Donegal v Down

dgl2012

1414370 This thread is about Down and Donegal so Tyrone posters go post somewhere else

As a famous visionary once said...They havent gone away you know...Tyrone are still in the championship so hopefully we do get you's again down the road

Oh and also dont worry about us too much you would need to be worrying about that ankle of Murphy's, he wasnt lookin too comfortable on it yesterday... the man needs surgery on it for sure, hate to see him miss any game time of course

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 24/06/2013 15:29:48    1414415

Ulster rankings currently

1. Donegal
2. Down
3. Cavan
4. Monaghan
5. Tyrone
6. Fermanagh
7. Derry
8. Armagh
9. Antrim

Just an opinion certainly results so far reflect some counties' situation. Particularly where Tyrone are now.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1403 - 24/06/2013 15:34:32    1414422

Awk sure it's hard to comment on any post without Tyrone popping in to the craic! especially that brendtheredhand and thegatekeeper! Aside from that, we can't yet rank the best teams in Ulster are after a few games here and there and you definitely can't base it on the league because Down were the top Ulster team in the league in 2011 and 2012 coming 4th and 3rd respectively. We will be able to judge who the top teams in ulster are when the final whistle blows in September or when all the ulster teams are bucked out of the championship seris.

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 24/06/2013 15:38:44    1414425

Holy god you tyrone boys are hurting, Is it that Donegal beat you three times in a row or is it that Donegal are on for Ulster three times in a row? As the doctor says tell me where it hurts most? or maybe at this stage its the councillor pointing to the doll and asking you his question!!!!!

fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 24/06/2013 15:54:34    1414446

So let me get this straight...

Donegal won a match by 3 points where they played poor enough

(Just going on match day reports - I didnt see the game)

A game where they also reached their 3rd Ulster Final in a row and no offence to any of the teams left... you won't be beating Donegal

So basically that's Donegal in a 1/4 final...

Yeah... a bad aul day for Donegal alright... minus a couple of key influential players to boot

You're grasping at straws lads... especially certain Tyrone lads

Donegal are now in a better position to do a back to back when compared to any other team since Kerry

A bad aul day for Donegal GAA alright...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/06/2013 16:08:30    1414463

The ulster iron curtain is coming apart at the seams on here! Ulsterman will be beside himself!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/06/2013 16:09:00    1414466

We're a competitive bunch up here in Ulster, the way it should be.

When it comes to facing the southern teams, we'll always root for our own!

Uladh Abú ;)

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 24/06/2013 16:43:21    1414510

I still have Donegal as favourites as long as Gallagher and Lacey especially recover. Clutching at straws is right Jimbo.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 24/06/2013 16:56:03    1414521

CaisleanCnucha

1414521 I still have Donegal as favourites as long as Gallagher and Lacey especially recover. Clutching at straws is right Jimbo.

_________

They will be in a 1/4 final this year

They have beaten the other two best teams in Ulster

Depending on the draw... they could get a team below them fairly handy

That's a semi-final...

With Lacey and co on a full road of recovery and fully match fit for that period

I'd say there are many a happy Donegal fan today!

They are primed.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/06/2013 17:18:38    1414554

Cant see Cavan or Monaghan beating Donegal. so 3 Ulsters in a row an a prize in the all ireland quarter finals

withdraw (Donegal) - Posts: 94 - 24/06/2013 17:53:39    1414600

Hello all.I'm new to the forum and to honest im not much of a Computer man but after reading all these negative posts directed at Donegal by mostly Dublin and Tyrone fans i had to join.

One big disappointment for me in last years Donegal campaign' was not getting dublin in the final.Mayo got there first.

Yesterdays game was not very pretty to watch and i felt Ryan Bradly's short time on the pitch was a loss to Donegal.this is not a Bias view as im from Inishowen.But for me Bradley was looking very lively and was getting involved and could possibly been a Contender for man of the match had he not been injured.I found Donegal a bit Casual and uncharacteristically giving away easy turn overs of the ball to often.Im sure jimmy was seething but kept his Composure.We got the win against a very determined down side and thats all that mattered.But anyone on here that thinks that was Donegal in full flow and playing to there potential is very Foolish.

I see some posts being made about nothing Special about this Donegal team.are youse forgetting who are All Ireland champions..? and the many all star players on this team..? To be truthfully honest i dont think Donegal will recapture Sam this year as i think it will be mayo or cork who will climb the steps at croker. But how i hope we meet Dublin in this years campaign' we owe youse one and you would have got it last year where it not for mayo getting there first.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 24/06/2013 18:02:49    1414611

Welcome InishowenMan,
Ironic that your first post about Dublin posters having a go at Donegal comes a couple of posts after two Dublin players complimented ye :-)
Welcome to Hoganstand good sir.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/06/2013 18:26:01    1414627

Holy god you tyrone boys are hurting, Is it that Donegal beat you three times in a row or is it that Donegal are on for Ulster three times in a row? As the doctor says tell me where it hurts most? or maybe at this stage its the councillor pointing to the doll and asking you his question!!!!!

