my god i would love a meeting where all the usual posters on the website meet up for a good old piss up and wear name tags, now that would be hilarious!!
loyal82royal (Meath) - Posts: 260 - 24/05/2013 13:52:47
Ulsterman a home pitch is an advantage, this caonnot be denied. Just because they didnt manage to make use of it doesnt mean it should be discounted. Couldnt their inability to win just be down to them not being good enough?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/05/2013 13:55:07
Well said GreenandRed, if you are good enough you will beat Dublin, be it at Croke Park, parnell park or Windsor Park (now theres a thought), enough of this nonsense, time to build a bridge lads!
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/05/2013 13:55:33
At the end of the day Manchester Utd dont play all their games in Old trafford even though their the cash cow why?? BECAUSE IT IS AN ADVANTAGE!!! to think bernard brogan and connolly never played a game outside of Dublin well that says it all.
lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 24/05/2013 13:55:58
lilywhitemagic County: Kildare Posts: 1509
1390522 At the end of the day Manchester Utd dont play all their games in Old trafford even though their the cash cow why?? BECAUSE IT IS AN ADVANTAGE!!! to think bernard brogan and connolly never played a game outside of Dublin well that says it all.
A Championship game. Very important.
I agree it does say it all.
Greed is an awful thing.
The power is in the other counties hands to take us on the road but they've made their choice.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 24/05/2013 14:00:46
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7105
1390515 As I said MesAmis, you didnt read it correctly. My initial post stated that a large chunk of the excess money generated by the move should go to the team who are put out by it. I repeat, the excess money generated by the move You really do only seem to see what you want to see.
Why do you think they move their home games to Croke Park when they draw Dublin if it is not for the excess money generated?!
You seem to think that they move the game for some other reason other than the excess money generated. What is the other reason why they move?
You seem to be under the impression that they move for some other reason other than the excess money generated and you don't seem to think that they receive the excess money generated at the moment? Is that what you believe? Because that is what is coming across.
You accuse me of only seeing what I want from a post! I think you see more in your posts then you've actually written sometimes!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 24/05/2013 14:06:22
GreenandRed County: Mayo Posts: 345
1390419 Any self-respecting team should raise their game in Croke Park and probably raise it again if their playing The Dubs. I's not always an advantage for them to play in Croke Park. Didn't do them much good between '95 and 2011, sometimes the weight of Croke Park expectation got to them.
Sure when they did win in 2011 with a great 70 min display it was "Sure they won the softest All Ireland" and tut-tutting that a goalkeeper scored the winning point. Didn't they just beat the most decorated county in the land and then have to listen to, from some corners, good old-fashioned anti Jackeen begrudgery. Was a masterstroke by Dublin County Board or whoever organised it to have their home league games in Croker. If it's an advantage to Dublin then it's only because other counties want to use that as an excuse if they'rew beaten there rather than raising their game in such a great arena.
excellent post a pity a few others would not take your mentality on these things.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/05/2013 14:07:38
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7107
1390520 Ulsterman a home pitch is an advantage, this caonnot be denied. Just because they didnt manage to make use of it doesnt mean it should be discounted. Couldnt their inability to win just be down to them not being good enough? ______________________ Which in turn means they had no advantage!
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/05/2013 14:16:25
Sean hit the nail on the head. Nothing else needs to be said really!
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/05/2013 14:17:26
brendtheredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 7242
1390557 TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7107
1390520 Ulsterman a home pitch is an advantage, this caonnot be denied. Just because they didnt manage to make use of it doesnt mean it should be discounted. Couldnt their inability to win just be down to them not being good enough? ______________________ Which in turn means they had no advantage!
I think he's seen the light brend!
Albeit completely unbeknownst to himself!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 24/05/2013 14:19:53
No advantage in that particular instance, due to their own inability. However, we should strive for an equal playing field for everyone and not rely on the hope that a team cant make the best of what they have, should we not?
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/05/2013 14:26:37
Gammy_Knee County: USA Posts: 1314
1390368 dubling always get to warm up at the gorilla enclosure end of croke park.....other counties have just as much right to warm up at this end but no the gaa wont allow it because it might disrupt dublings warm up preparations before big games....the gaa are just lapdogs for dubling at the end of the day
The dressing rooms under the Hogan Stand are dressing room 1 and 2 and are allocated in alphabetical order by name as gaeilge. The team from dressing room 1 is scheduled to come out first, goes left out the tunnel and warms up at the hill end. There aren't many counties that come before Ath Cliath, only Aontroim and Ard Mhacha I think. There can also be arrangements made between teams, but that's the official protocol.
Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 524 - 24/05/2013 14:34:20
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7110
1390574 No advantage in that particular instance, due to their own inability. However, we should strive for an equal playing field for everyone and not rely on the hope that a team cant make the best of what they have, should we not?
----------
You assume that this was down to their own inability rather than playing under the weight of huge expectation and 80000 boisterous fans not to mention huge media hype. Dublin were referred to as bottlers, not no-hopers, a term often used for those with ability but not nerve. Dublin teams were packed with all-stars over that barren period so they certainly had the ability. A combination of poor tactics and lack of nerve was their downfall. Thankfully that has been put right now.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4746 - 24/05/2013 15:06:23
an mhí...an dún...an clár..an cabhán...an longfort...are others........I haven't seen any of these counties get out before áth cliath and run to the gorilla enclosure end to warm up...
Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 24/05/2013 15:12:41
an Iarmhí and an lú are two more to add to the above list........
Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 24/05/2013 15:19:39
But that is inability Joxer, they couldnt make the advantage count, they let it work against them instead. It is like when a team get a guy sent off, but start playing worse. The superior numerical numbers is an advantage, but if they dont have it between the ears how to use it, then it isnt much good to them. However, you cant say it isnt an advantage, it is, and although on this occasion it might not have affected the game, the next time it might, and so shouldnt be there.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/05/2013 15:26:40
Gammy_Knee County: USA Posts: 1317
1390632 an mhí...an dún...an clár..an cabhán...an longfort...are others........I haven't seen any of these counties get out before áth cliath and run to the gorilla enclosure end to warm up... _______
Why would they want to warm up in front of a gorilla enclosure?
I mean you demand the right but the end result doesn't sound very appealing?
Is it you just want the right to do that?
Because every county already has that right...
Generally it's a great GAA spectacle... a full packed Hill welcoming the Dubs down...
Colour, song, noise, excitement... it's a famous tradition for a reason.
I think it's harmless enough... have you ever heard of first world problems?
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 15:29:20
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7111
1390644 But that is inability Joxer ______________
We shared a common thread with Mayo.
Lost our nerve because we didn't believe in ourselves and we let previous big game losses get the better of us
Rather than inspire us...
Gilroy put that right... Horan has Mayo on the same path
But Gilroy won his AI… Horan hasn't yet… but that may soon change
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 15:35:46
Gammy_Knee County: USA Posts: 1320
1390632 an mhí...an dún...an clár..an cabhán...an longfort...are others........I haven't seen any of these counties get out before áth cliath and run to the gorilla enclosure end to warm up...
Sorry. I can only explain it to you. I can't understand it for you.
Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 524 - 24/05/2013 15:41:03
Same ol sh1te different day!
realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8790 - 24/05/2013 15:57:24