for Dublin as you have no defence to speak of to fall back on if things are not going well up front. As to being beaten this summer, maybe we will & maybe we won't. The odds are against us but then they are against everyone else as well.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/06/2013 20:57:46    1414767

Let me start by saying that I don't believe for a minute that you are anti Donegal. Neither do I believe that Dublin or any of the other challengers are worried about Donegal & vice versa. No Manager or team worth it's salt is thinking any further than the next game.

Where I would take issue with you is the idea that we are "being found out" & if I read you right, that it's only a matter of when not if we are beaten this summer. I have seen no evidence of us being found out, Down proved yesterday that the best forwards in the business will struggle against "the system" which if anything should be food for thought for Dublin as you have no defence to speak of to fall back on if things are not going well up front. As to being beaten this summer, maybe we will & maybe we won't. The odds are against us but then they are against everyone else as well.

Firstly i'm glad you know i'm not Anti Donegal.

Why would I be ? One reason that could be argued is cause of their style of play, But I would be an absolute hypocrite if I was Anti-Donegal because my own side adopted similar tactics. It would be a case of the pot calling the kettle black. The only other option is jealousy, And in the nicest possible way. What is there to be jealous about ? 2 all Irelands in 100+ years is nothing special.. And I don't mean to sound so insulting.. Its just a fact.

I have doubts about Donegal. I think last year they had look on their side. No injuries. Teams struggled to break yous down. But ive said that you where deserved winners last year, I'd take nothing away from you, your players, management, staff, county board and supporters. The supporters are lovely people in fact. This year I think Donegal face obstacles, Injuries being one, expectation being champions is another. I also think Dublin/Mayo/Cork/Kerry would relish playing Donegal and wouldn't be scared or stressed about it.

When I say found out, I probably used the wrong words. What I mean is I think someone will get the better of the Donegal system this year. Individually I think 4 counties have better players but as a unit Donegal have been the best in the country in the last 18 months. But like every team they are beatable and I think we have seen evidence of that in their last two games contrary to what you think, I feel Donegal have been extreamly lucky to get through their two games so far. If Down had more composure in front of goal I reckon they could have beaten you. I thought yous looked a bit vulnerable and that vulnerability will be exploited by a top team IF IT CONTINUES.

The fact some are writing you off is a good thing.. I will be very surprised if yous win Sam this year but that's just my opinion, But I also feel you will be there at the business end. At that time nobody will fear anyone. The best teams should all be there and that's when I suppose we will see if Donegal can regain their title of if someone can take it off them.

Earlier I pointed out Dublin have yet to lose to Donegal under McG. That was a fact. I pointed out that we aren't scared of Donegal, Another fact. Im not here winding your lads up. Merely stating my opinion. I have NOTHING against Donegal. I want Dublin to win the all Ireland, If they don't the winners are irrelevant to me.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/06/2013 21:31:24    1414801

waynoI

I have been reading your previous posts on here, and while you make some fair points you keep going on about Donegal only winning 2 All-Ireland's in 100+ years, which to be honest irritates me a little. What relevance at all does that have to their current squad and management now?? I'll answer that for you- Absolutely no relevance whatsoever. In the last 30 years Dublin have only won 2 All-Ireland's, not exactly something to brag about for a county with such rich footballing history.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 24/06/2013 21:50:14    1414833

MUCKROSS....Was that not Wimbledon???? No one likes us, we don't care …………
The chant began with Millwall in the 70s when Eamon Dunphy played with them, (then like yourselves a Div 2 side) in response to their image as football hooligans and has been borrowed by many other teams who see themselves as being unliked for whatever reason. So if ye are feeling unloved at the moment (as the chief perpetrators of crimes against Gaelic football) feel free to start singing….

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 24/06/2013 21:53:22    1414840

beal

MUCKROSS....Was that not Wimbledon???? No one likes us, we don't care …………
The chant began with Millwall in the 70s when Eamon Dunphy played with them, (then like yourselves a Div 2 side) in response to their image as football hooligans and has been borrowed by many other teams who see themselves as being unliked for whatever reason. So if ye are feeling unloved at the moment (as the chief perpetrators of crimes against Gaelic football) feel free to start singing….

Not feeling unloved at all beal. We were liked for years while simultaneously being kicked from one end of Ireland to the other.
As long as people are giving us grief on HS then I know we are doing well.
As for the chief perpetrators of crimes against Gaelic football, Mayo are looking more like us this year, maybe ye too are getting sick of being liked.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/06/2013 09:05:29    1414885

waynoI

Firstly i'm glad you know i'm not Anti Donegal.

Why would I be ? One reason that could be argued is cause of their style of play, But I would be an absolute hypocrite if I was Anti-Donegal because my own side adopted similar tactics. It would be a case of the pot calling the kettle black. The only other option is jealousy, And in the nicest possible way. What is there to be jealous about ? 2 all Irelands in 100+ years is nothing special.. And I don't mean to sound so insulting.. Its just a fact.

