Grimley: Brolly crossed the line

I think Paul Grinley has bigger things to worry about than a rant from Joe Brolly, for what it's worth I thought Paul Grimley did look out of his depth last Sunday, as did most of the Armagh team, energy would be better directed at rescuing Armagh's game plan and confidence that having a pop at a pundit who to be honest I think stated facts but just in that certain style that rubs people the wrong way. GAA men are supposed to hardy thick skinned people and most of my Armagh friends are exactly that, indeed as one Armagh friend said to me only this morning "if Paul Grimley had been so outspoken at half time last Sunday as he was against Brolly then Armagh might still be in the Ulster Championship". Hard to disagree with him there really.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 21/05/2013 19:59:56    1388577

Richieq

1388577 I think Paul Grinley has bigger things to worry about than a rant from Joe Brolly, for what it's worth I thought Paul Grimley did look out of his depth last Sunday, as did most of the Armagh team, energy would be better directed at rescuing Armagh's game plan and confidence that having a pop at a pundit who to be honest I think stated facts but just in that certain style that rubs people the wrong way. GAA men are supposed to hardy thick skinned people and most of my Armagh friends are exactly that, indeed as one Armagh friend said to me only this morning "if Paul Grimley had been so outspoken at half time last Sunday as he was against Brolly then Armagh might still be in the Ulster Championship". Hard to disagree with him there really.

Think theres nothing wrong in Brolly slating the teams tactics ,but getting personal.Saying hes not up to the job how does he know things mightnt change, your armagh friends are understandably annoyed with the defeat.

What would he of said about Gilroy after our defeat to KERRY in 2009, then the following year we let in 5 goals to meath if these matches had of happened recently.
yet at the weekend he held gilroy up as a man who changed Dublins fortunes, which he did and ill be forever grateful , but not straight away.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/05/2013 21:15:05    1388629

When Anthony Tohill was on the Sunday Game he used to give decent impartial analysis. He certainly did not resort to soundbites and used to call things as he saw it. Unfortunately other people in different media outlets did not like his refreshing honesty and he got the chop. He wasn't humorous (that is if you find him funny), entertaining or deliberately controversial like his county man hence he did not fit the RTE mould who as I said earlier want the three grumpy old men scene.

I was the one that said he was a poor man's Dunphy. To clarify that, I meant that it is unoriginal. He is merely copying his style. However, that is what RTE wants hence I don't blame him. I have no choice but to watch if I want to watch the GAA championships on TV. I agree with whoever said that the Giles/Dunphy show is stale, outrageous and hackneyed.

Interesting that Brolly writes an article about how Irish people drule over the premiership. His own 'style' of journalism is low-browed, tabloidesque, scandal creating drivel-quintessentially British. He would fit right in as a soccer analyst. Watching British soccer is not such a terrible pursuit anyway. Maybe if he watched more of it, he would see a few analysts who can be entertaining, funny on occasion without resorting to insults.

Ultimately, RTE are the problem.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/05/2013 21:24:26    1388637

Lads cut out the self righteous crap. If Brolly was taken off RTÉ he'd be well and truely missed. Anyone who has a problem should turn over to the radio for a half time anylasis if it bothers them that much.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 21/05/2013 21:36:38    1388650

I disagree bunny. Brolly is an intelligent, well educated fella who is nobody's fool and I don't believe he deliberately plays to any particular audience or takes order from any media management within RTE. He is flamboyant with the confidence and self assurance of a court room barrister and shoots from the hip without, as many legal people can do, recourse to other opinions and he can be a bit dismissive of other views subsequently. I think he forgets sometimes that he is on a massive public forum and what he says about individuals goes into 10's of 1000's of households every week The people he singles out for sometimes personal attack who play have to go into their work and studies the next day on the back of what he has said about them and no wonder some of them get annoyed and a bit p*ssed off. I am sure Joe gets financially rewarded by RTE, Gaelic Life, Irish Daily Mail for what he says and writes; MOST of those he writes about don't have the same platform and as Ath Cliath said this could be his downfall as most of us don't like unfairness and easy targets. Wise up a bit Joe!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 21/05/2013 21:42:57    1388657

Culann

Lads cut out the self righteous crap. If Brolly was taken off RTÉ he'd be well and truely missed. Anyone who has a problem should turn over to the radio for a half time anylasis if it bothers them that much.

He would be missed by you because you like him or enjoy his contributions. However the Sunday Game would go on (as it did in the pre Brolly era) perfectly well without him. Nothing self righteous about criticizing him. This is a forum and we are entitled to an opinion even if it is different to your's.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/05/2013 21:47:19    1388660

It appears a fairly modern thing that when teams loose now that managers start blaming journalists and the sunday game.Maybe joe Brolly was a wee bit over the top but it is very hard to argue with anything he said.Instead of people talking about a very bad performance by his team Paul Grimley now has everyone discussing the Sunday game and Joe Brolly.Give me straight talkers like Spilland and Brolly anyday over wishy washy sitting on the fence analysts who are afraid to critisize anybody..God its great to have it back:)

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 21/05/2013 21:47:36    1388661

By the same token what culann says is probably too as well. Brolly may go OTT as times but he is still the best analyst RTE have and they and most of us know that too. I am warming to Splliane who has been a bit fairer this past while and more thoughtful on what he says but Colm O'Rourke?? Does he ever actually have an opinion. He reminds me of Alan Hansen, he moves his mouth a lot without actually saying anything of interest or relevance.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 21/05/2013 21:51:10    1388665

Culann

1388650 Lads cut out the self righteous crap. If Brolly was taken off RTÉ he'd be well and truely missed. Anyone who has a problem should turn over to the radio for a half time anylasis if it bothers them that much.

