Connacht 2013

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2013/0512/391871-ohara-mayo-will-be-caught-cold/

Eamon will be quiet!!! Jaysus this ambush plan isn't going to work out too well if people keep thinking we might win!!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 13/05/2013 10:02:20    1382826

The problem for Mayo or Galway is that defeat puts you into the qualifiers so early with the possibility of meeting the likes of Tyrone or Donegal.
Compared to Munster, Kerry meet Cork in the Munster final, win, they are in the last 8, lose and they are in last round of qualifiers. Either way, they don't need to worry about hitting form until late July.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 218 - 13/05/2013 10:13:47    1382832

From a Galway point of view, if we do end up in the qualifiers - i'd just like to win. Against anybody. I'm not fussy. It's been that long since we put any kind of back to back form together in the championship that I forget when it was. Whoever the loser is on Sunday has a an awful long break before the Qualifiers anyway - plenty of time to regroup and go on a decent run. Mayo will be grand taking the scenic route :-)

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 13/05/2013 10:54:15    1382856

"A lot of guys are coming back from injuries, they will not have that hunger, that desire, that training ethos. I know they are training but it is that real focus, that attention to detail that might be missing with Mayo and I think they might be caught cold."

Thanks Eamonn, they will have a bit more hunger after reading your article.

I don think mayo are going to be caught cold, they will be very aware of that possibility and so will be making a point of matching any level of intensity that is put against them. What could happen is that some guys could run out of legs, but then, the same can be said of the galway u-21 lads. Im hoping for a good game of football where both teams show well, with mayo coming home with a couple of points to spare. That would set both teams up for a good long run this year.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/05/2013 10:58:27    1382862

If Mayo and GAA fans in general think Brolly is hard on Mayo wait till they see O'Hara in action on the Sunday game this year He has a real dislike for us. Come on Mayo lets prove em wrong.

Lets than a week to go now and I am getting excited for championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12127 - 13/05/2013 11:14:12    1382876

Yeah Yew Tree - no disrespect to Leitrim/New York and the Ring/Rackard/Meagher Cups but this Sunday is the big one.......To be fair you couldn't ask for a much better start than Galway Mayo.....Especially after one of the favourites for Sam are dumped out by the mighty Maroon and White!!!

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 13/05/2013 11:24:48    1382886

tribeinbrum
Especially after one of the favourites for Sam are dumped out by the mighty Maroon and White!!!

Could well happen.....ye done it in 1998 to us and we returned the favour in 1999. It also happened in 2005. Indeed talking to a few Mayo heads sat night nobody is taking Salthill for granted. Huge test ahead that go go either way.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12127 - 13/05/2013 11:33:38    1382899

yew_tree

If Mayo and GAA fans in general think Brolly is hard on Mayo wait till they see O'Hara in action on the Sunday game this year He has a real dislike for us. Come on Mayo lets prove em wrong.

Lets than a week to go now and I am getting excited for championship.

I dont think the Mayo lads will be to worried about what O' Hara has to say. Most of the Mayo team have achieved more in there few years playing than O'Hara has in a life time.

ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 13/05/2013 11:43:04    1382904

1st games are notoriously difficult to call. And to be honest, there's no game bigger for Galway right now. I'd go as far to say if we'd drawn Sligo, Sheep Stealers, Leitrim we would have struggled big time - but Mayo - that's the game that will focus everyone's minds. Also because Mayo have been so god damn good recently expectations will have been slightly lowered. Sunday will be a proper tussle and whoever wins will be in good stead for the rest of the Championship.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 13/05/2013 11:49:17    1382907

Everyone seems to be of the opinion it will be tight.

I beg to differ, Mayo will hammer Galway.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 13/05/2013 12:22:47    1382936

True enough yt, he really dislikes mayo for whatever reason. He isnt a subtle as brolly in his efforts though, and so people will see it fairly quick. However, I would much rather listen to o'hara's version than brolly's.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/05/2013 12:56:23    1382958

Pleased to see a few Mayo friends last night more balanced than in days of yore.........after hammering Galway.....in the 1990s and early 2000s it would be All-Ireland in the bag.......the years of defeats and disappointments have taken their toll but it might be for the better. Concerned about Roscommon, not taking them lightly!!!!

This recently developing maturity and "feet on the ground" approach actually has me losing the plot and thinking Mayo could actually win it all !!!

(Didn't think there was much between them and Donegal last year to be honest.....Donegal looked ok, but were definitely wilting as the game went on).

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 227 - 20/05/2013 12:25:31    1387158

Mayo and the Sheep Stealers could be a good game. I doubt the Rossies will be as bad as we were yesterday. Sligo V London could be an interesting game at the weekend.

Lot of people think London have a chance but i think Sligo will in the end have too much and run out 5-7 point winners.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 20/05/2013 13:51:29    1387286