Fat Frog, you're cringe-worthy.
I'd say you're from Mayo in reality because, thankfully, your arrogant tone is something reserved to other counties and certainly not Donegal. Give it a rest. Seriously.
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 28/05/2013 14:38:46
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7146
1393559 fatfrog Donal Vaughan trying to clean Lacy out of it in the All Ireland final and injures himself and Lacy pops up and gets on with it....
I recall him staying on the ground long enough to pretend he was injured though. A bit like that trip on murphy on sunday, how ever did he manage to get to his feet again? BTW, what would your opinion be on kevin mcloughlin 'popping up and getting on with it' after anthony thompson blatently gouged his eye in the league this year?
Ah Master for crying out loud. There was nothing "blatant" about it & any of us could go on a rant about perceived wrongdoings from the past.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 28/05/2013 14:43:25
In a bit of a mood still are we skillfull?? You may get used to feeling like that. I am very impressed how you have whitnessed every supporters experience of both games to put yourself in a position to comment on behalf of all of us. It was Derryman who compared the Donegal players to Gods, however I do like and will definitely be using that eulogy in future and must twitter it to Brolly, he'll definitely love it!!! You know something I think i'm even learning how to play mind games too...
fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 28/05/2013 15:50:18
Fatfrog I have seen it and heard it all before mostly from the bandwagoners who joined the tyrone ranks in 03 and most of yous wouldnt know if a ball is blown up or stuffed. I am not one bit in a mood after sunday I was in much more of a mood between 1990 - 1994 when we played in 4 championship games in 4 years or in 86 when we lost an all ireland having been 7 points up with 20 minutes to go or in 1995 when we lost another all ireland or the 2002 defeat to sligo or the 1981 ulster semi defeat to fermanagh. As you can see I have seen a long litany of misery following my native county. So you must excuse me when I get a little annoyed when o read idiotic postings from people like yourself. I can only assume your wet dehind the ears in the dynamics of the nature of the gaa supporter. If you actually are taken in by brollys made for tv soundbites I dont hold out much hope for you in the mind games.
Incidently on the game itself did anyone else think donegal defended very deep on sunday. I dont think the dubs or mayo will miss it
Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 28/05/2013 18:16:55
Where did all them stats of your dissapointments come from, i didnt know there was football before last september. I think your wrong about joe he is a fantastic pundit and very unbiased. Wet behind the ears? I think you need to get used to what every poster does on hoganstand from time to time, one of the straight talkers might tell you what a wum is? If you live up to your name you might even get a shout before the next game
fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 28/05/2013 21:06:34
I thought this game was done and dusted. Why are we still talking about it
derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 28/05/2013 21:22:43
Sorry derryman,just passing the time having a bit of criac. Your right time to move on to down and derry, im looking forward to it already, hope its a good game, and hope yas dont get the showers that kept on coming down on sunday
fatfrog (Donegal) - Posts: 200 - 28/05/2013 21:40:36
Skillful_Bill County: Tyrone Posts: 17
1393862 Incidently on the game itself did anyone else think donegal defended very deep on sunday. I dont think the dubs or mayo will miss it
I don't think Dublin or Mayo could read alot from Sundays game in fairness. Donegal not being at full strength and having a few men not at full fitness probably played a significant role on how Donegal set up shop. Having seen how Tyrone attacked against Dublin, Defending deep was possibly a tactic McGuinness felt would work, as it could possibly bring Tyrone forward in numbers and leave space for McFadden and McBrearty.
However Tyrone dominating midfield disrupted this, which essentially stopped Donegal getting quality ball into their forwards. . McGuinness Identified this and addressed it correctly. Was a very good tactical battle.
GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 28/05/2013 21:46:52
Garymc82
Your analysis may be spot on jim prob a his work but defending as deep against mayo or the dubs would be a harikarie they would pick them off at will. I think he was taking a big risk on sunday if tyrone had the forwards to convert. I would have liked to have seen Darren mccurry introduced He is maybe not as physically able v likes of donegal but he is very accurate of both feet.
Interesting stat is that over the three championship meetings donegal have converted 23 out of 27 score able frees tyrone 13 out of 29 which would suggest tyrone tatically have been right and the lack of a reliable free taker is largely to blame.
