TheGateKeeper County: Tyrone Posts: 1772
I sincerely hope that the Ref will apply the rules regarding player encroahment at frees. It was a disgrace at Casement at the weekend. A player should refuse to take a free untill all the opposition players are out of the way.
I agree 100% with the sentiment. The only problem for the player taking the free is if he refuses to take the free until he thinks the opposing players are far enough back then the ref may well go for a hop ball. It is up to the ref to decide when a player is far enough back not the man taking the free.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 13/06/2013 09:41:35
I reckon Down will give Donegal a stiff run for their money on Sunday week.
While I would have expected a full strength Donegal to overcome Down, I certainly think the loss of Neil Gallagher and Karl Lacey will work strongly in Down's favour. The Mourne men look to have a very strong midfield pairing. Donegal are strong all over the park. They don't give away goals, and points are hard enough found against them too. They absorb pressure very well and are very efficient.
It will be another very strong test for the All Ireland champions.
GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 13/06/2013 17:54:55
Jesus these Cavan people never stop crying.....CHECK POINTS.....PARKING A MILE AWAY........TICKET PRICES.......REFEREE'S.......
I was in two towns today and thats all they could say,and they few people i did talk to aren't even going to the match!!
And they wonder why there are Cavan joke's!!!!
Get to Enniskillen for 12 oclock,park in dunne stores car park and walk the 10 mintue walk to the pitch for god sake.
When you's win a game you's dont be long telling everyone you's are the best supporters in the country......YEAH YOU'S GO WHEN IT SUITS YA'S!
On to the match,gonna be tight,might even need a replay,just think Cavan will sneek it,better forwards but only if the keep 15 men on the pitch.
Canavan will have a plan, if Fermanagh get in front early then Cavan will have to push up and they could get caught on the break!
hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 13/06/2013 20:41:34
God Hardcore you seem very bitter towards Cavan people. how many Ulster titles do youse have ? . is that the reason maybe.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 14/06/2013 18:28:07
Hardbore wheres all that bitterness coming from ? chill out and enjoy the game on Sunday, Cavan will have a big support in Brewster, checkpoints and delays are nothing new going to matches for seasoned Cavan supporters. How are the mighty Monaghan shaping up ??..... slippery divil that Anglo Celt Cup
facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 164 - 14/06/2013 20:37:39
Hello,please copy and paste where my post had anything bitter to say about Cavan people?
I was stating what i was told in two towns in the county during the week,noting but Moaning out of ya's,and to back up my post, i think you's should look at your own forum,plenty of topic's on match traveling and prices there to confirm these facts......so get back in your box!
As for your jibes at how many Ulster titles we have,it doesnt bother me one bit...........id rather win one that i was at/alive for(1988 thank god) than spout about titles that were won 60 odd years ago! so please change the record.
If you's win tomarrow i will look forward to having many a fine slagging match on here with you's for the next fortnight!!
hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 15/06/2013 13:37:14
hardcore County: Monaghan Posts: 745
As for your jibes at how many Ulster titles we have,it doesnt bother me one bit...........id rather win one that i was at/alive for(1988 thank god) than spout about titles that were won 60 odd years ago! so please change the record.
This is typical of the "small county syndrome" we all expect from jealous Monaghan fans whenever Cavan play a match. At least tomorrow we may put a bit of dignity back into Ulster football after yous tortured the country with the muck served up in Casement last week.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/06/2013 14:21:16
Sergeant_Slash County: Cavan Posts: 1900
This is typical of the "small county syndrome" we all expect from jealous Monaghan fans whenever Cavan play a match. At least tomorrow we may put a bit of dignity back into Ulster football after yous tortured the country with the muck served up in Casement last week.
Ah Ah,JEALOUS......of what, Cavan stuck in a time warp......grandaddy tales from the 40's & 50's.....please!
We didnt have to go flat out last sunday,as Antrim never wanted to test us,they just wanted to keep the score down.So we tipped round like it was a training match,not our fault the game turned out like it did.
Cavan or Fermanagh will see a totally different animal on the 29th of june,mark my words.
As for you's putting the dignity back in Ulster Football,dont make me laugh.......remember what Kildare done to you's last year,and you's at home?
ps. are you going to the match tomarrow,or is it to far to walk?
hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 15/06/2013 14:48:54
hardcore County: Monaghan Posts: 746
Ah Ah,JEALOUS......of what, Cavan stuck in a time warp......grandaddy tales from the 40's & 50's.....please! Jealous of the 39 Ulster titles and the 5 Sams we have. And as painful as it is for the neighbouring lesser GAA counties like Monaghan to accept, football didn't begin in the 1960's.
