Ulster SFC 2013

RTE need to get their priorities right and stop televising the muck that is Ulster Football. After ten minutes of that borefest tonight I started watching Kilkenny and Dublin which was a cracker of a game. There should be a health warning before watching some of these Ulster games. Dour stuff

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 29/06/2013 21:17:19    1418541

Armagh, Tyrone, Down and Donegal defeats still hurting Kingdom???.......Good!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 29/06/2013 21:20:59    1418556

GaryMc82
County: Derry

Whats the most consecutive games won by a team in Ulster championship?

Cavan won 7 consectutive Ulster titles between 1931 and 1937, and 7 Ulster titles again between 1939 and 1945, which I would assume meant they played and won at the very least 21 games on the trot.

Antrim between 1908 and 1913 won 6 Ulster titles, which by modern championship format would suggest they played at least 18 matches.

------------------------------------------------------

Not necessarily....not all Ulster counties participated in the Ulster Championship back in the early days of the GAA...for example Donegals affiliation to the Ulster Council lapsed between 1906 and 1919...

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 29/06/2013 21:23:13    1418561

An Antrim man still living off kerrys past defeats to Armagh,Tyrone,Down and Donegal?......Pathetic.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 29/06/2013 21:26:19    1418567

Kingdom have you no hay to turn it was better by far than the kerry tipp game.

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 29/06/2013 21:26:43    1418568

If donegal had a second they d call it cavan

Midlu1 (Louth) - Posts: 790 - 29/06/2013 21:38:01    1418588

donegal v monaghan , i predict donegal , but i would still like to see monaghan put it up to them it would say a lot for cavan ,if monahgan has a good game against donegal ,but im not not anti monaghan i think this team would deserve something this year ,who knows .anyway just hope our cavan team keeps the progress up thats the main thing .well done lads

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 29/06/2013 21:49:54    1418627

yous can say whats you like about monaghan, for a small county, a 3rd uslter final in 6yrs, some going, you talk bout cynical fouling and monaghan, i think cavan got alot of easy frees tonight, fair play to the lads and thanks, for i go to every game, mckenna cup, league (no matter what div), bring on donegal and there brillant bunch of supporters, hi you never know

binman53 (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 29/06/2013 21:55:29    1418640

yes i believe monaghan will put it up to us in the final, this young cavan team will be back, a good game today, well a local derby, what did people want, or expect to happen,when an ulster final was at stake,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 29/06/2013 21:57:16    1418648

bisto kid

donegal v monaghan , i predict donegal , but i would still like to see monaghan put it up to them it would say a lot for cavan ,if monahgan has a good game against donegal ,but im not not anti monaghan i think this team would deserve something this year ,who knows .anyway just hope our cavan team keeps the progress up thats the main thing .well done lads

I think a tight Ulster final is very likely. No doubt Monaghan's players will be off work and training full time between now and July 21st. While Donegal may have a few players back, they may not be fully fit by that stage.

Donegal will not be seeing this as a walk in the park, they know they will be tested to the max. Nothing will motivate a team like Monaghan like playing in an Ulster final against reigning Ulster & All Ireland Champions Donegal.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 29/06/2013 21:57:19    1418650

Lifford Gael

GaryMc82

Cavan won 7 consectutive Ulster titles between 1931 and 1937, and 7 Ulster titles again between 1939 and 1945, which I would assume meant they played and won at the very least 21 games on the trot.

Antrim between 1908 and 1913 won 6 Ulster titles, which by modern championship format would suggest they played at least 18 matches.

------------------------------------------------------

Not necessarily....not all Ulster counties participated in the Ulster Championship back in the early days of the GAA...for example Donegals affiliation to the Ulster Council lapsed between 1906 and 1919...

