I know its not kilkennys fault. I never said it was. Fair play to them. Im just saying that their dominance of the game is hurting interest levels. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/06/2013 18:25:54 1401944 Link 0 |
I think KK have brought hurling to a new level and for that fair play to them, here is my problem every team may not match KK for their skill but no reason what so ever that other teams can not have the same work rate and intensity as KK. I put the blame on my own County for my next point, we beat them in 2010 if we had beaten them in 2011 in which we could of I felt that would of been the nail in the KK coffin for awhile as then we would of seen a huge amount of lads hanging up the hurley. The KK machine will keep going untill the King calls it a day and only then will we start to see KK slip, he is what makes KK the team they are, prove if anyone needs it, the all Ireland last year. Would KK of won the 2011 and 2012 all Ireland without the King? I think not. therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 08/06/2013 18:26:23 1401946 Link 0 |
so a great team is bad for a sport? kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 08/06/2013 18:36:51 1401957 Link 0 |
Great or not,I do think that seeing the same team win over and over again damages interest,yes. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/06/2013 18:45:13 1401964 Link 0 |
This thread is ridiculous, half the posters on here are probably Manchester United supporters too and I bet they don't complain about their dominance. I think hurling would be brilliant if every team played at Kilkenny's standard. If every game was like the start of this Wexford and Dublin game then it would surely would die a death. Every sport has dominant teams / figures at some time or another. Tiger Wood, Roger Federer, Man Utd, Michael Schumacher, New Zealand , Barcelona and so on. Galway should worry about their own game rather than making excuses for why they haven't won an all Ireland in so long. Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 08/06/2013 19:28:25 1401991 Link 0 |
Im not making excuses,and im not denying that the sport would be great if every team played to Kilkennys standard,and Im not criticizing Kilkenny. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/06/2013 19:38:13 1401998 Link 0 |
JonCarter bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/06/2013 19:56:59 1402007 Link 0 |
so are good great players bad for hurling and football and any other sport kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 08/06/2013 20:02:27 1402014 Link 0 |
kerryluck Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 08/06/2013 20:46:10 1402036 Link 0 |
Midleton kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 08/06/2013 20:51:48 1402041 Link 0 |
Completely disagree with KK being bad for hurling. When KK are playing (not v Galway) I always hope they win because I admire their preparation, their intensity and commitment. Its not their fault they strive to be the best. There is no reason why any other county in Liam Mc can't get into the gym and on the field train just as hard or not harder than KK and bring a greater intensity and work rate to a game. Some time back in the depths of history KK started down the pile and climbed, no reason why others can't to that too. crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 08/06/2013 20:57:45 1402042 Link 0 |
kerryluck Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 08/06/2013 21:02:08 1402044 Link 0 |
Fair point crossfieldball, that's all well and good, but do you think that Kilkennys dominance is benefitting hurling (see title question)? If so, how? joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/06/2013 21:20:17 1402066 Link 0 |
Midleton kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 08/06/2013 21:24:07 1402068 Link 0 |
Jaysus, ya cant fault Kilkenny for being outstanding, TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 08/06/2013 21:45:28 1402085 Link 0 |
Im not faulting Kilkenny. Im asking is there dominance good or bad for the game? I should have phrased the title question as such I know. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 08/06/2013 21:54:02 1402095 Link 0 |
kerryluck Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 644 - 08/06/2013 22:03:20 1402097 Link 0 |
Kilkenny are the standard bearers in Hurling since 2000 and they are a fantastic Team to watch. Supermacs88 (Galway) - Posts: 248 - 09/06/2013 10:28:50 1402123 Link 0 |
Supermacs88 bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/06/2013 11:57:06 1402159 Link 0 |
Supermacs, we all know that. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/06/2013 13:21:05 1402202 Link 0 |