Galway v Mayo

The Likes of Freeman,Varley,Conroy,Doherty are all similar forwards, none of whom would overwork the scoreboard. Barry Moran out is a blow for Mayo he's their best midfielder IMO but in the two O'Sheas it's a good midfield that have played together before. Galway are without Hanley their best defender a big blow for them young lads with little championship football are expected to fill in. Will be interesting to see can Fiontan O Curraoin step up to senior championship level he has the makings of Kevin Walsh in him. Looking at the forward lines in both teams it's hard to see a high scoring game and one goal could make all the difference. Mayo able to bring on Moran,Dillion could shade it.

I'll go for Galway 0-11 Mayo 1-10

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4043 - 15/05/2013 18:59:19    1384739

RoyalClass

Look its hard to take that kind of guff from a supporter of one of the weaker counties.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 15/05/2013 19:03:18    1384741

well i see 8 of the galway under 21 all ireland winning team from 2011 playing sunday
this is there chance to make a name for themselves
they have to step up

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 15/05/2013 19:18:52    1384746

Mayo have two major weaknesses I think. They struggle against very defensive formations when they are forced to take the game to their opponent. They also struggle when decent direct ball is played in on their full back line. Neither of these things are strengths of Galway's. Mayo to win by 4.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/05/2013 19:21:08    1384747

Ah here, that kind of belittling is just mean. I completely understand though. I should know better than to question the ability of the elite. If only our trophy cabinet was as well decorated as yours. Jaysus all those JJ Nestors, how many is it now? And whats the story with Sam, did he fall into the bog or what?

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 15/05/2013 19:27:58    1384751

Right, so the other Galway-related topic on the main forum has descended into a Meath v Kildare slagging match, and now this one has all the makings of a Mayo v Meath contest.. Yawn.. Back to topic, and I'm much more confident than I would have been a month ago, would have liked to see Walsh starting but we'll probably see him early in the second half. Still expect Mayo to have that little bit more quality, enough to shade it, but we live in hope...

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 512 - 15/05/2013 19:35:44    1384753

I fully believe one or both of Andy Moran and Alan Dillon will start on Sunday. Can't see Horan leaving two of his stalwarts on the bench for this one - if he does then I think you can take that as a sign of arrogance from Mayo. I reckon Galway's forwards can do damage on Sunday with Cummins, Meehan and Conroy all well capable of putting up big scores. Mayo's defence is there to be got at in my opinion and Cafferkey v MM should be an interesting battle if they end up marking one another, and I'd love to see Cummins taking on Keith Higgins for a period in the game too. I presume there's every chance Tom Flynn will be operating as a 3rd midfielder, with probably Armstrong coming out into the half forward line. If Galway get out of the blocks early, get the confidence going and get the crowd behind them I reckon it'll be there for them.

Hopefully it'll be a cracker anyway and the anti-Connacht rubbish that's out there can be put to bed for the summer. Would love to see two or three Connacht sides in the All Ireland QF's come August.

Galway by 2 and the Mayo folk to revert to their boxes for another while!

joesph (None) - Posts: 62 - 15/05/2013 19:41:49    1384758

Mayo and Galway both have 44 Connacht titles each. I believe the question was asked

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 15/05/2013 20:12:44    1384769

mayo win look Sunday all you but

kevinrooney (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 15/05/2013 20:14:56    1384773

Royalass...now wonder we're having difficulty interpreting the tone of your posts...it's the mood swings. apologetic, conciliatory and almost human in one post and an hour later, boorish, ignorant, puerile and reverting to type.

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 15/05/2013 20:15:21    1384774

mayo win look Sunday all you but ....
Translate please

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 15/05/2013 20:21:26    1384776

Where is all this Galway confidence coming from? There is a stark difference in quality and physicality between a talented under 21 team and a team of seasoned veterans who have been in 2 major finals in the past 18 months. I accept that Galway may well rule supreme in a few years, but there has been nothing to suggest that they will be pulling off any sort of shock next Sunday. If it weren't for the advantage of the game was being played in Salthill, I think this game would over as a contest before the ball is thrown in on Sunday. I would love to see Galway getting a good run in the qualifiers because realistically that's where their true aspirations lay for 2013. If Galway make it to a Q/F they will have over achieved.

campbelltommy (Mayo) - Posts: 103 - 15/05/2013 20:25:36    1384778

I think a Draw in this one is a good shout. Can see the Connacht Council rubbing their hands if there is a few points in it with a few minutes left.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 15/05/2013 20:39:41    1384788

@campbelltommy

Galway's confidence is coming from - as you say - home advantage, together with a weakened Mayo team and certain air of arrogance emanating from last years beaten All Ireland finalists. Horan's team selection smacks of Mayo feeling they've bigger fish to fry later in the Summer and definitely seem to be looking past next Sunday. Obviously the U21 All Ireland win has been a big fillip around the county too.

Galway have also been going reasonably well in challenge games in the last number of weeks, against teams genuinely feeling they've a shot at Sam next September (as Mayo do I'm sure), and this has probably contributed to increased confidence levels after a stop start league campaign.

For what it's worth, Galway as a 7/4 shot in the bookies looks about right to me - Mayo are favorites but it'll be far from a shock if they're looking at the qualifier route themselves come half 5 Sunday evening.

joesph (None) - Posts: 62 - 15/05/2013 20:42:31    1384790

joesph
Can't see Horan leaving two of his stalwarts on the bench for this one - if he does then I think you can take that as a sign of arrogance from Mayo.

How exactly is leaving 2 players who aren't fully fit on the bench "arrogant"?

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 15/05/2013 21:05:09    1384806

So Joseph you think it is arrogance not playing a man that has not played football since last July, no club games no A V B games.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 15/05/2013 21:13:18    1384811

I'm hearing Alan Dillon to start instead of Coen.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4043 - 15/05/2013 21:13:34    1384812

@Campelltommy: truth is the feeling in Galway is that if this team can put in a decent performance againt a strong Mayo side, then we'll be happy. Very few Galway fans are actually expecting a win (hoping for, and expecting are two very different things).

Mayo win by 5+ points is on the cards.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 15/05/2013 21:16:17    1384815

Totally agree Joeseph. And the arguement that they shouldn't play because they haven't had match practise makes absolutely no sense. Surely if they're match fit then their lack of match experience is all the more reason to get them involved? Bizare logic...

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3148 - 15/05/2013 21:23:52    1384822

The rossie is hearing...lol...hear this , yer useless.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/05/2013 21:27:18    1384826