Meath and Galway. Where did it go wrong?

cilldara13 how do you know their attitude to work stinks. That is an opinion but not necessarily fact. And the 'many good managers before' you mentioned is not necessarily true. Joe Kernan a great football man in fairness tried certain things alien to Galway football as did Peter Forde (2005-2007).i.e. bring in a more defensive system etc. They are good football people but from my memory most of the players were very committed but unfortunately it just did not work out. Sometimes it just doesn't but the natural talent suggestion is definitely true.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1996 - 15/05/2013 13:53:22    1384430

Meath don't judge how good we are by the league and certainly not a league final in Croke Park which nobody gives a toss about and will not remember, its all about the championship and what counts at the end of the day is Leinsters and All Irelands. Meath are a championship team and will raise their game a good few notches for the championship,whether it will be good enough to beat Longford/ Wicklow we will just have to see. And I don't know how anyone could say their future WILL be better than ours, you wouldn't see the likes of Kilkenny hurling people saying that or the Dubs in terms of football who have a lot of talent coming through, but sure what would they know.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/05/2013 14:28:48    1384472

ClassApart

And I don't know how anyone could say their future WILL be better than ours, you wouldn't see the likes of Kilkenny hurling people saying that or the Dubs in terms of football who have a lot of talent coming through, but sure what would they know.

Similarly enough I can't understand how somebody could say another county has no past to look back on, has no present and has no future either.

Then again some posters are better off left to their own devices I suppose.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 15/05/2013 14:32:40    1384475

between 1996 & 2010 Dublin hadn't even contested an All Ireland final. both Meath and Galway won 2 each in that period.

To say that Dublin were always 'in the mix' is il-informed. A couple years years they didnt even get past the second round qualifiers. Dublin are hyped up every year but most of the time they were way off the pace as regards winning an All Ireland in that period

robopaddy (Waterford) - Posts: 81 - 15/05/2013 14:42:08    1384488

if_in_doubt I never said that anyway but I was referring to the post below. As I said you wouldn't see some of the most successful counties saying the likes, there is nothing certain about any county's future, whereas you can give actual facts about a county's recent history of All Irelands and Leinsters which is obviously relevant to this thread.

cilldara13

Our present is better than yours. Our future will also be... because of the flaws I outlined in my previous post.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/05/2013 15:09:24    1384515

Look there is no point in arguing with someone who's whole argument is based on league, jasus lad if league really mattered would j mc only got team together a week before first game?
League means nothing.
Meath didn't give a toss about the final, promotion was achieved
meath will put down a marker early this year of that I have no doubt
When lads retire it won't be jasus move that leinster /all ire medal out of the way so i can put my league medal on display.
Its all about championship and meath are a championship team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/05/2013 15:19:19    1384522

ClassApart

if_in_doubt I never said that anyway but I was referring to the post below. As I said you wouldn't see some of the most successful counties saying the likes, there is nothing certain about any county's future, whereas you can give actual facts about a county's recent history of All Irelands and Leinsters which is obviously relevant to this thread.

cilldara13

Our present is better than yours. Our future will also be... because of the flaws I outlined in my previous post.

Never said you did.

There's probably been quite a few comments made similar to the one you highlighted though about counties other than those the thread was intended for.

But just because a county may not have the most successful past I don't see why other posters feel the need to run them down and comment on them having no present or future either, not alluding to yourself here, you're a good egg... for the most part ;)

Some counties success comes from proper development and infrastructure from underage level up, and then efficient integration into the senior setup (Tyrone footballers, Dublin hurlers), others seem to be able to rely on tradition and just appear to have the ability to bring players through on a fairly regular basis (Kerry footballers and Kilkenny hurlers).

