Galway v Mayo

You caught us festinog. We left them out to give the galway folk a bit of hope. Poor oul divils, its not often they get a championship match where they actually think they could get a result. We were actually going to play with 13 first, but we thought that might be a bit too obvious.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/05/2013 10:28:07    1384943

@killer_88 and xxx

It's as simple as this, if Moran isn't fit enough to start he shouldn't be on the bench. I assume if Horan accepts he's not fit enough to start he won't throw him into the heat of a local derby battle, with the game on a knife-edge after 50/55 minutes. Ipso facto, it seems to me one of two situations is developing:

1) Horan's pulling a fast one, Moran and Dillon are both fine and both will start.
2) Moran and Dillon are not fully fit, but Horan is hoping for Mayo to be home and dry after 40/45 minutes presenting him with the ideal scenario in which to reintroduce two of his big guns to championship action and get game-time under their belts in a game - which he hopes - will have lost a bit of its competitive edge. Here is where I see the arrogance I was referring to.

joesph (None) - Posts: 62 - 16/05/2013 10:40:03    1384954

joesph - So no player should start on a bench if not 100% fit? It happens in every team sport. Andy lacks match fitness for example and probably won't last a full game so better to keep him on a bench and spring if needed.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 16/05/2013 10:45:19    1384957

joesph, maybe they just dont have the full match in them yet? Being fit to play and being match fit are two different things... I remember a certain michael meehan coming on against mayo a few years back. were they pulling a fast one there also?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/05/2013 11:06:37    1384977

I actually take it as a compliment that Mayo are willing to risk Moran and Dillon, either from the bench or to start. Just shows that maybe we have the Green and Red a bit worried????

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 16/05/2013 11:22:23    1384988

Just to clarify, Mayo will win this pulling up.Don't have a clue why people think different.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/05/2013 11:28:53    1384990

yew_tree - I can understand why a player not 100% fit would start on the bench for a league game or even some championship games. But I just can't see if Mayo are worried about Moran why they think he'd be able to come off the bench and make a difference in whats apparently one of the games biggest derbies. Look, maybe I'm talking nonsense altogether, it's just my opinion.

TheMaster - Yeah, Galway probably were pulling a fast one when MM came off the bench a few years ago.

At the end of the day, if the teams are level pegging with 10 minutes to go and Andy Moran is sprung from the bench and wins it for Mayo I'll hold my hands up and admit I was wrong. He'll be some man to do it after 9 months without a game. I reckon Dillon starts from the outset and Moran gets game-time if Mayo have the game wrapped up with 15 or 20 minutes left (which, unfortunately, isn't beyond the bounds of possibility). In hindsight, I suppose it is unlikely that Moran will start on Sunday.

Hard to bate the banter of Mayo Galway championship week!

joesph (None) - Posts: 62 - 16/05/2013 12:20:26    1385037

There would have to be serious questions asked about Andy Morans match fitness though? Championship football is unforgiving at the best of times, never mind coming in after a 9 month layoff.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1687 - 16/05/2013 12:34:31    1385043

We will see Sunday I suppose. Its very hard to predict what will happen first day out in championship. I am putting a few pound on the draw at 7/1

One thing is for sure Mayo and Galway folk always have banter and can get along before and most important after the game - all good spirits.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 16/05/2013 13:08:45    1385076

That is true ahsure, but the reality is if the guy wasnt a genuine option then he wouldnt be taking up a place in the squad. He must have some amount of fitness, maybe for 15 mins or so, he wouldnt be there otherwise, i.e. like doherty or b moran.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/05/2013 13:45:52    1385110

@TheMaster: fair play to ye, let it never be said that Mayo men aren't great sportsmen in every sense. But to be honest I knew ye were trying to give us a chance when I saw that ye're best player by a country mile, not to mention one of the few Mayo people who actually owns a few medals, Cora Staunton, wasn't named to the team.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 16/05/2013 16:21:37    1385233

I have noticed you always keep an eye out for her festinog. Something tells me she will be washing her hair sunday night.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/05/2013 16:31:59    1385247

joesph

@killer_88 and xxx

It's as simple as this, if Moran isn't fit enough to start he shouldn't be on the bench.

---------------------------------------------------------------

It's not that simple at all. Moran could well have gotten himself to a certain point of fitness i.e. able for a half maybe. In normal circumstances a player only half fit probably wouldn't even be on the bench. However Moran is our talisman, therefore if he's fit enough to play some role, of course he's worth his place on the bench.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 16/05/2013 17:00:53    1385268

I think the Andy Moran situation is pretty straight forward if you've read his or James Horan's comments of late. He is fully fit and taking a full part in training. He's probably got a good base layer of fitness and strength work done because of the extensive rehab programme so I doubthe's lacking there.

The reason he's not in the team is because he hasn't earned it. Look at the comments both himself and Horan made. Moran hasn't played enough league and challenge matches to prove he's in good enough form. He talks about other fellas having an 8 match head start on him and trying to put pressure on Horan to pick him by training well. Horan doesn't pick guys on reputation. Ask Conor Mortimer.

Having said all that it won't shock me if one or both of Dillon and Moran do start on Sunday.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 16/05/2013 17:35:11    1385299

Without sounding soft in the head, you cannot deny the mighty craic that comes with a Mayo/Galway clash.

Both sets are cut from the same cloth .

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/05/2013 17:45:52    1385303

roundball, he might be fully fit but if you're playing at the highest level, you can't just walk into a championship team without match practice. You can do all the training you want but if you haven't played any matches at high intensity in nine months previous then you won't be any good for championship football. Moran will struggle if he starts, he will be phased in.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1687 - 16/05/2013 17:50:36    1385307

16/05/2013 17:45:52
51longago

Without sounding soft in the head, you cannot deny the mighty craic that comes with a Mayo/Galway clash.

Both sets are cut from the same cloth .

You are soft in the head and some craic! If a cut from the same cloth then why in all levels have Galway won most of their All Ireland finals and Mayo have lost most of theirs?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3609 - 16/05/2013 18:13:20    1385328

@51longago: "Both sets are cut from the same cloth."

That's the best put-down of a Gawlay man I've ever read. Genius sir, and well played!

(Dream on Mayo, dream on!)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 16/05/2013 18:16:34    1385331

roundball
County: Tipperary

I think the Andy Moran situation is pretty straight forward if you've read his or James Horan's comments of late. He is fully fit and taking a full part in training.
---------------------------------

With all due respect there's a huge difference between being fully fit/taking full part in training and being fully match fit and ready for a full championship match.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 16/05/2013 18:28:58    1385342

16/05/2013 18:28:58
killer_88_

roundball
County: Tipperary

I think the Andy Moran situation is pretty straight forward if you've read his or James Horan's comments of late. He is fully fit and taking a full part in training.
---------------------------------

With all due respect there's a huge difference between being fully fit/taking full part in training and being fully match fit and ready for a full championship match.

-----------------------------

True and Andy Moran hasn't be able line out for his club this year. He's not named at the moment but i'd say Barry Moran will be on the bench on Sunday and fully fit for the next game.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4043 - 16/05/2013 18:34:44    1385348