It'll be forgotten about if Donegal don't win another sam. Armagh won 3 ulsters in a row, were lauded for a few weeks, then were well-beaten by Kerry and are now known as serious underachievers who failed to add to their 2002 success.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 24/06/2013 18:28:33    1414629

How the hell are you's still talking about this game??? Listen Donegal hand passed the ball better than Down and deserved to win, end of.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/06/2013 18:33:20    1414633

I see some posts being made about nothing Special about this Donegal team.are youse forgetting who are All Ireland champions..?

______

You won sam, Big deal, Hardly makes you's special.

Come back when yous win it back to back then we will talk about special.

2 All Irelands in well over 100 years.. Only 7 Ulster titles, You cant even be mentioned in the same Breath as some really special teams... Dublin, Kerry, Meath ... Donegal won the all Ireland but yous are still pretendors. You wont win it this year.

And you say you owe Dublin one. Great.. Can't wait for our next meeting.. Still trying to beat us... Ye may have worked out how to beat everyone else. But when it comes to Dublin we have you sussed. And if we get to meet yous this year we will prove it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/06/2013 18:45:11    1414647

Wayno why do I get the feeling you don't like Donegal? Hope you enjoyed the league win because it's the only bit of silverware you will be winning this year. Believe me we cannot wait to meet ye later in the year ( if ye haven't already been knocked out); we haven't forgot what happened to Paddy McBrearty in Ballybofey.

mickyrua (Donegal) - Posts: 55 - 24/06/2013 19:22:41    1414680

Wayno why do I get the feeling you don't like Donegal? Hope you enjoyed the league win because it's the only bit of silverware you will be winning this year. Believe me we cannot wait to meet ye later in the year ( if ye haven't already been knocked out); we haven't forgot what happened to Paddy McBrearty in Ballybofey.

I have no problem with Donegal. Why would I ? It's not like they have troubled Dublin.

I cant criticize your style of play cause Dublin have played similarly before.

What I said in my above post is all absolutely factual. Special teams win back to back All Irelands. Have a great tradition of winning things. Dublin have dominated the sport. Kerry have dominated the sport on a few occasions, Meath have had their moments too. For me they are the 3 superpowers of GAA. Donegal may have won a few Ulsters and credit where its due. But they have won 2 All Irelands in over 100 years. That's a fact.

Its also a fact that under Jim McG the only top team you have failed to beat in a competitive game, Is Dublin.

Donegal won the All Ireland, They where the best team last year, But they are not unbeatable and certainly don't put the fear of god into a top team like Kerry did in the last ten years. They where poor the weekend. The reason I focus on Donegal and not Down is because Donegal are the team everyone wants to beat as defending champs. I'm absolutely convinced Dublin will beat yous when we meet again. We have the experience. We have the know how. And even if they don't, I'll make a bold statement, Dublin will win the All Ireland again before Donegal do.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/06/2013 19:43:13    1414690

I have read a number of number of your anti-Donegal posts on a few threads.... It's clear you are very threatened by us.... comes with being champs I suppose. You beat us once in 2011.... League don't count for Jack... and you know in your heart of hearts that Mayo spared you from us by beating ye in the semi last year.

Time will tell this year....We have no fear of the Dubs or anybody else.. That is not arrogance.. merely the confidence that comes with being champs... We played as bad as we will probably play all year... missing Lacey and Gallagher, the spine of our team, then losing McGlynn and Bradley... Yet we still had enough in the tank to get home by 3. IF that's a bad day at the office I would take it every time.

mickyrua (Donegal) - Posts: 55 - 24/06/2013 20:10:35    1414710

I will make a not so bold statement. Donegal will beat Dublin should we meet and I am completely confident of that.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1403 - 24/06/2013 20:16:19    1414715

Game2Halves

1414415 dgl2012

1414370 This thread is about Down and Donegal so Tyrone posters go post somewhere else

As a famous visionary once said...They havent gone away you know...Tyrone are still in the championship so hopefully we do get you's again down the road

Oh and also dont worry about us too much you would need to be worrying about that ankle of Murphy's, he wasnt lookin too comfortable on it yesterday... the man needs surgery on it for sure, hate to see him miss any game time of course

that is the sort of post which gets all Tyrone supporters tarred with the same Brush. At the minute Donegal are the top team in Ulster without a doubt and after Ballybofey we have enough to worry about without these sorts of comments. Whether we are 2nd, 3rd, 4th best or other its doesnt really matter we should be concerned at where we are going at the minute. As regards the two teams yesterday fitness wise we are well behind and until we reach those levels it wont matter when we meet again the results will be the same. As for Donegal I believe they won yesterday without even playing well and that in itself is a sign of a good team. Down i believe made the mistake of trying to take on Donegal at there own game with their increased fitness levels they would have been much better playing as they did last year in the ulster final. As for Murphy I do hope he wasn't seriously injured and i do believe Donegal will be there or thereabouts when the big prize is handed out at the end of the year.

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 24/06/2013 20:23:22    1414720