Meath and Galway. Where did it go wrong?

Glenn to me is an absolute legend one of the greatest players for Kildare and one of the best at no.6 but he is a long way off from being the next Kildare manager so I suppose we will agree to disagree Mc Geeney will be bringing the current under21's through to senior.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 15/05/2013 18:16:53    1384700

Surely this McGeeney/Glenn Ryan discussion should be on the Kildare page. This thread has gone so far off topic it's nearly in orbit!

uptheross (Meath) - Posts: 78 - 15/05/2013 18:23:34    1384710

yeah your right upthe ross and the time for that discussion is after the championship apologies.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 15/05/2013 18:38:24    1384722

Was I right or was I right, lads? That Galway performance was nothing short of pathetic. I'd give credit where credits due, well done on the u21 success, but that snr performance was an utter disgrace.

cilldara13 (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 23/05/2013 17:41:17    1389970

Tell us something we don't know Cilldara.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1779 - 23/05/2013 19:12:54    1390042

cilldara13

1389970 Was I right or was I right, lads? That Galway performance was nothing short of pathetic. I'd give credit where credits due, well done on the u21 success, but that snr performance was an utter disgrace.

I wouldn't come on gloating, these things have a way of coming back and biting ye when ye least expect it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 23/05/2013 19:42:54    1390058

Early days yet long way to go in championship, nothing won in May.
Regards Meath n Galway failure to change with the times.

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 23/05/2013 19:51:32    1390064

As bad as Meath and Galway are they will win an All Ireland before Kildare will.

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 23/05/2013 20:29:33    1390096

BigTom2050
County: Tipperary

As bad as Meath and Galway are they will win an All Ireland before Kildare will.

Ignoring the fact that Galway won one a few weeks ago, what exactly is this prediction based on? If anything...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 23/05/2013 20:33:28    1390105

I think galways short passing from their goalkeeper and defenders against mayo murder them...it was probably the tatic on the day for the goalkeeper to short pass it out and then for the galway defenders to work through the phases,i suppose in hindsight the goalkeeper was better of lumping it into row Z of one of the stands and if he did they would not have conceded slack goals,but to be fair to mayo they are the kings of tackling right now...mayo need a strong galway because it is one of the reasons why galway won them two all ireland they were alway play against a strong mayo teams!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 949 - 23/05/2013 21:00:42    1390127

23/05/2013 21:00:42
WhyTheLongFace
County: USA

mayo need a strong galway because it is one of the reasons why galway won them two all ireland they were alway play against a strong mayo teams!

In 1998 Galway beat us in replay after extra time and lost to us in 2001 before beating us in the last eight. If we can put it up to Mayo like we did back then against Galway it will help Mayo on their quest for Sam.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4397 - 23/05/2013 21:23:04    1390151

hey cilldara13 knock it off on the "utter disgrace" nonsense. Galway lost a football match. They didn't ransack a country's banking system, gain political office under false pretenses, conduct a sectarian war, rob a national pension fund. Keep it in perspective will ya.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1081 - 23/05/2013 22:01:50    1390198

not sure how kildare even get mentioned on this thread--we hardly ever win anything. Meath and Galway have strong traditions, going through a bad spell just now but will likely regroup and win provincial titles before kildare do. I know a huge amount of kildare fans think we'll win a leinster before meath but not all of us! We can't beat dublin and meath beat us last year. Dubs V Meath is still the big leinster rivalry.

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 24/05/2013 08:46:55    1390207

Maroonatic

1390198 hey cilldara13 knock it off on the "utter disgrace" nonsense. Galway lost a football match. They didn't ransack a country's banking system, gain political office under false pretenses, conduct a sectarian war, rob a national pension fund. Keep it in perspective will ya.

+1. Thats the Galway team we were extremely lucky to draw with last year to gain promotion to Division One. I would never call an intercounty team an utter disgrace. These fellas are going trying their utmost to win games and not to be an utter disgrace.

Its didn't happen for them on the day. It didn't happen for us in Croke Park last year against Cork either. I just hope I'll not find myself beside you at a Kildare game this year if we're being totally outplayed.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 24/05/2013 08:48:04    1390208

Galway were blessed in the late 90's and early 00's to have a bunch of players who were once in a generation type of players (Ja Fallon, Joyce, Donnellan, Kevin Walsh, Tomas Mannion). Its not that Galway haven't changed with the times namely tactics, the simple reason is we don't have the players. The standard in our club championship is very poor as well that doesn't help either.

Look at Cavan last Sunday they had a plan, the way they hunted in packs when they didn't have the ball and broke with speed from defense. As for Galway last Sunday I was one of the people clambering for Mulholland to be made manager but his clear lack of any tactical nous or a game plan and his inability to instill any fire or intensity in the players is worrying.

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 24/05/2013 09:13:51    1390219

switec

1390207 not sure how kildare even get mentioned on this thread--we hardly ever win anything. Meath and Galway have strong traditions, going through a bad spell just now but will likely regroup and win provincial titles before kildare do. I know a huge amount of kildare fans think we'll win a leinster before meath but not all of us! We can't beat dublin and meath beat us last year. Dubs V Meath is still the big leinster rivalry.

Honestly you are quite unreal at this stage. You only seem to appear when you have something negative to say about your county. You hardly ever appear when Kildare happen to win the odd game or two.

I'm not going to drag the thread off topic by wondering if you would explain your negativity as thats for another day. However if you go back over all your posts on HS you can be guaranteed that 90% are not positive.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 24/05/2013 10:03:02    1390266

Sedico, so what? Only stating facts, where does your silly endless optimism come from? You talk like we regularly win things and are genuine contenders, this is simply not true so why bother talking up our chances so much. We have never beaten a big team in a game that matters under mcgeeney, this is just how it is, we are no threat to dublin. I think we're a decent time but a few posters from kildare having a pop at meath and galway is just daft, they have silverware in the past 15 years,we have next to nothing. Apart from a seriously deluded fan base!!

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 24/05/2013 10:17:58    1390278

Galway on sunday were simply lacking strength and conditioning.

still dont think they are as bad as that result.Would not be surprised to see them win a couple of games yet if they avoid the more physically imposing outfits.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 24/05/2013 10:35:47    1390289

switec

1390278 Sedico, so what? Only stating facts, where does your silly endless optimism come from? You talk like we regularly win things and are genuine contenders, this is simply not true so why bother talking up our chances so much. We have never beaten a big team in a game that matters under mcgeeney, this is just how it is, we are no threat to dublin. I think we're a decent time but a few posters from kildare having a pop at meath and galway is just daft, they have silverware in the past 15 years,we have next to nothing. Apart from a seriously deluded fan base!!

My silly endless optimism? I talk like we regularly win things? I talk up our chances? Show me where I stated any of the above and I 'll gladly concede defeat. I don't mind if you repost it here and now to prove me wrong. Is what you are saying up above a 'fact' or are you making this up?

I'm telling it how it is in Meath and Galway which is what the thread is about. It doesn't make a difference where i'm from.

Fair play to you for stating facts. However it is fact that in the majority of cases you have nothing positive to say. You were nowhere to be seen when Kildare got off to a good start in the league or reached a league semi-final. Where were your 'facts' then? You only appeared in the U21 thread when we were beaten - why was that?

You want facts - me thinks you can't handle facts.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 24/05/2013 10:41:58    1390298

Finian Hanley came out yesterday and said Galway want to lose their "nice image". They are the last Gaelic Football team on this island who don't play the blanket defence counter-attack system, and look where it got them. Galway football has not revolutionised to the same extent that other counties have, and therein lies the problem.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 24/05/2013 11:20:13    1390340