I've been saying this for quite a while and it's time Joe took some of the points on board. He is far too personal in his criticism of players, teams and management and at times he comes across as the oul street gossip just loving his role in stirring it up and ripping people apart. These players and managers are not in the courtroom and shouldn't be subjected to forensic cross examination as if society's reputation depended on it. I don't know if Brolly has any history with Paul Grimley or his brothers but it's obvious Grimley was annoyed and a bit hurt at Brolly destroying his reputation live on the TV. I mean Paul Grimley has a decent history in football and it also has to be said that ALL of the Armagh players on Sunday wouldn't have laced Joe Kernan and Paul Grimley's previous Armagh sides; they were rubbish and that was mostly the players fault. Brolly should catch himself on and stop playing the drama queen to the gallery; he should look at the hurling pundits who can be cutting and critical without being personal. Brolly is doing great work in his organ donation scheme and deserves the plaudits but it's no good doing this then becoming Mr Nasty and bringing distress and hurt to people who have feelings as well. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 21/05/2013 15:30:37 1388308 Link 0 |
He seems to annoy different people at different times of the year and is quite adept at calling a spade a spade. As he said on Sunday night, why tip toe around something that probably should be said or will be said at a later date. Now I appreciate that if you keeping talking enough dirt then some of it is bound to come true but I think that he gets more calls right than wrong. DL17 (Donegal) - Posts: 86 - 21/05/2013 15:44:10 1388325 Link 0 |
jimbodub sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 21/05/2013 15:44:43 1388327 Link 0 |
Grimley done himself no favours at the weekend. Tactically Armagh were not up to county standard at the weekend. If that is the best he has to offer then maybe he should do his county a favour and walk away from the management set up. If O'Rourke was still managing Armagh and they produced a similar performance they would be calling for his head. MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 21/05/2013 15:54:49 1388344 Link 0 |
sedico jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/05/2013 15:57:38 1388349 Link 0 |
I agree ulsterman. The thing was his actual analysis of the grimley-armagh debacle was correct. It started out as an astute point, probably the most astute and well reasoned point of the entire show, he totally nailed it, but he then ruined it with what came after, and now we have all forgotten about the actual point. That is the worst thing in my book, in there somewhere is considerable ability, and he could be so much better. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2013 16:03:09 1388355 Link 0 |
That "awful tune" is my ringtone! I love it, Iv actually missed calls because I dont like to answer too quick n cut it off! white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 21/05/2013 16:07:17 1388361 Link 0 |
But sure ye won't be as fit as the soccer season is finished. sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 21/05/2013 16:09:51 1388366 Link 0 |
Jaysus Mourne Army hasnt the same been said of James for last while? Wait until Celtic Park match is over first and forget about the appleheads Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 21/05/2013 16:19:02 1388376 Link 0 |
What Brolly says is normally right. He knows his football inside out. There is no denying that. His problem is the way he expresses his opinions. It annoys some people. When its not directed at your own team it can be very funny. I'd say RTÉ ar delighted. The first big weekend of the Championship and everyone is talking about their coverage. He's priceless to them and as I said above he knows his football. Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 21/05/2013 16:20:33 1388379 Link 0 |
sedico Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 21/05/2013 16:24:47 1388385 Link 0 |
Like most I feel Grimley is right. Brolly went a bit too far. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 21/05/2013 16:27:59 1388390 Link 0 |
sedico jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/05/2013 16:32:36 1388404 Link 0 |
@Bennybunny: Fair play; that's a keen, and I think fairly accurate, observation vis a vis RTE's sports commentary formula. I think it also indicates the complete lack of understanding RTE have of the Gaelic games. There is a fundamental difference between soccer and rugby versus football and hurling. Two of those sports are professional, with all involved on very comfortable salaries and whose entire daily routine is focused on their job. Obviously the Gaelic games are not, with all involved having to balance their duties to the sport, their families and their day job. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 21/05/2013 16:44:31 1388416 Link 0 |
Think Grimley shouldn't get into a slanging match with brolly. Keep quiet and use it to push yourself on. For me Grimley and a number of Armagh players have been a little 'media-friendly' over the last while... Didn't see any Cavan men getting a newspaper spread last week!! Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 21/05/2013 17:13:50 1388453 Link 0 |
There is a nasty streak in Brolly and his comments on Paul Grimley were out of order as was his description of the Armagh midfield as 'the brothers Grimley'. It'd be good enough for RTE if Grimley adopted the same policy as Mickey Harte does towards them. Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 21/05/2013 17:18:22 1388458 Link 0 |
Give me factual, informed analysis over sensationalism anyday. The problem with Brolly (and i am surprised he hasn't cottoned on to this himself) is that he is becoming boring. Now if O'Rourke went on a rant the way Joe did on Sunday, that would be interesting because it would be different. But because Brolly does it all the time it is no longer interesting. It is as if he has built this personae and he must stick with it. I think the three of them should be retired and new more-informed analysts brought in. in recent years I have seen the likes of Sean Cavanagh, Cian Ward, Dick Clerkin provide very good analysis. Personaly I didn't like Joe's analysis on Sunday. I too watched the tape like Paul Grimley and after coming back from Brefini all happy and delighted that Cavan played so well only to be informed that it was because Armagh were rubbish and they had a clueless manager who should be sacked and the 2 mcentees brought in. someone else suggested that the crossmaglen team should play instead of Armagh. also apparently Mayo were not very good either it was Galway who had players who were not interested in football. This is Lazy analysis. Can they not accept that sometimes one team is better than the other on the day. s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 21/05/2013 17:26:41 1388465 Link 0 |
Brolly's attack on Grimley was personal, nasty and vindictive. It really reflects the lack of respect that exists in the GAA these days. Teams should have nothing to do with RTE if they want to promote these personal attacks as 'analysis'. bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 21/05/2013 17:46:38 1388483 Link 0 |
I said on another thread that id rather listen to Brolly if nothing else to see what he says to wind people up (usually spillane and o rourke)and Sunday game generally without him is the poorer for it. Having said that he could easily become a victim of his own down fall and why people tune in could easily turn into why people will start to tune out ,its alright having a pop at lads sitting beside him but getting personal with lads who are giving everything for their county at an amateur sport and maybe not getting it right at the moment in out of order, I think RTE know when your starting to go over that line , id say in their eyes Brolly is very close and in an amatuer sport if the ordinary joe soap start complaining about him in numbers ,he will be in trouble. AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/05/2013 17:49:49 1388487 Link 0 |
s goldrick Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 21/05/2013 17:50:52 1388489 Link 0 |