I have doubts about Donegal. I think last year they had look on their side. No injuries. Teams struggled to break yous down. But ive said that you where deserved winners last year, I'd take nothing away from you, your players, management, staff, county board and supporters. The supporters are lovely people in fact. This year I think Donegal face obstacles, Injuries being one, expectation being champions is another. I also think Dublin/Mayo/Cork/Kerry would relish playing Donegal and wouldn't be scared or stressed about it.

When I say found out, I probably used the wrong words. What I mean is I think someone will get the better of the Donegal system this year. Individually I think 4 counties have better players but as a unit Donegal have been the best in the country in the last 18 months. But like every team they are beatable and I think we have seen evidence of that in their last two games contrary to what you think, I feel Donegal have been extreamly lucky to get through their two games so far. If Down had more composure in front of goal I reckon they could have beaten you. I thought yous looked a bit vulnerable and that vulnerability will be exploited by a top team IF IT CONTINUES.

The fact some are writing you off is a good thing.. I will be very surprised if yous win Sam this year but that's just my opinion, But I also feel you will be there at the business end. At that time nobody will fear anyone. The best teams should all be there and that's when I suppose we will see if Donegal can regain their title of if someone can take it off them.

Earlier I pointed out Dublin have yet to lose to Donegal under McG. That was a fact. I pointed out that we aren't scared of Donegal, Another fact. Im not here winding your lads up. Merely stating my opinion. I have NOTHING against Donegal. I want Dublin to win the all Ireland, If they don't the winners are irrelevant to me.

I would agree with most of what you say there Wayno.
The only place I would take issue would be that people will get the better of the "system". I think that with the rules as they are Donegal's way is the most effective way to win. Our problem at the moment is that we have 5 or 6 men carrying injuries which are preventing us from executing properly. With 4 weeks to the Ulster final & another 2 weeks to the QFs I hope we will be playing with a full deck.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/06/2013 09:12:28    1414888

Good point MourneArmy.

wayno, are you aware that 98.765% of statistics are made up on the spot?

They aren't really but it serves my point. A lot of statistics have very little relevance when talking about the here and now. Dublin have a proud tradition and they have had some unbelievable teams and players. They still do. But in terms of recent history are they any better than Donegal? Two All-Irelands each in 20 years. Do you think Colm McFadden will give a flying **** about Dublin's great corner backs of the past if he's letting one of his rockets off from 50 metres out?

Yes you beat us fair and square in 2011 and twice in the league since we've failed to get the better of you. But I would say that "Championship-mode" Donegal in August 2013 is a very different beast to 2011 and any league match. Your uber-confidence in a Dublin win, which incidentally would have to be in an All-Ireland final so far as I can make the fixtures out, is nice to see. I would heartily enjoy seeing that bubble being burst.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 25/06/2013 09:27:57    1414899

Thanks for the Welcome Dubsfan28.I dont know who to Quote on this forum but in reply to your post' i dont find it that ironic as the number of negative posts far outway the compliments.I am more taken back by the attitude of some Tyrone fans towards Donegal.I wasnt aware there was such a negative attitude towards Donegal from them. Some people have short memories and the support that Donegal fans gave that charity game after the all Ireland series must not have meant much to some.Anyway you live and learn.

That off my chest' back to the football.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 25/06/2013 09:44:32    1414909

Sure look at Mayo Muckross, they seem to be most peoples favouriite 'second' county. There is of course a reson for that, they usually present little or no threat to the status quo, thats why. Once they win Sam again, as they surely will soon enough imo, then lets see just how much 'love' there is for them out there.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 25/06/2013 10:08:07    1414927

Fair play to Mark McHugh for speaking out against Donegal's complacent supporters. That kind of attitude does the players no favours at all and you would think Donegal fans would know from experience not to take any win in the Ulster championship for granted. Before Jimmy McGuinness came in Donegal had only 1 game in Ulster in 3 seasons, very poor. It won't last forever so enjoy it while it does. Down will be back next season to knock yous off your Ulster perch ;)

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 25/06/2013 10:31:27    1414946

InishowenMan

Thanks for the Welcome Dubsfan28.I dont know who to Quote on this forum but in reply to your post' i dont find it that ironic as the number of negative posts far outway the compliments.I am more taken back by the attitude of some Tyrone fans towards Donegal.I wasnt aware there was such a negative attitude towards Donegal from them. Some people have short memories and the support that Donegal fans gave that charity game after the all Ireland series must not have meant much to some.Anyway you live and learn.

That off my chest' back to the football.

Welcome to HS Inishowen.
As you are finding out it is not a place for the faint hearted at times but do not mistake banter & debate with malice. There are few truly malicious people on here & believe me you will know them when you see them!! Sometimes things printed in black & white take on a different tone to what was intended so just enjoy the ride, stand up for yourself & accept the fact that nearly everyone else is doing the same!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/06/2013 10:52:08    1414966