Galway v Mayo

looking forward to this,cant see anything but a mayo win by 5-6 pts.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 14/05/2013 21:46:36    1384196

FSTERING I'm surprized you're even wasting your breath talking to us Gaaaalwwaaaaaaay lads; we're hardy worth the effort.
Such modesty...and so much to be modest about.

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 14/05/2013 21:51:10    1384198

Ah Galway vs Mayo. A great occasion every time it's played. Half the population of Mayo travelling down in trailers and starlets, hope in their hearts and muck on their shoes. The eldest woman charged with bringing the mountainload of ham sandwiches made since thursday and 14 flasks of tea. The other half of Mayo's population (already living in Galway), rush to greet them as they come. Alas the initial greet and excitement is replaced with embarrassment by the emigrated folk, looking at the cut and carry on of their new arrivals. ''Will you cop on Mickey, your not in Ballinrobe now" and "clean your boots for gods sakes" are the shouts regularly heard. The braver and younger of the bunch will come for the drinking session the night before. They don't get in anywhere, naturally, but they enjoy their time all the same, frequenting 'their own' chipper Supermacs (even though its actually from Galway), and belting out Sawdoctors songs (even though they're actually from Galway). Pop along by the corrib on Sunday morning and see throngs of people in green and red stauton intersport jerseys, staring wide eyed and in wonder up at the big cathedral. The match is the highlight of course, with the Mayo gang arriving at half 11 for the 2.30 throw in. They blow their horns they got in the trip to Dublin in 1997, and laugh themselves silly at the guy dressed as a 'green and red st.Patrick', despite seeing him at every game since 1992. Even a bad result can't damper their spirits, the bolder of the bunch again heading to the pub after (and being refused again, naturally). The more experienced head on the long road back home, maybe even stopping off for a pint in tommies, the local, to discuss the grand old adventure. 'Could be a long time before we're back there again shure'

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 14/05/2013 22:01:27    1384209

jafallon making Galway sound like New York and Mayo fans like Ferris Bueller - ha ha

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 15/05/2013 10:51:25    1384296

Poor aul ja fallon feels.inferior to the mighty character of Mayo people. Tis ok buckeen , we get it a lot , we are a unique bunch , our natural charisma is second to none.

Up Mayo

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/05/2013 11:27:12    1384322

A unique bunch??? That's one thing we could call ye all right!!!!!

Well here's the 15 boys that starting for us on Sunday.......

Galway (Connacht SFC v Mayo) - Manus Breathnach; Johnny Duane, Colin Forde, Gary Sweeney; Gareth Bradshaw (captain), Keith Kelly, Gary Sice; Niall Coleman, Fiontan O Curraoin; Thomas Flynn, Paul Conroy, Conor Doherty; Sean Armstrong, Michael Meehan, Danny Cummins.

Decent blend of youth and experience.....I am genuinely excited at our prospects now.....Just make sure Nestor is in a good state for us!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 15/05/2013 11:31:43    1384327

Galway team named. Conroy at cf jumps out at me as a key battle. The loss of hanley is a blow.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/05/2013 11:31:56    1384329

Mayo people coming to Galway will make a massive cultural difference in comparison to the usual crusty population that inhabits Galway City.

On a side note, an ex Galway intercounty player told told me last night that there is hugh expectation for Galway to give Mayo a hammering.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 15/05/2013 12:03:07    1384345

Mayo team for Sunday will Line out as follows:

Clarke,
Keane, Cafferkey, Higgins,
Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle,
A.O'Shea, S.O'Shea,
McLoughlin, O'Connor, Carolan,
Varley, Freeman, Coen.

Subs: K.O'Malley, T.Cunniffe, A.Dillon, S.McHale, M.Walsh, J.Burke, J.Gibbons, R.Feeney, A.Murphy, A.Moran, C.O'Shea

We have two championship first timers in Cathal Carolan from Crossmolina and Darren Coen from Hollymount. No sign of Barry Moran in the panel which must confirm his injury.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 15/05/2013 15:30:35    1384535

Dillon and Moran on the bench??? Are Mayo panicing naming unfit men on the sideline???

Also is that Alan Murphy on the bench???

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 15/05/2013 15:35:01    1384537

I can add Chris barrett and Jason Doherty as not been in the panel either so both must also be injured

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 15/05/2013 15:36:32    1384538

15/05/2013 15:30:35
yew_tree

Mayo team for Sunday will Line out as follows:

Clarke,
Keane, Cafferkey, Higgins,
Keegan, Vaughan, Boyle,
A.O'Shea, S.O'Shea,
McLoughlin, O'Connor, Carolan,
Varley, Freeman, Coen.

Subs: K.O'Malley, T.Cunniffe, A.Dillon, S.McHale, M.Walsh, J.Burke, J.Gibbons, R.Feeney, A.Murphy, A.Moran, C.O'Shea

We have two championship first timers in Cathal Carolan from Crossmolina and Darren Coen from Hollymount. No sign of Barry Moran in the panel which must confirm his injury.

12 of that team is Mayo's strongest 15 IMO. S O'Shea,Freeman, Coen. starting instead of Andy Moran,Conroy,Barry Moran. A far stronger Mayo team on paper than Galway's and Mayo should win by 4-6 points.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3609 - 15/05/2013 17:12:19    1384636

So you wouldnt start alan dillon gaalover? Or barrett or doherty for that matter? Will you ever give it a rest?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/05/2013 17:19:07    1384642

Here's exactly whats going to happen in Connacht. Galway to beat Mayo in their "All-Ireland Final" and then Roscommon to come along and pull the carpet from under Galway in the semi final. Roscommon to beat Sligo in the Connacht Final. I'd say thats a typical Connacht championship.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 15/05/2013 17:22:02    1384644

15/05/2013 17:19:07

So you wouldnt start alan dillon gaalover? Or barrett or doherty for that matter? Will you ever give it a rest?

Doherty doesn't score enough ot deserve a start and he's been given enough chances at this stage all his best form was in the league 2011? Dillion is in his 30s will be used as impact sub from now on. Barrett? not for me Mayo are starting their strongest back 6 on Sunday.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3609 - 15/05/2013 17:38:58    1384666

Hi Master, word is Dillon will start, Surprised to hear it myself, Regards beal

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 15/05/2013 18:11:37    1384694

Royal you've enough problems of your own to be worrying about besides sticking your snout into the connacht C/ship........give it to the dubs, they might take the bait

beal (Mayo) - Posts: 1388 - 15/05/2013 18:15:39    1384699

Royalclass,

Here exactly what happens in Leinster the Dubs dance their way through to the final beating a tough Kildare on the way and having 50 mins of tough graft against Wexford in a final before pulling away.......the odd year Meath win it by scoring illegal goals.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 15/05/2013 18:25:18    1384712

Gaa_lover
County: USA

Doherty doesn't score enough ot deserve a start and he's been given enough chances at this stage all his best form was in the league 2011? Dillion is in his 30s will be used as impact sub from now on. Barrett? not for me Mayo are starting their strongest back 6 on Sunday.
------------------------
And???

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 15/05/2013 18:31:29    1384716

I wasn't posting with the intention of having a dig at either county, just a mere opinion as to what I think will happen. No need for that sort of hostility. Do I not have the right to offer an opinion regardless of what county I'm from? If my forum name had Sligo underneath it would your reaction have been similar?

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 15/05/2013 18:37:43    1384721