Ulster SFC 2013

Best of luck Cavan, first championship match i'm gonna miss in years as I'm oversea's. i'll be watching closely from Singapore (after much research I have found a pub that will show the match) so all the best. An Cabhain Abu. The future is blue....

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2487 - 15/06/2013 19:32:33    1407390

Sergeant_Slash

Ah Ah,JEALOUS......of what, Cavan stuck in a time warp......grandaddy tales from the 40's & 50's.....please! Jealous of the 39 Ulster titles and the 5 Sams we have. And as painful as it is for the neighbouring lesser GAA counties like Monaghan to accept, football didn't begin in the 1960's.

We didnt have to go flat out last sunday,as Antrim never wanted to test us,they just wanted to keep the score down.So we tipped round like it was a training match,not our fault the game turned out like it did. 17 wides was it? Yis just hit them for the craic I'd imagine.

Cavan or Fermanagh will see a totally different animal on the 29th of june,mark my words. Like the animals that came to Breifne Park this year in U21 and senior, can't wait.

As for you's putting the dignity back in Ulster Football,dont make me laugh.......remember what Kildare done to you's last year,and you's at home? Fact's don't lie my farney friend, Cavan are heads and shoulders above the rest of Ulster in terms of success and tradition, as I say, football didn't begin in the 1960's, but you can't help but laugh at the way Monaghan fans have to distort history to suit their arguments, "sure lets just blot out the first 70 years of the GAA LOL". Congratulations Kildare, they beat what was little more than an u21 team, a team 5-6 years behind them in development.

ps. are you going to the match tomarrow,or is it to far to walk?

No I'll be there, and please God I'll be at the semi final to watch us do a hatrick over the noisy, but less successful neighbours

I love this lesser GAA county jibe from the Cavan man............who has the spite now Slash??

Dont worry they will be no hatrick done by Cavan over Monaghan this year,the U21's lost after extra time while missing our best forward,Cavan had a better bench and deserved the win!

Our seniors lost while missing 6 of the team that played last sunday,and your dirty play got our main scorer sent off after 5 mins....but remind me how that division finished??????Oh yeah we went on to lift the cup in Croke Park,while you's finished mid-table in the division,another year stuck in a LESSER LEAGUE!!

So lets end this slagging,behind a computer,Cavan and Monaghan will always be rivals same as every other countys.......its who ever win the next meeting that counts!

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 15/06/2013 19:42:49    1407402

ExiledCuCu
In fairness Slash, Cavan's one ulster title in 33 years is a dreadful return.
But in comparison to Donegal;
One Ulster Title in 88 years (1884-1972)
One All Ireland in 108 years (1884-1992)

I'm not sure what the adjective would be ;)
https://www.google.ie/search?q=definition+of+inept..

LOL, well said exiledcucu

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 15/06/2013 19:48:04    1407408

15/06/2013 19:03:08
mchugh11

to hardcore, God u hav a spite, hatred, against CAVAN,are u afraid CAVAN, will beat yous,dont be so MEAN,is it true monaghan babies are born in CAVAN, does this mean CAVAN has 2 chances of winning ULSTER. i never heard a monaghan person say a good word about CAVAN, i dont know why, i get along with cavan, and monaghan people, anyway all the best to fermanagh,cavan, monaghan, may the best team win,

I think you need to read my first post again son,and tell me were is the spitefull comments in it?

Then read the Cavan people posts and tell me its not spitefull!!

Dont have a spite against anyone thank god.

And as for us been afraid of Cavan,you must be joking son, NEVER DID FEAR THEM NEVER WILL...we fear no one only Tyrone,which is a shame.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 15/06/2013 19:48:05    1407409

Mchugh11 I couldn't care less about whos won the most. The only honors board I care about is Donegals. I just think Cavan people slagging people for not being successful when they've been out of the running for almost 3 decades is abit cheap.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 15/06/2013 20:00:29    1407420

Gwaan Cavan, best of luck for tomorrow.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 15/06/2013 20:29:57    1407434

Samsforthehills

Mchugh11 I couldn't care less about whos won the most. The only honors board I care about is Donegals. I just think Cavan people slagging people for not being successful when they've been out of the running for almost 3 decades is abit cheap.

We didn't start this, the Monaghan folk did, typical, a lesser GAA county slagging their more successful neighbours. I told you already, football didn't begin 30 years ago. Since the GAA was founded we've won a hell of a lot more than yous have. Fact. End of story.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/06/2013 20:43:39    1407451

TheGateKeeper

Thanks GateKeeper, but I'm only having a laugh.

I support my Club and County foremost.

Thereafter, I support all Ulster teams if they progress further than Cavan ((for the time being :) ).....regardless of our history.

After that, I support the underdog......

Lets keep bringing Sam across the border :)

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2013 20:56:46    1407468

hardcore
County: Monaghan

I love this lesser GAA county jibe from the Cavan man............who has the spite now Slash??

Monaghan 13 Ulster titles. Fact.
Cavan 39 Ulster titles. Fact.

Monaghan, not a solitary Sam. Fact.
Cavan, 5 of em. Fact.

Therefore I conclude Cavan are a more successful Gaelic football county, Monaghan are a lesser successful Gaelic football county. Facts, not spite.

Dont worry they will be no hatrick done by Cavan over Monaghan this year,the U21's lost after extra time while missing our best forward,Cavan had a better bench and deserved the win! That's right, we did deserve it.

