Donegal v Down

No doublehop, it was the 'no one like us - we don't care' bit I was asking about?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/06/2013 21:13:11    1413723

doublehop

When you make outrageous claims like you have and only single Donegal out for these things and not Down or any of the other top teams, how is that not biased? Can you explain that?

If that game is uploaded to youtube I can and will show you plenty of occasions where Down players do all of the things you have criticised Donegal for yet choose only to attack Donegal.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 23/06/2013 21:15:10    1413728

I actually enjoyed that game today. Donegal have developed a system and it was interesting to see how Down attempted to compete against it.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 23/06/2013 21:22:40    1413747

In fairness doublehop you have highlighted some interesting points.

The half foul as a tool to win. And the dilemma that this presents to the game.

As I see it, if an attacker didn't fend off with an arm while trying to create space, how else would he do it... Over-carry it? which every forward in the country does btw.

So there are issues re rules change, or to do what you can get away with, which is by definition what most players do anyway. There is so much inconsistency in gaelic football refereeing that there is no yardstick for the rules unless they are blatantly bent.

I have no difficulty with any of our lads walking on the edge of a rulebook that by definition is never enforced in the first place. So long as you dont put someone in hospital by breaking the rules. Thats a different story then.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 23/06/2013 21:23:04    1413748

I just felt ye were a bit quick to play the victimised card there. Ye've obviously copped a lot of criticism after the Dublin game in 2011. I say something and suddenly everyone circles the wagons again. Are we allowed to criticise elements of Donegal's behaviour or are we going the Israeli route where any dissention from the party line means we're all against ye?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/06/2013 21:24:05    1413750

Down executed their plan almost to perfection, I just got the impression they were a couple of players short of giving Donegal a real scare. Benny Coulter doesn't pose the same scoring threat he did in years gone by, and without him Down lack someone with that killer instinct. Also got a couple of defenders into scoring positions who were reluctant to pull the trigger. But fair play to them, their plan almost worked, and they obviously learnt the lessons of last years Ulster Final so credit for that. They may have shown others the way to go when facing Donegal

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 23/06/2013 21:26:34    1413756

Well benjyyy I can call you biased for not seeing it. I can say it's 'outrageous' that you're blind to it. And I can pretend that one day we'll be watching the game on youtube together. It's a two way street is opinion. I'm not saying you have to agree with me. Just accept that this is my unbiased opinion.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/06/2013 21:27:48    1413760

bryanadams

I actually enjoyed that game today. Donegal have developed a system and it was interesting to see how Down attempted to compete against it.

Good man bryan, sensible post, not many of them on here. By the way, I thought your song in Robin Hood was great!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/06/2013 21:29:12    1413763

lifford gael..'no one likes us - we don't care'
Donegal...the millwall of the GAA!

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 23/06/2013 21:31:31    1413765

To the Donegal posters out there feeling a bit aggrieved at getting most of the criticism for the ultra-defensive tactics - it's because Donegal force teams to play like that, by playing it themselves - to go out all guns blazing against Donegal is a recipe for annihilation. Jim McGuinness also took the blanket defence to the new level, so ultimately Donegal are responsible for it - hence why you are getting most of the criticism!

From a Down point of view, I think there are a lot of positives to take from this. We have shown we can play open, attacking football (against Derry) and also adopt the defensive system when needs be. The intensity of the tackling and the work rate were fantastic. I'm not really worried by the result, I'm just happy we proved those ignorant Donegal posters who posted here as well as on the Donegal and Down forums that Donegal would win this at a canter, 10+ points at least, and showed the rest of the country we mean business. With Danny Hughes and Dan Gordon hopefully to come back, things can only be looking up. Providing we do alright in the qualifier draws (and if we win the next round, then I wouldn't be worrying about any of the provincial final losers), then we could be looking at a long enough summer - I certainly will fear no team, we should have beaten the best team in Ireland today, and if we can do that, we can beat anybody!

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 23/06/2013 21:35:04    1413773

Is a deliberate foul not meant to be a yellow card?

There was at least 20 deliberate fouls or "tactical" fouling as the commentator said at one stage.

At least 3 or 4 from both teams should have got the line for 2 instances of this.

Its about time, referees start using the rule book

DundalkGael (Louth) - Posts: 940 - 23/06/2013 21:37:33    1413777

doublehop

Well benjyyy I can call you biased for not seeing it. I can say it's 'outrageous' that you're blind to it. And I can pretend that one day we'll be watching the game on youtube together. It's a two way street is opinion. I'm not saying you have to agree with me. Just accept that this is my unbiased opinion.