And anyone who has a problem with self righteous crappers don't have to post on this thread either. It it bothers them too much they can log off.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 21/05/2013 21:52:26    1388666

bennybunny

He would be missed by you because you like him or enjoy his contributions. However the Sunday Game would go on (as it did in the pre Brolly era) perfectly well without him. Nothing self righteous about criticizing him. This is a forum and we are entitled to an opinion even if it is different to your's.

Tá a fhios agam a Bhenny, but come on I think there are people out there that are giving off crap about him but wouldn't miss a second of his air time. Caithfidh daoine é a thógail go réidh! Too many people here out raged. What he says is usually accurate its just the way he says it, but get over it.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 21/05/2013 21:53:00    1388669

juniorbsub
County: Wexford

1388661 It appears a fairly modern thing that when teams loose now that managers start blaming journalists and the sunday game.Maybe joe Brolly was a wee bit over the top but it is very hard to argue with anything he said.Instead of people talking about a very bad performance by his team Paul Grimley now has everyone discussing the Sunday game and Joe Brolly.Give me straight talkers like Spilland and Brolly anyday over wishy washy sitting on the fence analysts who are afraid to critisize anybody..God its great to have it back:)

I agree with 100% with that. Grimley and Horan in particular should grow a bit of skin.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 21/05/2013 21:56:27    1388674

It doesn't bother me sedico.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 21/05/2013 21:57:59    1388677

Whatever about this particular incident, one thing that needs to change is the "sure aren't they only amateurs, they don't deserve criticism" attitude. Inter-County players and management get massive credit for what they do. Lads who work hard enough to make it to the top get well praised and rightly so. But if you get the plaudits surely you have to take the criticism too. It can't be a one-way street.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 21/05/2013 22:03:34    1388685

Grimley admitted Armaghs bad performance was his fault.

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 22/05/2013 08:08:10    1388686

Brolly may have been a bit too personal in respect of grimley and he also has a very cl.ear agenda with regards to who he thinks should be charge of Armagh.

Nevertheless he wasnt fair wrong in his analysis - grimley was naive in how he set up the team and then refusing to make the changes which he acknowledges himself would have made a difference. That sort of head-in-sand approach will not do anything to help our county rebuild.

In my view, even if we got a couple of games in the back door this will do nothing but paper over the problem. Grimley was a great number 2 to Joe Kernan and should be thanked by allA Armagh fans for the part he played in bringing us an All Ireland but I believe he will be no different to Paddy O'Rourke - a transition manager.

The problem is that this will be impacting on the young llads comin through our county set up and could set us back even more.

crossranger (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 22/05/2013 08:20:26    1388690

Grimley hit back well. other than that, I think that managers have take flack, if they are willing to get paid, then they should b willing to take some comments.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 22/05/2013 08:36:01    1388695

But they are amateurs and as a result it is their human right to be treated with respect, especially from paid professionals. There is a dangerous and erronious misconception that Inter-county players and managers are "fair game" they are not we don't "own" these people at all. These people deserve some respect, by all means critisize a manager, his tactical failures etc etc but by making throw away comments about his brothers in the middle, is not only an attack on the manager but on the players themselves. What is his point exactly? that the brothers are there only because he is coaching? then say it come out and be bold and say it.

But perching his specs on the end of his nose and tilting his head back while he says whatever he says just makes him look and sound ridiculous.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 22/05/2013 08:39:55    1388696

Brolly is totally out of order. His comment 'Grimley is a bad manager' after one championship game is a bit ridiculous. Fair enough if the man was given a couple years to build a team and still hadn't learned from his mistakes youd be questioning him but RTE just totally and pointlessly over-analysed what was a mediocre game between 2 mediocre teams. Basically because the entertainment value is low on the field they feel the need to make up for it in the studio.

Do RTE pundits not realise that there has to be a loser in every game? In their eyes whatever team loses are the worst in the world and may aswell pack it in.

robopaddy (Waterford) - Posts: 81 - 22/05/2013 10:54:18    1388768

The problem with "freedom of speech" is that these pundits think they can say anything about footballers / managers.
It is obvious Brolly got personal with grimley and RTE should rein him in which likely wont happen.

To be honest I think the Spillane/Brolly thing has gone a bit stale and I would not mind seeing the back of both of them.

I know it is in irish but I find Seo Spoirt as an entertaining advertisement of GAA punditry with Dara O Cinneide and Sean Ban being great entertainment

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/05/2013 11:01:01    1388774

robopaddy
County: Waterford

1388768 Brolly is totally out of order. His comment 'Grimley is a bad manager' after one championship game is a bit ridiculous.

I'd imagine Brolly is basing his judgement on research and on how they lined out and performed during the league. He said before the ball was even thrown in that Grimley was a bad manager. So far, it appears he has been spot on. He is not tfraid to make an early call and stick with it. Fair play to him. Boring pundetry is when the pundits tell you how good a team is after they have won something. Brolly tells you how things are before they become obvious to everyone.

Last year he talked about Maigh Eo's off the ball fouling, he called Maigh Eo's win last week, he called Grimley correcting (he mightened have used the right language in making his point), he is rightly telling the Dubs they are not the finished article yet. He wardned us ion 2011 of Dún na nGall's ultra defensive system. This is going against the grane to what other nylists/pundets are predicting or its adding something we did not already know. He is proven right more often than not. Joe is the best GAA pundet about bar none.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 22/05/2013 11:04:41    1388777