Galway v Mayo

Exactly clondalkindub. This a galway's best chance for a long time to beat mayo and they are well in it. Not too many galway lads will admit it though, all you will get off them boys is the poor mouth story.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/05/2013 19:05:41    1385926

7/05/2013 17:25:58

Galway with home advantage and Mayo missing some of there best players gives Galway a big chance in this one IMO. Galway lads what numbers from the 21 team are involved or on the bench? Hopefully 13 from the Galway 21 team plays class act that kid. Best of luck to both teams it should be a great game.

Two starting and Shane Walsh on the bench that's it. Most of the Galway U-21s are underage again next year and i think it's right to hold them back.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4043 - 17/05/2013 19:27:35    1385940

The Master you never know with Galway but considering Dillon , Conroy and two Moran's missing Galway surely have a good chance. Mayo with there best team have a really good shot at winning Sam this year. I know Dillon and Moran are subs but I doubt they'll play any part and if they do how fit will they be? Walsh the 13 for Galway U 21's is a great player looking forward to seeing him at some stage Sunday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/05/2013 19:43:25    1385950

Don't know how fit Dillon and Moran are either but with Michael Conroy, Jason Doherty, Evan Regan, Brian Gallagher and Cathal Freeman all injured in the forwards and with Aidan O'Shea having to go back to midfield from centre forward where he has played most of the year in place of the injured Barry Moran, we don't have much choice but to name them if they are even half fit.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 17/05/2013 19:59:29    1385959

Doherty out aswell ah jaysus, he really impressed me during the league another big loss to Mayo. Galway you'll never have a better chance.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/05/2013 20:13:12    1385971

17/05/2013 17:10:19

Honestly think the back door could be the making of Mayo in 2013

The best route for Mayo as always is the front door. On Sunday Mayo play inexperienced Galway side that are still finding their feet at senior level then to reach the last eight all they have to do is beat two div 3 teams in Roscommon,Sligo.

Back door route will have the likes Kildare or Tyrone two sides from div 1 both have already beaten Mayo this year and if they face them again this summer i would fancy both to beat Mayo again.

The fact is Mayo are going for three in row Connacht title for the first time since the early 50s they will never get a better chance to do it!

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3609 - 17/05/2013 20:24:38    1385975

Chris Barret out as well , thought he acquitted himself very well throughout the league at corner back , I think both teams season hinges a lot on this match , I can't see the loser of this match having a long championship run while the winner of this match is odds on to win Connacht and reach the last 8 in my view

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 17/05/2013 20:49:57    1385994

great game to start the championship off in my view

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 17/05/2013 20:51:37    1385995

Will have to find pub (in West London) with RTE on sunday and try and take in match whilst being deafened by Premier league football on most of the other screens. Thank God the Championship is back and Galway is the 4 o clock match. Summer must be around the corner....at last. Posts seem to suggest young Galway team playing weakened Mayo team. Maybe we can make home advantage count and win a close game.

CocknyTribesman (UK) - Posts: 194 - 17/05/2013 20:57:56    1386003

Alot of people would also have expected Tom cunnife to start at 6 but he too is only coming back from injury, named as sub though. That's 2 backs out, 1 midfield and 4 forwards - that's 7 from starting 15 plus 3 or 4 subs. Missing nearly half our team. Galway have home advantage and are really going overboard on being underdogs. They are also after winning u21 for second time in 3 years. Mayo have it all to do next Sunday.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 17/05/2013 21:34:51    1386019

Michael Meehan will win this for Galway on his own. Must have a pain in his back from carrying this team

Ciarrai91 (Kerry) - Posts: 3 - 18/05/2013 12:38:27    1386110

Mayo will pull away with 10 or 15 minutes to go.If Galway get a start like Donegal last year or Dublin this year Mayo will have to chase the game but I reckon they have enough.
Mayo by 7

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 18/05/2013 13:17:00    1386121

Michael Meehan will win this for Galway on his own. Must have a pain in his back from carrying this team

He's barely played at all the past 2 years. This year's league is the first time he's played a few games in a row since his two serious injuries.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2383 - 18/05/2013 16:52:26    1386257

I fancy Galway to win tomorrow,lose to Roscommon in the final,beat Dublin or Kerry in the qualifiers,then get knocked out by Carlow or Fermanagh or someone like that.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 18/05/2013 19:49:41    1386338

If Dillion starts like it's rumoured Mayo will start with 12 of the All Ireland final team tomorrow. If Mayo lose it will be major setback for such high hopes!

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3609 - 18/05/2013 20:24:32    1386349

Galway for me to shade this

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/05/2013 10:54:16    1386432

The big day is finally here lads have a good one, be interesting to see how Mayo do without some of there star players and how Galway do cause you never know with Galway. Enjoy ,it's great that this special thing of ours is back again for the Summer can't wait

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/05/2013 11:01:56    1386436

If Mayo are serious about been contenders for sam in september they should beat us by at least 4-6 points today.
Nobody in Galway is expecting a Galway win and if there is they are simply deluded!!
If we stay competitive I will be Happy with that and then hopefully a run in the qualifiers would be progress this year.

Supermacs88 (Galway) - Posts: 248 - 19/05/2013 11:12:57    1386439

Supermacs88

If Mayo are serious about been contenders for sam in september they should beat us by at least 4-6 points today.
Nobody in Galway is expecting a Galway win and if there is they are simply deluded!!
If we stay competitive I will be Happy with that and then hopefully a run in the qualifiers would be progress this year.

I dont know what part of Galway you are in, but everyone I have been speaking to, including Ex Galway Intercounty players are expecting a big win for Galway.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 19/05/2013 11:21:04    1386445

I feel Galway by Two, Michael Meehan to be the difference today. Mayo will have to do the hard way in the qualifiers. What a game Mayo V Donegal in Rd 1 will be?

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 19/05/2013 12:33:29    1386468