The rest of us are probably somewhere in between, some counties have underage success (Laois and Westmeath for example) but don't seem to be able to translate that into senior success. Whereas other counties may have little underage success but can still put together fairly competitive senior teams when the right approach is taken.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 15/05/2013 15:19:44    1384524

Our past is better, that goes without saying, our present lets say last five years is better in terms of silverware that can't be argued either our future is the only thing that is up for debate and im confident that ours will be good, as im sure you may be too, but unless your mestic meg no one can tell for sure

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/05/2013 15:23:39    1384528

royaldunne

Our past is better, that goes without saying, our present lets say last five years is better in terms of silverware that can't be argued either our future is the only thing that is up for debate and im confident that ours will be good, as im sure you may be too, but unless your mestic meg no one can tell for sure

royaldunne

@ashoure. Well said man well said. No past to look back on, no present to speak of, and no future either, unless cavan produces them for them

Yes no one can tell...

Anyways I'd like to think our future will be relatively successful. Of course success may not always measured in trophies or silverware either.

We've had good structures in place with our developments squads over the last few years and have had some promising results at under 16 and minor level, which has also been aided by a certain level of continuity regarding coaches and mentors etc. Add in the under 21's from this year and it's quite possible to have a positive outlook on things. Even in hurling we've done pretty well at underage level, especially last year. Whether this transcends into successful senior teams is impossible to tell but it should be an enjoyable ride all the same.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 15/05/2013 15:38:55    1384540

if_in_doubt To be fair it was the Kildare poster that brought up the thing about Kildare having a better future than Meath, even Royaldunne took back his statement. I'm not running down a county for not having success like Meath have had in my lifetime however it is a little bit mad for that poster to be saying Kildare WILL have a better future than Meath. Royaldunne said he is confident that Meath's future will be good but he is not comparing to another county or saying ours will be better than yours etc., sure how could you say that. Even the likes of the Dubs say the future looks bright etc. but they don't turn to the neighbours and become experts on their future as well. As RD sid no one can tell! You are commenting on the Meath posts but you are ignoring the one I just quoted for you.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/05/2013 15:39:42    1384545

Regarding Kildare's future over the next few years, what do posters think about McGeeney, he's hardly going to be around much longer, 6 years is a long time to give to a county as an outsider, maybe I'm wrong, what is he contracted for at the minute? Who would be a possible replacement in the future?

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/05/2013 15:46:23    1384551

Sorry Classapart it's a bit tricky to keep track of what statements have been taken back and which ones haven't.

In terms of people discounting a counties potential future, posters making those sort of predictions are all on the same level, a pretty low one. If it's backed up by underage success, then fair enough there might be a case for it, but as we've seen too many times in the past nothing is guaranteed.

I suppose posters making those sort of comments are best left alone regardless of what county they're from, they're only looking for a reaction and by responding to them we're only giving them what they want.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 15/05/2013 15:48:25    1384556

Ok. Do you want to know why I think Kildare's future will be better than Meath's. Here goes... Meath's football style has not changed form the past. It doesn't look like changing because they keep appointing inside lads who just continue the trend that's been set. As I stated the orthodox way of Gaelic Football in the past is gone. Look over the past decade or since Armagh won the All Ireland. Only 1 team has won playing the traditional way. Kerry, with some of the most gifted players to ever to play the game. No other team can win in the modern game by doing that. Systems and tactics prevent it. There looks to be no plan in place regarding a change in approach. There's a huge problem within the county board as I've been told by a lot of Meath people. The "Its all politics" argument. Your credibility comes from your name as appose to your ideas. In the short time yous had an outside manager yous never even gave him chance. He tried to change things up but yous wouldn't accept it, even the players. At underage level, anytime yous have come up against Kildare or Dublin yous always get bet. Club football... is nowhere near a competitive at snr or inter level compared with Kildare also.

