Galway v Mayo

Of course he didnt Maroonatic. The galway women are always falling over themselves to buy us drinks when we visit galway.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/05/2013 11:03:15    1383566

Mayo should win pulling up.

There's a big gap between the 2 teams imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 14/05/2013 12:13:18    1383613

The Mayo crew are gas. Even when we were winning all-irelands we were not as pompous. While Mayo are ahead of us at the moment i would like to see the odds on who will win a SAM over the coming years. Paddy and his overriding general statements is a load of cobblers. One guy on 10 bevvies might have said something yet Paddy translates that as commentary from all and sundry in the nicest city in Ireland. My hope for Sunday is that we are very competitive not giving Mayo an inch and if we lose act as a springboard for a run in the qualifiers.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 14/05/2013 12:24:07    1383621

Kiloughter, you seemed doomed with the result already. "Pompous", hmm galway kicking the sam maguire down the street doesnt count as pompous".

Lock up your women, the mayo mafia are in town on saturday night.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 14/05/2013 12:39:53    1383643

Saddam i mean pompous in terms of disregarding the opposition. I don't recall us disregarding ye in 1999 and 2002 when we were top of the pile.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 14/05/2013 12:54:02    1383659

Mayo to edge a tight encounter by 1-2pts.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 14/05/2013 13:27:55    1383695

serious lack of hype/tension/build up to this game
couple that with some dreadful tame meetings in recent years and you have to ask the genuine question, a bit like Dublin and Meath, has this game lost its edge?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/05/2013 13:36:17    1383708

Really Liam????

I think you'll find most Galway and Mayo folk can't wait until Sunday.........

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/05/2013 13:40:43    1383714

I suspect the lack of hype has to do with the disillusionment of Galway fans over recent years and this has reduced any potential banter to one sided trolling by Mayo Men for whom beating Galway is their All Ireland
_

Reginald (UK) - Posts: 62 - 14/05/2013 13:43:56    1383717

Liam has a point - very little build up to this game....a muted build up maybe. Hopefully that will change as we get nearer the weekend. Before the back door Mayo or Galway would be gone come 5:30pm on Sunday - that created hype, tension and drama that just can't be replicated with the back door safety net nowdays.

Galway v Mayo still means alot to the fans of both sides. The counties are so intertwined through work, friendship and family. As someone who works in Co.Galway - my mood will be either one of glee of dread when I cross the border Monday morning.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 14/05/2013 13:51:15    1383730

Saddam, stick to the spoon throwing. You sound like one of those Mayo fans with a chip on their shoulder because we managed to win Sam in 1998 and 2001 unlike yerselves when ye got to Croke Park. Beating Galway is Mayo's All-Ireland - you only had to see John Maughan on that TG4 programme a while back on Galway/Mayo games in the late 90s/early 2000s for an example of that attitude.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 14/05/2013 13:55:32    1383736

Reginald
I suspect the lack of hype has to do with the disillusionment of Galway fans over recent years and this has reduced any potential banter to one sided trolling by Mayo Men for whom beating Galway is their All Ireland

The galway lads are never pompous kiloughter...
If anyone actually thinks that mayo people care about beating galway that much you are off your head. Galway are not the force they were, and even if they actually beat us on sunday, they are still a shadow of themselves. We have eyes on croke park to be quite frank with you, and that is win, lose or draw the next day.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 14/05/2013 14:02:25    1383744

Its a day out for the Mayo lads. We might even let them have a look at the two All-Ireland's we've in the bag already this year. Look but no touching.

The Master the same goes for our Galway girls. We know what ye Mayo boys are like now that ye think ye have oil.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 14/05/2013 14:53:05    1383791

Ailteoir, im surprised you know where croke park is!!!

Next thing on the telly will be that very annoying ggggaaaaggggaaalllllllwwwwaaaayyyy advert!!!!!

Maigh Eo Ábu.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 14/05/2013 14:59:43    1383798

Saddam - That's priceless coming from a Mayo fan - ye haven't seen what what Sam looks like since 1951.

As for Croke Park, if ye get to another final this September, be sure not to soil yer shorts like you invariably do at that time of year.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 14/05/2013 15:16:43    1383825

Mayo should win but if they don't I expect their fragile mental will result in a number of people being sectioned and an exit in July from the qualifiers.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 14/05/2013 15:25:27    1383840

This is what we want!!!! Good old fashioned slagging!!!!

Sunday cannot come quick enough!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 14/05/2013 15:26:40    1383842

Comical Ailteoir, Croke Park is in Dublin. Make use of that motorway ye have will ya, like a good lad!!!

Stick to the hurling!!!

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 14/05/2013 15:29:15    1383844

Now now lads and lassies, no need for the aggressive carry on.

Galway v Mayo is a great occassion , I love them , give me a Galway game anyday over any other out west, better craic, great tradition, lovely style to It.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/05/2013 15:31:34    1383845

Stick to the stone throwing Saddam - it's how ye respond to class footballers.

As for Hurling isn't time ye gave it up? Ye wouldn't hurl spuds to ducks up there.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 14/05/2013 15:36:16    1383851