Meath and Galway. Where did it go wrong?

Lack of any clear-cut tactical approach and underage structures past their sell by dates have contributed to Meath's decline. Having said that, most Meath supporters would admit that we just don't have the players at the moment.

uptheross (Meath) - Posts: 78 - 12/05/2013 21:36:14    1382752

As I said Rossie, if true, the only way is down!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 12/05/2013 21:37:06    1382756

The point about sticking with traditional style is very valid for both counties, while it is not the only problem within either county, it is quite when you see teams who would have below ability our respective counties going further in championship due to systems or gym overdone. We need to modernize.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/05/2013 21:46:14    1382766

You need to modernize the whole set-up RD!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8821 - 12/05/2013 21:52:43    1382773

Yep, you will find no arguments from me on modernizing the whole set up, it's begun, but it will take time

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/05/2013 09:57:06    1382820

Too many Meath and Galway fans (and one is too many) worried about the set-ups in other counties rather than working to improve their own.

Too many Galway and Meath fans believing that they have the footballers but only need to bulk up.

Too many Galway and Meath fans living in the past and not being able to see the wood from the trees. That is despite other people advising them otherwise. It'll always be the managers fault because they definitely have the players.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 13/05/2013 10:15:19    1382834

Speaking as a neutral the Galway situation is hard to understand. Brilliant from 98-02, as well I know ha. But if you look at how many under age success they've had over the past 10 years. I reckon bar Dublin and Cork they'd be up there in terms of underage success. When it comes to making the next step its hard to understand whether its poor management or players getting too big headed and going off the boil. I reckon its a mix of both. Believe when you build young players up, they tend to get carried away with themselves, a problem were having in Kildare.

Meath is a funny one. People talking about the evolution of the game and I agree that Meath haven't moved with the times. The days of 15 men lining out, man against man standing in the traditional positions are gone. Meath were one of the best at that. When there was a 50/50 ball played and lefts face that's the way football was played years ago, the ball launched into the forwards with the hope that lads would win it. Meath were great at that, making the 50/50 and 60/40 in their favour. The game now is all about inches and the top teams don't leave anything to chance, its all precision work, don't give the ball away. Defense's are packed to stop the direct ball in and a more patient approach is played. Also club football in Meath dipped slightly but in Meath it was and always will be about the county. A rethink in their approach is needed to win an All Ireland, but Meath pride themselves on their tradition so I doubt it'll happen.

cilldara13 (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 13/05/2013 14:02:50    1383023

I reckon bar Dublin and Cork they'd be up there in terms of underage success.

Actually Galway have won more than both at U-21 in recent years. 4 U-21 All-Ireland's, Dublin have won 3 and Cork 2.

At minor Galway and Dublin have won 1 each. Cork haven't won any recently.

The thing is Galway's U-21 wins in 02 and 05 never really kicked on to greater thinsg at senior level. We simply have to get more out of the 2011 and 2013 winning teams.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2551 - 13/05/2013 14:26:37    1383051

cilldara13
Meath is a funny one. People talking about the evolution of the game and I agree that Meath haven't moved with the times.The days of 15 men lining out, man against man standing in the traditional positions are gone. Meath were one of the best at that. When there was a 50/50 ball played and lefts face that's the way football was played years ago, the ball launched into the forwards with the hope that lads would win it. Meath were great at that, making the 50/50 and 60/40 in their favour. The game now is all about inches and the top teams don't leave anything to chance, its all precision work, don't give the ball away. Defense's are packed to stop the direct ball in and a more patient approach is played. Also club football in Meath dipped slightly but in Meath it was and always will be about the county. A rethink in their approach is needed to win an All Ireland, but Meath pride themselves on their tradition so I doubt it'll happen.

Now I wasn't around at the time (unfortunately;)), but were Meath not one of the first teams to operate with a third midfielder (PJ Gillic, Tommy Dowd)? It's obvious that we need to change our approach at the moment but I don't think it's fair to say that Meath's style of play under Sean Boylan was the same brand of 15 vs. 15, prehistoric hoofball that was present pre1980's

uptheross (Meath) - Posts: 78 - 13/05/2013 15:29:29    1383115

A gentle reminder that people are not exactly comparing apples with apples: while Galway has seen a significant drop in form at senior football leve, don't forget that as a county we are competing in both codes and have had considerable success in both at every level bar senior. So while focus tends to remain on the senior competion everyone here is overlooking the fact that in hurling and football at every other level Galway is bringing home silverware.