Can I take it from this that you maintain that Donegal are the only team to do the things you have pointed out? Simple question, no need for spin

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1428 - 23/06/2013 21:37:46    1413778

I thought this was fairly flat performance by Donegal today, but overall despite being understrength they still looked solid against a much Improved Down side. Losing Frank McGlynn at half time was a massive blow to Donegal, already without key players Neil Gallagher and Karl Lacey. The wet and slippy surface didnt help this match today.

If Im brutally honest, Donegal looked like a side who already Ulster won, and were playing in a very low gear and putting in a workmanlike performance in this game. They are very fortunate to be able to play 2 of the Top 7/8 teams in the country in their provincial championship and win. Tough games generally stand to teams down the road, and Down certainly gave them a game today.

Technically speaking, Down could have won it today as a goal would have seen them take it. But they never really threatened Donegal with a proper goal chance, with only one ball causing a scramble in the Donegal goal. The referee made some dodgy descisions today, to both sides.

Donegal now through to their 12th Ulster final in 24 years, and James McCarton has Down looking like a team most others will want to avoid in the Qualifiers.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 23/06/2013 21:43:58    1413790

As like the Tyrone game Donegal are starting to play on the edge and beyond to nullify opposing teams attacking options.
Time after time today the half backs or half forwards either pulled, slapped, tripped or fouled a Down player. The ref of course did not dish enough yellows cards which would have meant 1 or 2 players getting 2 yellows. And the line
If you watch the last 2 games you might notice that there is a pattern of different players committing fouls one after another with the ref probably finding it hard to keep tabs on the main culprits !

garycool (Mayo) - Posts: 66 - 23/06/2013 21:44:34    1413794

Doublehop you still didn't answer my question?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/06/2013 21:44:53    1413796

No spin. I've already said "Down of course are no angels, who is, but for me Donegal are far more proficient at it to the point where it forms a key part of their defense." Not sure I can be any clearer than that. I feel Donegal have taken it to a new level and that it influences results of the games they're in.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 23/06/2013 21:45:45    1413798

firstly congratulations to Donegal best team won today and even though they wern't at their best they still had too much for Down.This wasn't pretty to Watch but that wasn't all Donegal's fault as is being made out here. It sounds just like the Dublin Game where all the ills of gaelic football are being blamed on Donegal. Two teams were on the field today and both were set up the same way so to blame Donegal for the poor game is lazy in the extreme. What I saw was a manager ensuring his team didn't get a bad beating like they did last year without really come up with a plan on how to win the game is glorious defeat now acceptable in Down. Donegal finished the game without probably 5 or 6 of their first choice team and were still able to hold Down at bay. Good luck to Donegal in the final and well done to our minors on another Ulster final appearance

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 23/06/2013 21:46:20    1413799

beal

lifford gael..'no one likes us - we don't care'
Donegal...the millwall of the GAA!

Was that not Wimbledon????

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/06/2013 21:50:37    1413811

rahillyman

At last some common sense!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/06/2013 21:51:02    1413815

Just been reading through some of the comments on here. It's funny how after one game Donegal are now a poor side. It was only yesterday I was reading how they would blow Down away. It would be a hammering, like last years Ulster Final. Donegal weren't allowed to play today. Down's effort and work-rate was outstanding. You's talk about the players Donegal were missing, what about the players Down are missing?? A hell of a lot more than Donegal. Credit were credit is due, Down proved today that hard work, organisation and clinical finishing is the key to beating Donegal. We managed the hard work and organisation, but we let ourselves down in front of goal. We will learn from this. The likes of Ryan Boyle, Keith Quinn and Niall Madine were only playing their 2nd championship games for Down, all 21-22 years of age. This is an emerging Down side, but we're not quite there yet. I'm gutted to have lost the game today, I was going on for weeks how I didn't expect Down to win this game, but being truthful, I bloody well did believe we could, and today we showed we're capable of putting it up to the best. Today was the toughest game Donegal have had since Dublin in 2011. Fair play to Donegal, and in particular McFadden, probably the best forward in Ireland at present, a quality footballer and a joy to watch (even if the game today was a lot of muck). Congratulations to Donegal. Onwards to the Qualifiers for ourselves. An Dún Abú

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 23/06/2013 21:58:41    1413840