I read in a local paper yesterday something about Donegal reaching the 10 Ulster games won in a row mark, which I thought was hardly a landmark when a great Cavan team won 7 Ulster titles back to back.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 29/06/2013 21:59:16    1418656

Some outrageous refereeing yesterday in the Cavan-Monaghan game. First off Monaghan should have had a penalty in the first half, our player used his hand to flick the ball off the line, the umpire is standing all of 2 feet away and he does nothing. Secondly a Monaghan sub comes in, first thing he does is hit our fb off the ball, making contact with the face and its a yellow. Also number 10 in the same episode strikes a player in the face and is not sent off. Thirdly the Monaghan keeper in the 72nd minute of a bruising local derby with neither side giving an inch, takes no less than 11 steps with the ball on his own 13 meter line and gets away with it.

Now its not sour grapes because I've given examples of grievances for both teams, but the GAA is in the midst of a refereeing/rule crisis and NOBODY, fans, pundits, the association itself wants to talk about it. It is the elephant in the room at this moment in time.

The fact that the tackle rule is so inconsistently enforced means games like yesterdays are impossible to referee.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 30/06/2013 13:19:32    1418934

kingdomfan

1418541 RTE need to get their priorities right and stop televising the muck that is Ulster Football. After ten minutes of that borefest tonight I started watching Kilkenny and Dublin which was a cracker of a game. There should be a health warning before watching some of these Ulster games. Dour stuff

Better & more exciting to watch than ANY Munster Chmp game, bar cork v Kerry annual decider!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 452 - 30/06/2013 13:37:24    1418957

Marty Duffy was like an extra man for Cavan yesterday,how could he have given a free in after all the decisions he give against Monaghan,the ball crossed the line at the start so it was a goal not a penalty.

Hardasnails (Monaghan) - Posts: 288 - 30/06/2013 14:39:34    1419001

The fact that Spillane and O'Rourke are talking about Ulster football at half time in a turgid soft Leinster 'Championship' match says it all really; they know that Ulster is the only real football Championship with passion and excitement.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 30/06/2013 14:56:25    1419033

Early last year their was a thread about the death or decline of Ulster football. While it may have been considered a foolish thread by last September 2012 when Donegal won the All Ireland, many were of the genuinely of the opinion that overall Ulster sides had fallen badly.

Yet so far in 2013 we have seen All Ireland champions Donegal play 2 Ulster championship matches and be really tested in both. Out of the 5 Ulster teams that entered Round 1 of the qualifiers, 4 have now proceeded to Round 2.
Looking at the Round 2 draw, I really see 4 Ulster sides entering Round 3 of the Qualifiers. This could easily have been 6 teams, had provincial teams been kept apart.

Not one hammering has been dished out in Ulster this year, every game has been relatively tight. Perhaps we are finally seeing the next wave of Ulster teams coming through. I was shocked that Fermanagh beat Westmeath, but shocked in a nice way.
With the likes of Derry, Monaghan, Cavan, Fermanagh and Armagh all making waves along with the established outfits of Donegal, Tyrone and Down, Ulster is looking exceptionally strong this year.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 01/07/2013 09:51:12    1419918

Can Monaghan beat the 6 point spread?

bladecx (Monaghan) - Posts: 147 - 16/07/2013 20:09:35    1433874

kingdomfan
1418541 RTE need to get their priorities right and stop televising the muck that is Ulster Football. After ten minutes of that borefest tonight I started watching Kilkenny and Dublin which was a cracker of a game. There should be a health warning before watching some of these Ulster games. Dour stuff

Rather watch a genuine contest than a game like the Munster final where each team decides to play for only 35 minutes each.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 17/07/2013 09:21:19    1434073

MuckrossHead

Rather watch a genuine contest than a game like the Munster final where each team decides to play for only 35 minutes each.

-----

Plus the Munster Championship yet again only had 1 game.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 17/07/2013 19:35:03    1434899

GaryMc82

Lifford Gael

GaryMc82

so how come all the talk now is that only 3 teams have ever won 3 consecutive ulster titles :Cavan 1947-1949 , Down 1959 - 1961 and Armagh 2004-2006. that's taken from Toda's independent.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 17/07/2013 20:03:01    1434921