I think we need to get away from the provincial system. i know people will always say that there is great games in the ulster football championship and the munster hurling championship but there is only a sprinkling of top games between all the other provinces in both codes. my suggestion for football would to see something like 6 groups of 5 and one group of 4 - this is including london and new york. groups should be seeded on previous championship or league record. top 2 in each go through and the best 2 of these go straight to the all ireland quarter final ie the 2 teams out of the seven group winners with the most points. so you have 12 teams to play off for the last 6 places. the next 8 play for a second tier trophy such as the tommy murphy cup starting from the quarter final stage, these will be the seven third place teams and one fourth place team,this the team being the one who finish fourth in the group of 4 as they will have played a game less than the other fourth place teams. the 12 teams that are left are out and can go home. with every team getting at least 4 games. what do people think of this idea? hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 29/05/2013 13:02:17 1394284 Link 0 |
Brilliant, saves us having to play Kildare every year to start off! Hopefully (Offaly) - Posts: 143 - 29/05/2013 13:07:38 1394286 Link 0 |
JUST LEAVE IT AS IT IS .. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/05/2013 13:09:23 1394292 Link 0 |
i think we need to get away from the provincial system. i know people will always say that there is great games in the ulster football championship and the munster hurling championship but there is only a sprinkling of top games between all the other provinces in both codes. my suggestion for football would to see something like 6 groups of 5 and one group of 4 - this is including london and new york. groups should be seeded on previous championship or league record. top 2 in each go through and the best 2 of these go straight to the all ireland quarter final ie the 2 teams out of the seven group winners with the most points. so you have 12 teams to play off for the last 6 places. the next 8 play for a second tier trophy such as the tommy murphy cup starting from the quarter final stage, these will be the seven third place teams and one fourth place team,this the team being the one who finish fourth in the group of 4 as they will have played a game less than the other fourth place teams. the 12 teams that are left are out and can go home. with every team getting at least 4 games. what do people think of this idea? waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/05/2013 13:11:02 1394297 Link 0 |
Ah would ya go away out of that. To use charlton Heston words. From my cold dead hands will anybody take away the leinster football championship. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/05/2013 13:12:44 1394302 Link 0 |
money money, if it turned to open draw would fans travel/ would fans be able to travel due to cost? would attendance fall? kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 29/05/2013 13:34:35 1394328 Link 0 |
theres are good questions but if it is not tried then we will never know and we well be left with cork and kerry hammering everyone in munster, dublin will win 9 leinsters in 10 years, mayo will dominate connacht bar galway who have the potential to get back to that level. so we be left with one competitive province. the system now suits cork, kerry, dublin and mayo fine. but does everyone really want to be stuck with this largely uncompetitive championship - which is the case until we get to all ireland quarter final stage bar an occasional tight game. people need to wake up and stop thinking that we cando nothing without the provincial championships, because it is quiet claer that they are a waste of time hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 29/05/2013 14:27:14 1394394 Link 0 |
I don't mind the fact that Kerry or Cork or Dublin or whoever keep winning. I don't have a problem with that. They are good thats why they win. the issue I have is with the qualifiers and the inequality between teams in Connacht/Munster and Ulster/Leinster. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 29/05/2013 14:47:09 1394427 Link 0 |
Christ of all mighty not another one of these threads. How many times in the last 2 months has a thread being started saying what changes need to be made to the championship gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 29/05/2013 15:05:08 1394443 Link 0 |
Never going to happen. Move on. MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 29/05/2013 15:09:56 1394449 Link 0 |
Leave it as it is. The worst thing possible would be to have seeded groups, It would render those games pointless because the top teams will walk through them anyway. Does anybody know a sport that is as well loved as gaelic by its members but yet is always trying to change? white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 29/05/2013 15:41:20 1394479 Link 0 |
Absolutely 100% correct white.n.blue - Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 219 - 29/05/2013 16:16:18 1394518 Link 0 |
the simple fact is that the system is unfair and is not working. its grand to say leave it as it is and we will get the same nonsense every year. stubborn people who are afraid of change is what is holding back the whole organisation. something has to be done i don't cant what anyone says but it is crazy asking a team to play 3 weekend in a row, have a break for 6 weeks then lose 1 game and be out of the championship if you people think that sort of structure i acceptable well then ye would want to wake up and realize these are real people that play these games and they deserve better hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 29/05/2013 16:19:38 1394523 Link 0 |
There really should be a thread pinned to the top of the board for this topic. Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12407 - 29/05/2013 16:27:03 1394534 Link 0 |
We have about 10 of these threads every year same stuff repeat...... Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3655 - 29/05/2013 16:27:11 1394535 Link 0 |
changing from Provincial to seeded based groups will only result in the weaker teams getting hammered by different counties. Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 29/05/2013 17:28:06 1394624 Link 0 |
I don't mind the fact that Kerry or Cork or Dublin or whoever keep winning. I don't have a problem with that. They are good thats why they win. the issue I have is with the qualifiers and the inequality between teams in Connacht/Munster and Ulster/Leinster. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/05/2013 18:19:04 1394657 Link 0 |
Christ of all mighty not another one of these threads. How many times in the last 2 months has a thread being started saying what changes need to be made to the championship waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/05/2013 18:20:23 1394659 Link 0 |
why do lads bother themselves writing this cause its never going to happen never Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3000 - 29/05/2013 18:23:14 1394662 Link 0 |
Quite happy with the Ulster Championship thanks. Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 29/05/2013 18:45:30 1394691 Link 0 |