Our seniors lost while missing 6 of the team that played last sunday,and your dirty play got our main scorer sent off after 5 mins....but remind me how that division finished??????Oh yeah we went on to lift the cup in Croke Park,while you's finished mid-table in the division,another year stuck in a LESSER LEAGUE!! Ha, I've seen it all now, our play got your man sent off, I suppose one of our players grabbed McManus' hand and hit himself with it. Yeah yous won div3, fair play, is the party still going on?

So lets end this slagging,behind a computer,Cavan and Monaghan will always be rivals same as every other countys.......its who ever win the next meeting that counts!

Thats for sure.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/06/2013 20:59:38    1407472

Sergeant_Slash

Samsforthehills

We didn't start this, the Monaghan folk did, typical, a lesser GAA county slagging their more successful neighbours. I told you already, football didn't begin 30 years ago. Since the GAA was founded we've won a hell of a lot more than yous have. Fact. End of story.

Fair enough. And in the here and now when the game has fully established itself you are on a par with the likes of Antrim.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 15/06/2013 21:22:19    1407492

Samsforthehills

Fair enough. And in the here and now when the game has fully established itself you are on a par with the likes of Antrim.

Another twist of history to suit yourself. Nobody played or followed GAA in the 20's, 30's, 40's or 50's of course. What will you come out with next?

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/06/2013 21:31:56    1407510

Exile areal irish man dosn t recongise a border .keep sam across across the border? Sure tyrone were the last team to do that

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 15/06/2013 21:37:13    1407518

not just the 50's either we were more succesfull than monaghan in the 60's and probably in the 70's too

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 15/06/2013 21:42:18    1407526

midlu1, I'd say exiledcucu meant the provincial border. ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 15/06/2013 21:42:40    1407527

Midlu1
County: Louth

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 15/06/2013 21:51:43    1407541

Midlu1
County: Louth

FFS !!!!!!!!!!!!........Monaghan, Donegal and ourselves could've had countless Ulster titles. Jays, if we knew we didn't have to play Tyrone, Down, Derry, Fermanagh, Antrim, Fermanagh....WTF !!!!!!!

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2013 21:59:16    1407553

Maybe so.monaghan is the pick of the teams on that side would put the house on a monaghan v donegal final and donegal to win by about 5.

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 15/06/2013 21:59:31    1407555

Christ reading these posts from Cavan fans I hope we beat them out the door.

Anyway bacon has been ate. I'm away to Brewster. Hon Fermanagh

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 16/06/2013 11:36:11    1407631

Sergeant_Slash

Monaghan 13 Ulster titles. Fact.
Cavan 39 Ulster titles. Fact.

Monaghan, not a solitary Sam. Fact.
Cavan, 5 of em. Fact.

We didn't start this, the Monaghan folk did, typical, a lesser GAA county slagging their more successful neighbours. I told you already, football didn't begin 30 years ago. Since the GAA was founded we've won a hell of a lot more than yous have.

AH AH AH good job it didnt start 30 years ago,you's would only have one ulster title,ya tool!

Sergeant_Slash i think we found out that its you that has a serious spite / hate for Monaghan its written in ALL your posts.Im sure the rest of the people will agree,its plain to be seen,and im sick reading it,such muck,what age are you 106???

I was born in the 70's,anything that happened before this regarding sports records doesnt have any real bearing on what happens today...Monaghan won 5 Ulster titles from 1921-1938,you dont hear us SPOUT on about it.WHY BECAUSE WE WERENT THERE!!!.. my time on this world ive seen Monaghan win the following:

2 ULSTER SENIOR FOOTBALL TITLES 1985 1988
3 NATIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUES, Division 1 1985,Division 2 2005,Division 3 2013.

Thats 5 titles

Ive seen Cavan win 1 very very lucky UlSTER TITLE thanks in no small part to a MONAGHAN MAN,who had a very bad day at the office,a shot that was a foot wide,waved as a point,forward hopped the ball twice and kicked a point that was allowed stand!you's won by a point! LUCKY.

So in my life time its Monaghan 5 titles Cavan 1 title,who's the lesser county now,bucko!

Therefore i will NEVER see Cavan as a stronger county,our other neighbours have won more Ulsters and All Irelands in my time than Cavan did,yous are well down the pecking order kid,well down.

So Come back to me after 3.30 today,thats if yous dont fill the togs again like you's did in 2007 & 2010 when yous had the chance to play us!

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 16/06/2013 12:09:44    1407645

Sergeant_Slash

Samsforthehills

Another twist of history to suit yourself. Nobody played or followed GAA in the 20's, 30's, 40's or 50's of course. What will you come out with next?

Another twist of history? What were the other ones? You're not twisting things to suit yourself are you?
I've said once the game had fully established itself in the province and by that I mean the majority of counties in the province had properly asserted themselves and compete properly Cavan have struggled to keep up with the rest.

Don't know why Cavan people are so touchy about this, possibly because it lokos as thogh your glory days are long gone?

I will happily admit though that from a personal point of view I'd give 100 times more weight to the dominance of teams in Ulster modern times (Armagh/Tyrone) than Cavan beating teams who could barely muster a point or two in the 1910/20/30's. It's the same reason I'd give far more weight to Kerry's 4 in a row team in the 80's then the Wexford side who managed it when adam was a boy.

Good luck today. I hope it's not too much hassle getting in and out.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 16/06/2013 13:26:19    1407691