It's all these factors that have led me to believe that your future will not be as good as ours. Its not a cert that it will happen or a fact. But from the outset it looks very very likely. Unless yous CHANGE. Which I'd like to see as yous always bring excitement to Croke Park on your day.

cilldara13 (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 15/05/2013 16:03:39    1384577

Precisely classapart, after much provocation I responded with that post and even withdrew it, knowing it was generalizing a whole county.
But for the love of god some of these guys must know very little about football, the lows are what make the highs so great. Ive told before about been captivated by Croke park in the seventies when my father first brought me to a game their we were hammered by Dublin, over a decade later both of us were their to see meath finally beat dub having come so close in 83. One year later we stood on the hill to finally see the holy grail. Now many years have past I bring my kids to matches and the cycle continues.
To appreciate the highs you have to endure the lows, meath will once again win leinster (hopefully soon) maybe even this year,
but the one we all want will be another 5 years off unless something drastically changes.
this thread could have been written in the early eighties as we had fallen so far since the sixties, yet within a few years we were unbeatable

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/05/2013 16:11:18    1384584

I suppose when McGeeney leaves Jason Ryan will probably take the helm. Wouldn't be a bad alternative at all.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 15/05/2013 16:22:07    1384589

Class apart Mc Geeney will be around the plains of kildare for a while yet judging by his comments in the papers today.I hope he is would love a Leinster senior title he brought the under 21's to their first leinster title since 2008 already this year.
I think he is the man to help kildare make the breakthrough sure look where Kildare where at before he came in 6 years is not long in Kildare here in Kildare we give managers time theres no rotating door after year 2 or 3 sure it took mick o dwyer two stints at Kildare to win a leinster tite with the county.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 15/05/2013 16:26:50    1384595

The Kildare job is Glenn Ryan's, if and when he wants it.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 15/05/2013 16:45:32    1384611

robopaddy
County: Waterford

between 1996 & 2010 Dublin hadn't even contested an All Ireland final. both Meath and Galway won 2 each in that period.

To say that Dublin were always 'in the mix' is il-informed. A couple years years they didnt even get past the second round qualifiers. Dublin are hyped up every year but most of the time they were way off the pace as regards winning an All Ireland in that period

Fair point robo, if I said "always" then I exaggerated a little. In fairness, 1996-2010 though, let's look at the detail here. In 1996 we got beaten by the All-I winners by 2 points, in the days before the back door. In 1997 we lost very narrowly again to the All-I champs. 1998, lost to the All-I finalists, and possibly after a replay?
1999, lost by a few points to the All-I champions, also reached the league final. 2000 - lost in the Leinster Final, Leinster was strong in those days, with 3 serious All-I contenders.
2001 - lost narrowly to Kerry, the All-I champions, after a replay in the quarter final. 2002, lost by one point in the All-I semi after winning Leinster. 2003 & 2004, bad years, no argument.
2005, Leinster champs, lost after a replay to the eventual All-I champs in the quarters. 2006, Leinster champs, lost by one point in the All-I semi. 2007, Leinster champs, lost by 2 points in the All-I semi to the eventual All-I champs.
2008 and 2009, Leinster champs, lost heavily in the All-I in the quarters. 2010 - more or less scammed out of a league final place, Leinster champs, lost the All-I semi by one point to the eventual All-I champs.
Now, was that not at least almost always being "in the mix"?

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 15/05/2013 17:10:49    1384634

You can be sure its not Glenn Ryan's if and when he wants it Glenn Ryan wont be Kildare manager anytime soon it will be Jason Ryan's job well before G Ryan would even get a sniff.
at the moment Mc Geeney is at the helm and he is there for the foreseeable future end of. We can have this discussion at the end of the championship.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 15/05/2013 17:47:00    1384677

lilywhitemagic

You can be sure its not Glenn Ryan's if and when he wants it Glenn Ryan wont be Kildare manager anytime soon it will be Jason Ryan's job well before G Ryan would even get a sniff.
at the moment Mc Geeney is at the helm and he is there for the foreseeable future end of. We can have this discussion at the end of the championship.

We'll agree to disagree on that one. I will be surprised if Glenn is not the Kildare boss within the next two years.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 15/05/2013 18:00:13    1384688