The same, and this is not a dig, cannot be said for Meath.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 13/05/2013 16:22:52    1383149

I actually think galway will beat mayo on sunday and then go on to win Connacht.

meathalltheway (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 13/05/2013 16:56:17    1383177

meathalltheway

I actually think galway will beat mayo on sunday and then go on to win Connacht.

That wouldn't surprise me in the slightest either

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 13/05/2013 17:07:25    1383189

I do have to laugh at SOME poster's from a certain county, allegedly we are all living in the past comparing our former glories to today, and at same time insinuating that they are far superior, little reality check needed, last year meath comprehensively beat the said county, and galway u21 did same to same counties u21s a few weeks back. Both of our counties are at a level beneath where we should be, but we still can beat yous? What does that say???
And as for a past, at least we can look back at a past as we have one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/05/2013 19:53:16    1383345

Right, my previous post, I'd say it was a little heavy on what was probably hungover grumpiness although I do think 'hate filled' is a bit much. Making generalistaions on all fans is out of order though and that's fair enough, I apologise and take that back. Sometimes you read something back and realise how coldly something reads in comparison to how you thought you were playfully winding people up. Either way fair enough hands up was too much and retracted.

And let's not go down the road of saying we're suggesting we're far superior. When I first saw this thread I thought I should avoid it. I think I should've stuck with that.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 13/05/2013 20:23:02    1383378

doublehop

Right, my previous post, I'd say it was a little heavy on what was probably hungover grumpiness although I do think 'hate filled' is a bit much. Making generalistaions on all fans is out of order though and that's fair enough, I apologise and take that back. Sometimes you read something back and realise how coldly something reads in comparison to how you thought you were playfully winding people up. Either way fair enough hands up was too much and retracted.

No worries doublehop, fairplay for holding your hand up, a lot of people aren't big enough to do that, infact they think it's weakness for some strange reason. I thought it was a bit out of character although I tend to stay away from the Meath v Kildare riots on HS so I honestly don't know what's par for the course.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/05/2013 20:51:21    1383408

The current Meath management was the best available of those interviewed so there's no point in people bringing up O'Rourke, if there is any management team that can get the best out of the players its this one. People from outside might not know but Colm Brady was coaching the team in 09 when we got to the AI semi and Sean Kelly was coaching them in 2010 when we 'won' Leinster and beat Dublin. Add Trevor into the mix and its a decent enough backroom team.Its the first time all of these have worked together. They've all won Leinsters and ALl Irelands, they know what it takes. Micko has a seriously calm personality and the fact that he didn't panic in the league when hammered by Cavan and Monaghan definitely filtered through to the players. They are putting structures in place, Micko has put a development squad in place of young players who he hopes will make the step up next year. Give them their three years and I hope they get a bit more time, see what happens. If nothing happens then so be it. Since Boylan left no manager has been there longer than 2 years, and thats probably the biggest problem in my opinion. Meath have a lot of work to do but everyone knows that, so we will just have to wait and see what happens over the next few years.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 13/05/2013 21:14:10    1383435

royaldunne

And as for a past, at least we can look back at a past as we have one.

No need to bring Tyrone and anything pre 2003 into this thread, keep on topic please...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 13/05/2013 21:26:59    1383444

RD when you say modernise do you mean in terms of fooball or the actual set up? The funny thing is Boylan was ahead of most in terms of set up, training, treatment of players etc. Don't know much about the current set up yet, I know early on it was said that its a very strict regime, I suppose thats a good thing.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 13/05/2013 21:35:36    1383451

Quote, from Maroond:

Galway also played in 3 All-Ireland finals in the 70's and another in 83 so it's not like they disappeared off the map once the 60's ended.

Fair enough, let's say that for most years since 1974, not including 1998-2001, that's 35 years, Galway have not been in finals (only 1983 out of that 35 years), and often not really close to getting to finals. More especially since 2001, I don't think they have been in one semi, and perhaps just one quarter?
The point here is not that they've been off the map, rather that whilst they have had plenty of strong underage teams, it has rarely transferred to senior, to the same extent, during this period of time. Of course this is also true of many counties, but the question is about Galway and Meath, because both of these counties have been relatively successful, and because both have been mostly well out of contention (and let's be honest Meath folk, in those 2 semis yis got to since 2001, yis weren't in with a hope of winning Sam)

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 13/05/2013 21:55:30    1383478

Class agree with you re boylan, was way ahead of his time, even in the defense system, both kernan and harte said the evolved Sean's methods
I think the whole set up within county needs to modernise now in fairness it has begun, senior level the new meath system is far from perfected but you can see what style management wants to play
Dh don't know why hs didn't put up my post but i congratulated yourself on saying you may have got it wrong, and my other comments were not intended for majority of fans just some

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/05/2013 09:28:10    1383506