Dublins unfair advantage

AthCliath
what do you want it discussed really?or is it an opportunity for yourself and moomoo to throw in the usual jibes.

Yes I do actually. I have made suggestions as to how this could be managed or how it could be made up to other teams having to give up home advantage. Nobody even tried to address them. There are several dublin posters who do nothing but cry foul on these threads, however, they dont attempt to address the actual point in any way. Why is this? Why cant we talk about dublin? Why is there always some ulterior motive that you instead chose to reference, even though there is little evidence for it on the subject at hand? For instance, the suggestion I made was totally ignored, yet the fact that I posted on the thread was picked up by several posters. Surely what I am saying is more relevant that who is saying it? The reality is if this were tyrone or donegal or kilkenny who had these exact same advantages, I would be making the same points, and I put it to you that there isnt a single poster who is throwing jibes at me who can also make this claim.
The reality is dublin have advantages and they are genuine subject matter. I dont get this thing of 'we have said it all before', in reality everything has been said before, rte pundits has been done before, joe brolly's punditry style has been done before etc etc. Where do you draw the line? If anyone is actually capable of making a case on this subject then do it, that is what people are on the thread for. But if all you have to add is this cribbing about being picked on then please, spare us, because above all else, that has been done to absolute death.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/05/2013 09:57:15    1390258

Dublin have a massive advantage playing every game on their home turf, in front of their home fans, that cannot be denied.

It is the very same thing as allowing UTD to play every game at Old Trafford, which would not exactly be fair now, would it?

I am not blaming the Dublin supporters, and I love the craic with them on match day, but I would say playing every game on their home turf actually encourages the ABD element in the country.

Supporters from every county recognise that Dublin have the home advantage in every game they play, and therefore people from other counties support the away team. Human nature to support the underdog.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 24/05/2013 10:08:08    1390270

Jaysus

Several Dub posters on this thread have said it's an advantage.

Myself included. It def has it pro's but there are also some cons in there…

But what can we do about it... I'd like to see us play more games out of Croke Park

It would be more costly so it would grate on me a little… I'll be honest it's very handy just strolling down to Croke Park

A luxury that many around the country would gladly enjoy of given half a chance…

But we had Dub players quoted recently saying they enjoy the away games

More time together as a team and so on... On that basis the Dublin team themselves would welcome more games out of Croke Park

So really on that basis I'd gladly fork out the extra money…

We played two away games this year - Kerry / Donegal and came out of the two games + 10 points up

So you can see the lads have enjoyed their travels.

Now this is important to understand

We had the Leinster council saying last week - "The Dubs put bums on seats"

That's coming from the very ones in charge...

I mean what else matters. Its pointless arguing about this because when they take such a stance then unfortunately it really says's it all…

It's the way it is… it's been brought up several times now… that reality has dawned on several posters on this thread from around the country

Hopefully it may sink in with a couple more so we don't just keep on having multiple threads on the same topic…

This ground has been covered but you have some that just keep on harping on about the same things over and over again…

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 10:21:57    1390279

So moomoo where's this thread and please point to the area that included Dublin posters complaining that we have to play a game out of Croke Park

Once again you are just making things up..

And oh so surprisngly it's directed at Dublin.

The love in continues.

You've been asked multiple times on this thread to back up your post...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 10:25:24    1390283

So moomoo where's this thread and please point to the area that included Dublin posters complaining that we have to play a game out of Croke Park

The love in continues.

Iv tried to reply but admin havent put it up.

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/05/2013 10:33:36    1390288

moomoo

1390288 jimbodub

The love in continues.

Iv tried to reply but admin havent put it up.

Why's that?

Re-edit it and try again...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 10:36:46    1390291

Well first of jimbo, if you had read what I asked you to, you would see that I suggested the games stay in croke park, but that a large chunk of the excess money created should go to the team who have had to give up the home/neutral venue. Similarly, in the case where dublin are competing a game where a full house is expected, the gaa should make efforts to balance out the crowd at the game via ticket sales management. These are simple things that can be done quite easily. Do you disagree with them?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/05/2013 10:40:36    1390295

moomoo

The Dublin hurlers had to play Clare away last year and there was a thread started by Dubs on here complaining about the fact they had to travel

The issue most posters had in relation to this was not the travelling to Clare but the throw in time of 7pm meaning most Dublin fans would be doing well to return to the capital by midnight, which was considered an avoidable inconvenience and precluded bringing kids to the game but why let a reasoned argument get in the way of an agenda?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 24/05/2013 10:40:52    1390296

bryanadams
Supporters from every county recognise that Dublin have the home advantage in every game they play, and therefore people from other counties support the away team. Human nature to support the underdog.

