Dublin v Kildare

lilywhitemagic

I think it makes a big big difference was the referee not the differece in Kildare V Dublin 2011?? yes he was in the end.

I think the biggest difference in 2011 was the fact we dropped four or five shots short into Cluxton and missed a couple of scoreable frees, Dublin didn't.

If we had lost that game by three or four points McQuilan wouldn't have come into the equation.

I don't think we deserved to win that day, but likewise I don't think any team deserves to lose to what many would see as a controversial free.

Ultimately that free decided the game, but to be fair to McQuilan, it could, and possibly should have been decided long before then.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 19/06/2013 15:32:04    1410815

Obviously meant Cormac Reilly not McQuilan in the post above.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 19/06/2013 15:35:02    1410818

Beir bua
will see if he does next sunday night alright ;) like I said im not going to keep going on about it so care to name kildare starting 15? mine would be
connolly
Lyons
foley
Mc Grillen
P kelly
Callaghan
Bolton
Daryl Flynn
Dan Flynn/Sean Hurley
Cribbon
N kelly
E flats
Johnston
smith
Doyle
O connor to come in and make a impact rather than start the same regarding paudie o neill.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 19/06/2013 15:41:04    1410828

Look I don't like him since 'that' free against Dublin and then the Alan Smith 'wide' against Down in 2010. I just hope we're not coming back here in two weeks talking about another one of his decisions.

So instead of Dublin winning by at least 5, I reckon it'll be at least 6 now ;-)

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 19/06/2013 15:46:39    1410834

He did not ref either of those games -

flourman15 (Kildare) - Posts: 62 - 19/06/2013 15:54:08    1410843

Ah yea. I knew he didn't ref the Dublin game - just testing everyone on here. Well done Flourman, you've passed the test.

However he was the umpire for the Down game.

*phew I think i got away with that*

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 19/06/2013 16:02:34    1410853

think the lillies have a good chance to beat dublin,very few are giving them a chance,and this should suit them.
this is a very young dublin team with a new management playing a new system,the lillies will have to play out of there skins,
as dublin wont lie down and die,either way should be a great game roll on sunday week.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 19/06/2013 16:12:30    1410864

Think myself this year kildare are completely under the radar for the first time in a long time against the Dubs. The underdog tag always suits Kildare.
It can only be a good thing Kildare have nothing to fear,nothing to lose,no expectations at all within the county which would be the time when Kildare would surprise you.
The hell with it Kildare by 2!!!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 19/06/2013 17:33:45    1410957

obviously im backing dubs by a large amount for this one but who ever does win sunday week will be the leinster champs there is no way meath will beat Dublin or Kildare....

_________

Dave,

I am not looking past Kildare, But I would be more nervous going into a game against Meath than Kildare.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 19/06/2013 17:43:48    1410967

waynoI

obviously im backing dubs by a large amount for this one but who ever does win sunday week will be the leinster champs there is no way meath will beat Dublin or Kildare....

_________

Dave,

I am not looking past Kildare, But I would be more nervous going into a game against Meath than Kildare.

-------
No way. I don't mean any disrespect to Meath but they are a poor enough side at the moment - in a rebuilding stage without question. Kildare have more talent and have a better blend of youth and experience. I think Dublin would tear Meath apart even on a bad day and despite the mental boost that Meath would get from playing the Dubs at croker. Whereas Kildare are genuinely capable of rolling us over with tactics and talent. Kildare are a top 5 side. Meath are top 15.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 19/06/2013 17:53:59    1410975

I am surprised McQuillan got it to be honest. Now one bad umpire call aside he's never done anything to Kildare but on the other hand it's always been clear that he's Pat McEnaney's boy. He gets the big games from him and invariably this seems to be every Dublin game. He didn't deserve the treatment he got in the build up to the Mayo game last year but is there any other ref who referees one county so much? McEnaney and McGeeney do not get on to put it mildly, everyone knows this. Appointing a referee so closely linked to him and so familiar to Dublin... It probably won't influence the result but it certainly couldn't be portrayed as a positive for anyone but Dublin.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 19/06/2013 20:04:48    1411063

SEDICO ; You really dont know your football do you ? Joe mc quillan never reffed that match in fact the ref could'nt be further from cavan' namely meath ! EMBARRASING STUFF ALTOGETHER !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 941 - 19/06/2013 20:11:07    1411070

Lads who was the ref of the Dublin v Meath game in 2010? Haha that's it Dubjohn don't let him away with that

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/06/2013 20:32:44    1411093

Fair play lads. Ye're all awake this evening. Of course it was only a few hours after the Kildareman said it but thats to be expected. Its not ye're fault ye're from Dublin.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 19/06/2013 20:37:49    1411099

It's by the grace of god Sedico.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/06/2013 20:43:59    1411103

I can't believe its Joe McQuailan to ref this, i honestly think this is getting ridiculous , what is the protocol in selecting referees

I find it farcical , why pick him when its obvious to everyone he is in bed with the jacks, i don't get it, honestly please just stfu already, there are more refs out there , why pick him?

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 19/06/2013 20:45:55    1411104

Padraig Hughes?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 19/06/2013 20:46:59    1411106

Whatever about joes appointment I hope he's gotten over his mare of a game in the ulster championship. I thought the ref for the Meath Wicklow game was on the ball when it came to getting the game moving and cutting out the nonsense even if he was a bit on the Wicklow side.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 19/06/2013 20:58:38    1411120

51 read Dara o Se's write up in the times after last years all semi final against Mayo.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/06/2013 21:04:34    1411125

McQuillan? Kildare county board have to object. The GAA aren't even trying to hide the special treatment Dublin get.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 19/06/2013 21:07:58    1411129