We didnt have to go flat out last sunday,as Antrim never wanted to test us,they just wanted to keep the score down.So we tipped round like it was a training match,not our fault the game turned out like it did. 17 wides was it? Yis just hit them for the craic I'd imagine.
Cavan or Fermanagh will see a totally different animal on the 29th of june,mark my words. Like the animals that came to Breifne Park this year in U21 and senior, can't wait.
As for you's putting the dignity back in Ulster Football,dont make me laugh.......remember what Kildare done to you's last year,and you's at home? Fact's don't lie my farney friend, Cavan are heads and shoulders above the rest of Ulster in terms of success and tradition, as I say, football didn't begin in the 1960's, but you can't help but laugh at the way Monaghan fans have to distort history to suit their arguments, "sure lets just blot out the first 70 years of the GAA LOL". Congratulations Kildare, they beat what was little more than an u21 team, a team 5-6 years behind them in development.
ps. are you going to the match tomarrow,or is it to far to walk?
No I'll be there, and please God I'll be at the semi final to watch us do a hatrick over the noisy, but less successful neighbours.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/06/2013 16:25:08
Jealous of the 39 Ulster titles and the 5 Sams we have. And as painful as it is for the neighbouring lesser GAA counties like Monaghan to accept, football didn't begin in the 1960's.
Cavan are currently a total non-entity in Ulster. Doesn't matter wehat you won way back when. One ulster title in 33 years is a dreadful return.
Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 15/06/2013 17:18:49
In fairness Slash, Cavan's one ulster title in 33 years is a dreadful return.
But in comparison to Donegal;
One Ulster Title in 88 years (1884-1972) One All Ireland in 108 years (1884-1992)
I'm not sure what the adjective would be ;)
https://www.google.ie/search?q=definition+of+inept..
ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2013 17:51:30
Samsforthehills County: Donegal Posts: 651
Cavan are currently a total non-entity in Ulster. Doesn't matter wehat you won way back when. One ulster title in 33 years is a dreadful return.
Of course it matters, the small time GAA counties like to blot out history and pretend that Gaelic football was invented in your own lifetime. I don't know maybe you like to think football began in 2011. Cavan's record still stands, and Donegal won't be breaking it any time soon, albeit its a challenge worth going for.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/06/2013 18:08:12
ExiledCuCu County: Cavan Posts: 51
1407343 In fairness Slash, Cavan's one ulster title in 33 years is a dreadful return.
But in comparison to Donegal;
One Ulster Title in 88 years (1884-1972) One All Ireland in 108 years (1884-1992)
I'm not sure what the adjective would be ;)
The difference is there's no Donegal people looking smug in Ivory towers. You wouldn't have Donegal people in 2010 slagging Monaghan people for not winning an Ulster since 88.
Cavan undoubtedly had a great tradition back in the early part of the 120th century and fair play to them. Unfortunately unlike other counties ala Kerry and Dublin you never used that as a spriongboard and adapted to modern football post 60's/70's and achieve consistent success. So for a team who bang on about success an awful lot one title in 33 years is a dreadful return. That statment is 100% accurate but no doubt the Cavan brigade will be along now getting precious again.
And as for Donegal. We toiled away and waited long enough as a county to make the breakthrough in 1972. Luckily as a county we have developed incredibly well and have been blessed to see 6 Anglo celts and Sam (twice) cross into the hills.
But you sit back there and regal in your former glories 60+ years ago.
Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 15/06/2013 18:09:57
Samsforthehills County: Donegal Posts: 652
Yeah. 5<2
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/06/2013 18:22:57
Yeah. 5>2 *Typo
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 15/06/2013 18:23:27
Ok, you win, Donegal are the best team in Ulster wearing Green and Gold.
ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2013 18:37:28
To paraphrase from Davy Fitz "I've seen two all Ireland's, you've seen f**k all".
Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 15/06/2013 18:37:51
Aah bless, I've seen every All Ireland (both hurling and football) since they were televised. got to go for tea, see ya !!
ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 295 - 15/06/2013 18:48:57
to hardcore, God u hav a spite, hatred, against CAVAN,are u afraid CAVAN, will beat yous,dont be so MEAN,is it true monaghan babies are born in CAVAN, does this mean CAVAN has 2 chances of winning ULSTER. i never heard a monaghan person say a good word about CAVAN, i dont know why, i get along with cavan, and monaghan people, anyway all the best to fermanagh,cavan, monaghan, may the best team win,
mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 15/06/2013 19:03:08
aah sam for hills, do u know CAVAN, DONEGAL, have good ties in gaa, helping each other etc,well whether we like it or not, Cavan has the most won in ULSTER, yes they are not the same as they were, one thing about them, they are modest, down to earth people, jimmy s winning matches.........
mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 15/06/2013 19:10:30