Exactly right. People go on with this thing about 'oh everyone hates the dubs', the dubs aren't the issue, it is the advantages they get taht people have issues with, and furthermore this 'like it or lump it' attitude that goes with it. Surely it is reasonable to attempt to make things fairer and still keep the games in croker? Yet no efforts are made to do so.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/05/2013 10:44:43    1390302

1390295 Well first of jimbo, if you had read what I asked you to, you would see that I suggested the games stay in croke park, but that a large chunk of the excess money created should go to the team who have had to give up the home/neutral venue. Similarly, in the case where dublin are competing a game where a full house is expected, the gaa should make efforts to balance out the crowd at the game via ticket sales management. These are simple things that can be done quite easily. Do you disagree with them?
______

So it's ok for Dublin to have an advantage as long as said teams get more money / tickets from it?

Grand I agree with that.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 10:48:00    1390306

1390302 bryanadams

Exactly right. People go on with this thing about 'oh everyone hates the dubs', the dubs aren't the issue, it is the advantages they get taht people have issues with, and furthermore this 'like it or lump it' attitude that goes with it. Surely it is reasonable to attempt to make things fairer and still keep the games in croker? Yet no efforts are made to do so.

TheMaster what efforts have you made to make things fairer?moaning about it here on hoganstand wont change things.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 24/05/2013 10:49:59    1390308

Kurt_Angle

moomoo

The Dublin hurlers had to play Clare away last year and there was a thread started by Dubs on here complaining about the fact they had to travel

The issue most posters had in relation to this was not the travelling to Clare but the throw in time of 7pm meaning most Dublin fans would be doing well to return to the capital by midnight, which was considered an avoidable inconvenience and precluded bringing kids to the game but why let a reasoned argument get in the way of an agenda?

People from Kerry, Donegal etc have to travel a lot more then Dublin fans ever have to do and they bring kids with them but they dont seem to be too bothered by it do they? Plenty of other counties make long trips to Dublin for games on a Sunday and get home later then midnight and go to work on the Monday. So why was it a problem for Dublin fans to do it on a Saturday?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/05/2013 10:53:22    1390310

1390302 bryanadams

So you have country lads supporting the team playing against Dublin

Based on the fact that Dublin play games in Croke Park and by the way... who are in no way responsible for the scheduling of games in Croke Park....

Think about it....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 10:54:31    1390314

Of course it does have some advantages playing in Croke Park for the players and fans. I have a 15 minute drive and 10 minute walk so the expense isn't there like people from the country with train fare and petrol etc. Personally although I love heading to the fantastic stadium that is Croker I personally used to love going down to O'Moore Park,O'Connor Park, Wexford Park and Navan etc in the 90's for Leinster championshiop games. Brilliant atmospheres going down and in the grounds...I think on the way down to Tullamore(I think) it was the broke down in some small village and a load of us decending on some small shop and pub who thought Christmas had come early those were the times and miss them. I know most non Dubs know its not our fault we get to play in Croker every game but its all down to money and commercialisation.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/05/2013 10:55:02    1390315

But jimbodub, you are getting sucked into a 'look after your own' mentality. Forget it is dublin and think about it objectively. I never said it was dublin's fault that this occured, but it is occuring and so needs to be looked at. Fair enough it might be a bit harder for dublin fans to get tickets, but at the end of the day, the most important thing is the fairness of the match, not the difficulties people encountered for a ticket.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/05/2013 11:05:01    1390324

moomoo

1390310 Kurt_Angle

moomoo

People from Kerry, Donegal etc have to travel a lot more then Dublin fans ever have to do and they bring kids with them but they dont seem to be too bothered by it do they? Plenty of other counties make long trips to Dublin for games on a Sunday and get home later then midnight and go to work on the Monday. So why was it a problem for Dublin fans to do it on a Saturday?
_____

Moomoo.. you are now moving away from your original point.

The above post has nothing to do with your original point.

There wwas a scheduling issue with a throw in time...

I've seen many a country fAn giving out about awkward throw in times... and rightly bloody so in may caees

Nothing new.. why would you take exception for a Dub doing the same?

In no way does that relate to your original point of Dubs giving out about playing games away from Croke Park

Please back that up... I dont see why admin wont post it

Seeing that they posted your last post...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 11:07:38    1390326

1390324 But jimbodub, you are getting sucked into a 'look after your own' mentality
_____

No I'm not.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 11:08:43    1390327

1390324 But jimbodub, you are getting sucked into a 'look after your own' mentality. Forget it is dublin and think about it objectively. I never said it was dublin's fault that this occured, but it is occuring and so needs to be looked at. Fair enough it might be a bit harder for dublin fans to get tickets, but at the end of the day, the most important thing is the fairness of the match, not the difficulties people encountered for a ticket.
______

You've lost me completely.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 11:10:52    1390332

I agree it's an advantage

I agree that other teams that give up home advantage should get extra revenue - if that's possible?

I agree that other teams that give up home advantage should get extra tickets

I agree that it's unfair on country fans that have to pay a lot more to watch their county team play

I agree with the Dublin players that more away games would be more beneficial

Thats my stance on the subject

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 24/05/2013 11:15:46    1390337

Why does the Master think counties currently give up home advantage to play games against Dublin in Croker?

Do you think they're doing it for the craic?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 24/05/2013 11:20:22    1390341