Dublin v Kildare

What is true; Dublin can only beat what is put in front of them and fair play for the unrelenting attacks.

What's interesting looking at the game Kildare learnt little to nothing from the Cork game last year. Dublin's attack was down the middle almost every time and not once did they adapt to this.

DL17 (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 30/06/2013 18:56:44    1419366

Are people seriously saying the ref lost the game for kildare? Do they realise Dublin one my 16 points? Some lads really do know so much about football! Oh and btw I caught John Doyle throw a punch 3 times! The umpires talked about and looked like they told the ref about it via the earpiece but nothing happened! And do the guy saying O'Gara was starting fights, he wasn't! I was very impressed with him keeping his cool! The Kildare players were pulling and pushing him looking for a reaction and he walked away!

victorkeane (Dublin) - Posts: 28 - 30/06/2013 19:09:03    1419389

won by* dreadful spelling there ha!

victorkeane (Dublin) - Posts: 28 - 30/06/2013 19:10:54    1419393

Congrats to Dublin, absolutely relentless in attack. very hard to counter, especially when chasing a lead. Was really infuriated with McQuillan in first half especially the second goal but it's safe to say given the second half it really didn't make a difference. Not sure Kildare have regressed that much, I think it's just more that the likes of Donegal and Dublin have found another level again while we've effectively stood still. I'm not sure we're capable of reaching much higher either, regardless of it's McGeeney or someone else in charge. I see the usual craic of people lining up to put the boot into us but while Kildare supporters were convinced we were contenders before I don't think that was the case at any time this season so spare us the I told you so's...

But once again well done to Dublin, much the better side. Will be very hard stopped.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 30/06/2013 19:17:48    1419406

Yes, well done to our lads, a little sloppy at times and should have been further ahead at HT. Having said that, Kildare were unbelievably inept, no contest as yet for Dublin, hard to know how they will deal with the big boys come August!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 30/06/2013 20:20:52    1419527

turned out a bigger win in the end than anybody expected.
kildare started the match as i expected and took the game to us but once we got the first goal we were dictating the game,goal before half time was killer blow to kildare,but certainly dublin could have had 8 goals today with the amount of times they went bearing down on goal.thaught o carroll and butsy were outstanding in full back line and mccfrey made some great tackles,midfield were dominant and o sullivan is realy growing there.
one real negative was bernard brogan the guy is realy in poor form.
he seems like somebody with no confidence and should have had a goal and few more points before half time,then secondhalf i would havw taken him off straight after he took that stupid kick off the ground,his position is under real threat to start the next day as o gara was hugely impressive and kevin mcmannoman will surely get the chance to finaly make the first 15 against meath.
throw in the chance of alan brogan being fit by then and i would certainly say brogan has a fight on his hands.
was surprise not to see costello come on as reports say he has been destroying the a team defnders in a v b matches.
as for people laying into kildare supporters for believing they could win,too right they should believe they can win,i believe dublin are going to win every time they play thats what its all about supporting your team.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/06/2013 20:28:46    1419543

Congrats to Dublin on a great win. Realistically speaking, the game was a complete mismatch and Kildare could have been beaten by more than the eventual sixteen points margin.
Dublin displayed fantastic movement and skill throughout the team, and they had players who were just as good on the bench.
Best of luck in the rest of the championship.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 30/06/2013 20:33:36    1419557

Hill - bit harsh on Brogan he hit 1-1 or 1-2
The lad is a marked man and if anything it frees up other lads
His goal turned the game and he got one point with a lad practically on his back.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 30/06/2013 20:39:03    1419568

Great to get the win. felt sorry for kildare supporters , Kerry 2009 was in the back of my mind and its not nice .
Truth is kildare tried the banket defence in league and it kept then in it for about 40 mins in league and then they were blown away in second half.
Today mc geeney went man for man and similar outcome.
I genuinely expected more from kildare, their first half in league match had more intensity from them.
I still think they are better than that and i hope they get a good run in the qualifiers.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/06/2013 20:56:19    1419610

That's what was going through my mind too Áth Cliath. It's not nice to lose like that but hopefully they'll get a new manager with a better tactical awareness and push on like we did.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/06/2013 20:59:12    1419619

Jackeen

1419619 That's what was going through my mind too Áth Cliath. It's not nice to lose like that but hopefully they'll get a new manager with a better tactical awareness and push on like we did.

Thats it Jackeen it not a nice feeling .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/06/2013 21:15:08    1419658

Hi guys,

Tactical analysis of how Dublin and Kildare ended up being a rout here
http://action81.com/blog/?p=7387

Thanks,
Emmet

emmetryan (Dublin) - Posts: 154 - 30/06/2013 21:26:15    1419685

The bottom line is Kildare aren't good enough, all the money that's been pumped into football here and we still persist with the same manager and set up, time for change. We're going backwards at this stage

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2417 - 30/06/2013 21:33:01    1419705

Hard luck to Kildare and their fans

You were right in the game until Dublin got that goal just before half time

But if I'm honest we missed 4 clear goal chances in the first half before the 2nd one went in...

Not sure what the delay was at half time... Do you think Kildare knew what was in store for them?

Either way... if yesterday proved anything

1: You need to stop Dublin's half backs...

2: We have the best bench in the country

What's positive from our point of view is that we have lots to work on...

Still haven't seen the best of this team... lots of little things to work on

Plus that was Paul Flynn's worst performance in a long long time.... with him performing to his max it's just another massive option.

This team is only getting started under Gavin... I still don't think we'll do it this year... but I've never been more confident about the future of Dublin football.

These lads are only going to get better and there are more young lads just waiting on the verge

Costello / Hudson being my two main picks

You can see the hysterical and obnoxious posting of certain posters... they know well what's coming too.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/07/2013 09:46:08    1419907

Hard luck to Kildare and there fans , we've been on the end of a few hidings and its never nice so I feel for you's this morning , keep the head up you have a great bunch of young lads coming tru that will win you's a Leinster eventually. Well done Dublin great win yesterday exciting times ahead for us.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/07/2013 09:54:49    1419922

Fair play to the Dubs on here. All I could do yesterday was sit back and admire ye (maybe our players did too). I genuinely think ye'll do the same to Meath and I hope ye do. I have Dublin at 7/2 to win the AI and after yesterday I think ye'll do very very close.

As for Kildare.....I just don't know.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 01/07/2013 10:08:10    1419950

Dubs very impressive yesterday but Kildare were woeful. Very hard to say if Dublin are that good but Kildare are a top 6/7 team so the manner of the win is impressive. Stiffer tests lie ahead for the dubs however. We could see Kildare in a quarter final yet but I would not bank on them getting any further than that.

Marty's commentray yesterday was hard listen too.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11679 - 01/07/2013 10:46:05    1420026

Is it just me or do the commentators on RTE absolutely love "The Dubs"?

red_rum (Down) - Posts: 39 - 01/07/2013 10:49:54    1420033

Don't worry, Kerry are playing this weekend and order will be restored once Marty sees the Gooch in action. Loves him!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/07/2013 10:54:49    1420040

red_rum
County: Down

1420033 Is it just me or do the commentators on RTE absolutely love "The Dubs"?
_____

Why wouldnt they...?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 01/07/2013 11:06:10    1420066