Skillful_Bill (Tyrone) - Posts: 102 - 29/05/2013 09:28:08
Skillful_Bill I agree 100% on your analysis but think Jim will have a differing game plan for each opponent and maybe he gambled a bit that Tyrone wouldn't have the forwards to convert and thats why the team defended deeper. I have always said that Mickey Harte has been our biggest opponent in recent seasons and has probably got his tactics more or less right in every game but just doesn't have the players at his disposal to carry out the game plan to its potential.
Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 29/05/2013 10:00:32
Skillful_Bill County: Tyrone Posts: 18
Interesting stat is that over the three championship meetings donegal have converted 23 out of 27 score able frees tyrone 13 out of 29 which would suggest tyrone tatically have been right and the lack of a reliable free taker is largely to blame. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I think if you examine where the frees came from, you may get a different impression. Donegal's size and power in their inside forward line means that they win possession more easily that Tyrone, and get a lot of fairly close range frees. Virtually all of Tyrone's last week were outside the 45. This was even more pronounced in the 2012 game.
Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 29/05/2013 10:19:12
Very blatent muckross.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/05/2013 10:22:40
TheMaster County: Mayo Posts: 7154
1394145 link
Very blatent muckross.
The very link you provide shows nothing. The fact tht over 400 people viewed it & nobody saw fit to comment one way or another suggests that it wasn't "blatant". For a man who had his eyes gouged the Mayo player showed very little in the way of ill effects & played on.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 29/05/2013 10:29:10
This topic is about Sunday's Ulster SFC meeting between Donegal and Tyrone. From now anything off topic will not be posted.
Thanks, Admin.
Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 29/05/2013 10:34:06
dgl2012 County: Donegal Posts: 14
1393365 Well done to Donegal. A great atmosphere in Ballybofey. We won by not playing at our full potential and with a few injuries. I think we can only improve once Lacey, McHugh and McGlynn are fully fit.
I was very diasppointed at the way Tyrone acted with their thuggish behaviour, this is not the answer when things are not going your way!
As for Morgan, I wouild say he feels very embarrassed at his silly behaviour to the crowd after he put over "1" 45. He can do that when he puts most of them over. I think he is young and immature and will learn from this.
Oh and 1 last thing where has Rahilly gone?? He must have gone on holidays for the break after the game. Hope to see you back on here again soon with your know all:)
26/05/2013 19:58:05 rahillyman County: Tyrone Posts: 150
1391849 just home from the game disappointing day again from a Tyrone point of view once again we fail to avail of the scoring opportunities. Best team won and it will take a good team to beat them fair play to donegal. As for Tyrone its back to the drawing board as to be honest we need to find players who can put the ball over the bar on todays display there wont be many teams fearing us. Donegal will probably go on and add another all Ireland the only Team i feel that can really challenge them are Mayo
Above is the post I posted at about 8pm on Sunday night i have no problem in admitting when we are beaten by a better team and most Tyrone posters on this thread have been the same. When you compare this to the reaction after Tyrone won the league game in Omagh. Most Donegal Posters on here have been fine but there are few who need to learn that is important to win with humility as well as to loose with humility. I havent changed my mind on the venue and still believe it was a wrong decision to play the game in Ballybofey , but i will move on and having suffered defeats before I am sure the team will regroup and give of their best in the qualifiers where that takes us who knows. I wish Donegal all the best for the rest of the season who knows there could be another game before the end of the year this time in a much bigger venue.
rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 29/05/2013 10:38:03
Fair play Rahillyman and best of luck to Tyrone too in the qualifiers, you might get a chance at revenge yet in 2013!!
Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 29/05/2013 10:55:03
Well said Rahilly, we have had our differences but I saw your post on Sun night & thought fair play. It is never easy to see your county beaten when GAA is in your blood but I'm sure we haven't seen the last of Tyrone this year.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 29/05/2013 12:27:10
Tir Conaill Abu County: Donegal Posts: 622
1394174 Fair play Rahillyman and best of luck to Tyrone too in the qualifiers, you might get a chance at revenge yet in 2013!!
to be honest I wouldnt be so sure of revenge after Sunday. The most disappointing thing from a tyrone point of veiw was during the week every paper i lifted Niall Morgan was in it. I would have thought the management could have protected him from all of this and someone could have advised him. This was his first championship Game and his concentration should have been totally on the game not getting involved with the crowd. The other worrying thing was our substitutions Conor McAliskeys was baffling to say the least. But maybe a run in the qualifiers will help some of the younger players and hopefully it will be used to give these players their opportunities
rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 29/05/2013 12:29:11
29/05/2013 12:27:10 MuckrossHead County: Donegal Posts: 1295
1394251 Well said Rahilly, we have had our differences but I saw your post on Sun night & thought fair play. It is never easy to see your county beaten when GAA is in your blood but I'm sure we haven't seen the last of Tyrone this year.
Never had a problem putting my hands up and admitting when I was beaten to be honest I was very impressed with Donegal on Sunday their Physique gaves them serious advantages over other teams and I actually think if the abandoned some of the shackles they would be very scary. As i said on Sunday night Im not so sure how we will go in the qualifiers I dont think anyone will have any fears playing Tyrone. I do hope we can avoid another Ulster Team and get a good performance behind us and then you never Know. I honestly believe though the All ireland is Donegals to loose I am not being dismissive of everyone else by saying that I said on Sunday i believe Mayo are the only team than can stop you's but they had a blow loosing O'Connor at the weekend.
rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 29/05/2013 12:56:53
Darragh O'Sé in the IT today.
I got into the car and drove home without the radio on. I wanted to see Donegal and Tyrone play without knowing a thing about what had happened and the difference between the two games was clear from the start. I had just come from watching Colm Cooper at his majestic best but the space he got in Killarney just didn't exist in Ballybofey. And if we go back to the couple of times the Tipperary forwards got into space, even that amount wasn't available above in the north. Okay, Donegal maybe managed to manufacture it a few times but the Tyrone players hardly ever saw it. The speed that the Donegal players funnel back at is incredible. I watched Frank McGlynn at one stage when the ball was turned over and he just put his head down and sprinted back into position. It's amazing how quickly space disappears in the time it takes for a hop or a solo. If you pause or ponder at all, the shutters come down.
Concentrate so hard The other thing they do is make you have to think of so many things while you're out on the pitch. You're having to concentrate so hard, all the while putting in such a big physical effort. It's one thing being alert but being alert for 70 minutes when every hit you put in gets returned to you and every turnover sees the ball disappear up the other end, that's what makes it so tough. Cork lived with them in the All Ireland quarter-final last year for the first half an hour. They scored some fine points against them and had as good a gameplan as any Donegal have been met with yet. But they ground them down mentally. Cork's tactical discipline went before half-time. If you're suiting up for a game against Donegal, you have to accept that you are going to be wrecked and you have to realise that that's what they want. Yes, you will be tired. And no, they're not going to stop running. Have you got it in you to keep making the right decisions? Donegal and Tyrone gave us exactly the match we were expecting. I said here last week that we should just look at it as a game on its own, with no real repercussions for the rest of the year and that's how they played it. People have decided that Tyrone are gone now but I wouldn't be so sure. They have a couple of months to reignite themselves and to learn from what they did wrong last Sunday.
I'd say young Niall Morgan (pictured above) will never learn a better lesson. I felt sorry for him on Sunday. That was a big long look in the mirror he got for himself and he got it in front of 18,000 people at 21 years of age. Say what you like about him winding up the crowd - which he obviously shouldn't have been at - but there's not many people who can brush off such a public jeering session at such a young age. To be honest, I was disappointed with Tyrone and with Mickey Harte for not having a Plan B when it came to Morgan. Everybody knew that Donegal were going to target him and you could see Michael Murphy and Rory Kavanagh giving him plenty as he went up to take his kicks. He should have been pre-armed with a plan for what to do if it went wrong. God knows Tyrone were the ones who opened the door on getting in fellas' ears and inside their heads.
Tyrone should have had a fall-back for Morgan. Let him chip a quick one into somebody making a run, let somebody else come out and kick it, have Conor Gormley or one of the McMahons go in there and horse Murphy and Kavanagh out of it if they're standing too close. The only thing I saw was one of the Tyrone players pacing off the distance between the ball and the Donegal players. Sure they were laughing at him!
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 29/05/2013 16:55:07