Is this Mayo's year?

They will have possibly the easiest run to an all ireland quarter final ever and if the draw goes their way make it to the semi's. It could well be their year if they can keep it going and stay focused.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/06/2013 17:34:14    1407942

Not a chance; they still are far too soft mentally and physically and not streetwise enough to win SAM. Nice enough team to watch but the Everton of Gaelic football; so far and no further.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 16/06/2013 17:35:09    1407945

They'll certainly give Donegal a rattle in the semi final.

I'd still expect Donegal to beat them but there are in with a shout.

Good display today but Roscommon were quite poor.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 16/06/2013 17:38:00    1407953

Freeman looks a handful at 14, in general I think that this Mayo team just gels very well together and they really seem to get the best out of each other. Higgins is outstanding, so is McGloughlin IMO and they look very good at midfield. Get Andy Moran at 100% and they really look a strong team, Conroy is coming back as well if I remember correctly. The problem might be O Connor's injury, especially seeing there isn't a free taker as good as him in the Mayo 15. They should be there or thereabouts again this year, the easy run in Connacht is a disadvantage though.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 16/06/2013 17:38:39    1407956

No!....Kerry have SAM in the bag! They are brilliant and everyone else is just making up the numbers!

Where's moomoo when you need him ?

danpaddyandy (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 16/06/2013 17:41:21    1407961

I reckon Donegal are well capable of taking Mayo AND Dublin on the same afternoon.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 16/06/2013 17:44:13    1407963

Sam is Mayo's to lose.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 16/06/2013 17:58:31    1407988

Did they pinch it from someone else Dubs? Have the guards been informed?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 16/06/2013 18:01:33    1407993

You're going a bit overboard promoting Ulster football today Ulsterman.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 16/06/2013 18:02:05    1407994

It's my duty Caislean; I bleed Ulster rebellion, roughness, Nordie in yer faceness and the word 'situation' if ye cut me in two.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 16/06/2013 18:13:22    1408010

Ulsterman

I reckon Donegal are well capable of taking Mayo AND Dublin on the same afternoon.

Can we play them in the 2nd match, they might be a little tired by then hopefully : )

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8812 - 16/06/2013 18:38:57    1408038

Ulsterman did you watch last year's All-Ireland Final? What i saw was two quick goals followed by a very even contest. Donegal are in no way that far ahead. In fact, i'd debate whether they are ahead at all. Mayo, Dublin and Donegal all very even in my opinion. Kerry and Cork following closely behind.

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 16/06/2013 18:40:34    1408042

Probably not

themoderngame1 (Down) - Posts: 39 - 16/06/2013 18:43:39    1408047

Bagitol. I was in the Hill with a great view of both those goals conceded by a combination of class Donegal tactics and marksmanship and our naive defending. You're correct saying it was an even game after that. Partly due to our lads not giving up but mainly cos Donegal had their buffer and were streetwise enough to tack on points if we got withing 3 or 4 points of them. Who knows how it would have gone if we didn't concede the goals early on but, on the day, Donegal took their scores readily, when needed, we didn't get scores to narrow the gap or threaten them when needed.It's that ability to keep a lead rather than look over your shoulder at the opposition and fear the opposition catching up that has been our downfall in tthe past. Under Horan we seem to learn from previous mistakes year on year. Skills, fitness, tactics have improved, I think it's the psychology of wanting a win rather than fearing defeat is a massive part in improving our fortunes.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8170 - 16/06/2013 19:04:31    1408073

Didn't see today's game, knew Mayo would walk it. They are moving well and will be hard stopped. Again this year there is no exceptional team, Donegal and Dublin are motoring well, Cork and Kerry will be there or thereabouts so really there is only 5 teams in contention and Mayo won't fear any of the other 4. Tyrone could take someone out but aren't contenders.

Mayo really need the quarter final draw to go their way though. Going in cold against a Kerry / Cork or Tyrone isn't ideal and they would be hard pressed to get the result.

Concerns I'd have about Mayo are the lack of real games they've got to date, their centre back isn't good enough to win an All-Ireland and as displayed against Dublin he will get turned over on his reckless charges up the field against the bigger sides, I have doubts about a lot of their forwards on the big day and the history they have in All-Ireland finals. However, every team has doubts hanging over them. Mayo have been on an upward curve since Horan came in and the next year or two need to result in an All-Ireland imo or they will be waiting another while for another chance.

Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 16/06/2013 19:06:39    1408077

BatigolStatue

Ulsterman did you watch last year's All-Ireland Final? What i saw was two quick goals followed by a very even contest.

What you saw last year was a game that was over after 11 minutes. After that Donegal did what they always do and went into "what we have we hold" mode. At no stage did it look like they would lose.

Donegal are in no way that far ahead. In fact, i'd debate whether they are ahead at all. Mayo, Dublin and Donegal all very even in my opinion. Kerry and Cork following closely behind.
I agree with you on this. It will be all on the day.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/06/2013 19:15:25    1408091

Put it like this, they're a hell of a lot better than Kildare, a team many deluded people think have a chance at Sam. Are they better than Dublin though? No. They've closed the gap on Donegal though, and could well beat them if Donegal have an injury to either Lacey, Gallagher or Murphy. Mayo have a stronger panel and that could be the difference if they meet.

Kerry, Cork, Mayo and Donegal are all capable of beating one another, but none will beat Dublin.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 16/06/2013 19:19:50    1408093

MuckrossHead

1408091 BatigolStatue

Ulsterman did you watch last year's All-Ireland Final? What i saw was two quick goals followed by a very even contest.
What you saw last year was a game that was over after 11 minutes. After that Donegal did what they always do and went into "what we have we hold" mode. At no stage did it look like they would lose.
Donegal are in no way that far ahead. In fact, i'd debate whether they are ahead at all. Mayo, Dublin and Donegal all very even in my opinion. Kerry and Cork following closely behind.

Thats like an American thing to say, is there a button on each players backs and when they get a certain amount of points ahead ,rory runs on and presses the "what we have hold " mode button. haha jaysus man its a game of football.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 16/06/2013 19:26:32    1408105

AthCliath

MuckrossHead

1408091 BatigolStatue

Thats like an American thing to say, is there a button on each players backs and when they get a certain amount of points ahead ,rory runs on and presses the "what we have hold " mode button. haha jaysus man its a game of football.

Ok Ath Cliath, sorry if that was too "American" for you. What I meant was that Donegal are essentialy a very conservative defence minded team. Their big strength is their defence & they will back themselves against anyone if they build up a lead. Murphy is pulled from the full forward line to midfield & the half forwards fall deeper. They did this against Tyrone ,Kerry, Cork & Mayo last year. It's not a tactic I like & on a couple of occasions it could have cost them but that was how they operated last year. This year, who knows?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/06/2013 19:38:23    1408123

Mayo supporters alone deserve an All Ireland (like Donegal supporters deserved theres), strong followers and to be honest, they never lose the faith. More luck to them.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1729 - 16/06/2013 19:42:20    1408130