Donegal v Tyrone

Blue wave

If he was getting dogs abuse, which I don't think he was by the way, it can be traced back to Omagh and the League game...his behaviour and taunting of Michael Murphy that day left a very bitter taste indeed!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 26/05/2013 19:56:11    1391845

just home from the game disappointing day again from a Tyrone point of view once again we fail to avail of the scoring opportunities.
Best team won and it will take a good team to beat them fair play to donegal. As for Tyrone its back to the drawing board as to be honest we need to find players who can put the ball over the bar on todays display there wont be many teams fearing us.
Donegal will probably go on and add another all Ireland the only Team i feel that can really challenge them are Mayo

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 26/05/2013 19:58:05    1391849

Disappointed for sure,but not overly. I feel the 6 point difference,only 2 scores in this instance,flatters Donegal. Like I said previously they are a more polished side to our team in the making. Felt we had many chances to gain the upper hand but Morgans misfortune and some bad finishing from ourselves proved the difference. Donegal obviously took their chances better,Mc Faddens goal was fortunate,it was gifted to him,although all credit to him for his finishing.Loathe to be at referees but Joe Mc Mahon,although his action was foolish,should never have walked for that nonsense as it didnt even interfere with play,another ref would have given us a penalty aswell for that pull down.Work to be done in Tyrone for sure. Good luck to Donegal in rest of championship.Some on here saying they wouldn't fear meeting Tyrone and fair enough,but I wouldn't fear meeting Donegal either given their "performance" today. Tyrone lost it every bit as much as they won it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 26/05/2013 20:44:53    1391928

Well done Donegal, deserved win and I hope you can go all the way again this year, all that cr@p about lack of hunger, give me strength.As for Tyrone, in a word, wasteful, you can't hit that many wides against quality opposition and still believe you have a chance. Not sure what the appetite is for a trip around Ireland in the qualifiers, but sure we'll give it a go anyhow.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/05/2013 20:50:33    1391943

In my view the penalty could have been given there was a drag across the chest, there was a foul, but the tyrone player dived at contact which may have gone against him.
If he had not fallen as easy the penalty may have been given.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 26/05/2013 20:57:02    1391955

C u guys at the end of August (or later?!) hopefully anyway. gud luck on your travels.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3858 - 26/05/2013 20:59:55    1391961

Fair play to Donegal, fully deserving of their victory. When Tyrone drew it level at 0-9 to 1-6 I think we hit 5 or 6 wides in a row; Donegal then scored 1-4 without reply. Tyrone failed to score for over 30mins, half the game more or less. So we can have no complaints.

Now that's Ulster wrapped up for Donegal; looking forward to seeing if they can peak at the right time come Aug/Sept

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 26/05/2013 21:03:08    1391972

brendtheredhand

1391943 Well done Donegal, deserved win and I hope you can go all the way again this year, all that cr@p about lack of hunger, give me strength.As for Tyrone, in a word, wasteful, you can't hit that many wides against quality opposition and still believe you have a chance. Not sure what the appetite is for a trip around Ireland in the qualifiers, but sure we'll give it a go anyhow.

I think thats it,
Too many wides against an excellent team who are gonna punish you. start of second half when ye got level ye missed a few chances and once second goal went in felt it was over. a bit like Mayo in second half of allireland final there was a brief spell where if you pushed on there was MAYBE a chance but that was it.(Donegal might still have upped it who knows) Tyrone are still a good side and no one will want them in the qualifiers.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 26/05/2013 21:06:15    1391983

Tyrone were very sloppy. We dominated for most of the match and took too many wrong options. Donegal were that bit cuter, no way they would have conceded those goals, the men would have been pulled down. Tyrone gave away silly frees.

We certainly have the potential, perhaps now with the pressure will be off they might play better through the long route. The likes of Coney, McCurry and R. O'Neill might benefit from a run of games and pick up some form along the way.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 26/05/2013 21:06:42    1391985

As for Tyrone, in a word, wasteful, you can't hit that many wides against quality opposition and still believe you have a chance. Not sure what the appetite is for a trip around Ireland in the qualifiers, but sure we'll give it a go anyhow.

________

That's more than a word :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 26/05/2013 21:09:19    1391989

I'd imagine the Tyrone players will be kicking themselves after that. They cleaned the AI champions out of it in the middle of the park and still found themselves essentially out of the game with 10 minutes left. Possession is key in games with the only more important variable of what you actually do with it.

Donegal were effective and economical and deserve credit for the manner they sustained the game with so little possession and they also deserve great credit for finishing the game in a more than comfortable manner. It wasn't a classic in what were awful conditions but a very interesting game nonetheless!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 26/05/2013 21:22:23    1392012

So now we know.

Hey Wayno, apart from McFadden's first goal, what was your overall prediction for the result? Just curious since I nailed it...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/05/2013 21:31:20    1392026

Donegal started brighter building up a small lead, before Tyrone got things rolling and pegged them back. Tyrone were from that moment until half time winning more ball around the middle of the field, and looked to be tactically spot on. They had basically eliminated Neil Gallagher/Rory Kavanagh and had midfield in full control. Tyrone looked impressive at this stage.

However Donegal were the better side in the 2nd half, their substitutions made the greatest impact. I felt Martin O'Reilly, Martin McElhinney and Ross Wherity were all outstanding, look like men really looking to fight their way into the Donegal first team.

Donegal should have won it by more to be honest, they will be much stronger with Lacey, McGlynn, McHugh and co all fully match fit and starting.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 26/05/2013 21:33:32    1392035

4 things I learned today

1 Donegal have a bench
2 Donegal have the hunger
3 League form doesn't matter
4 McBrearty is a different player this year to last.

I feel that the reliance & hype on young Morgan's shoulders went a long way to Tyrone losing this game. The miracles he produced in Croke Park led to him becoming a talismanic figure and his crumbling under the pressure Donegal put him under affected the rest of the team.
What really surprised me was how Tyrone lost their discipline & shape towards the end. very unlike a Mickey Harte team.

Donegal now have 4 weeks to get ready for the Ulster semi final & I'd say JMcG is a very happy man tonight.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 26/05/2013 21:33:56    1392036

Muckross,

I'd say Jim McGuinness will be pleased, considering it was Tyrone they were playing. And yes Donegal have a bench, I was suprised how much of an Impact they made.

But there is much room for improvment from Donegal.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 26/05/2013 21:44:05    1392056

I thought Donegal bullied Tyrone and the officials a bit. Encroachment at free kicks, niggling O'Neill constantly, management at the linesmen , huge pressure on the referee every time Tyrone committed a foul and stopping Tyrone playing quick ball from frees. If the appropriate action had been taken for these incidents then it may have been a different game. That said, this Donegal team have a way of getting the job done. Their forwards are very economical and never seem to have a bad day. They are going to take a lot of stopping.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 26/05/2013 21:52:41    1392073

Well done to Donegal it is certainly the era of Donegal and even at this stage I think they will win Ulster and the All-Ireland. Tyrone have to accept at this stage we do not have the answer. Scores of 0.9, 0.10 and 0.10 in three championship games against Donegal is not enough.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1800 - 27/05/2013 08:13:29    1392093

Morgan should have kept a low profile until he had established himself. He has been in every paper in recent weeks giving us his insights into how much he admires Stephen Cluxton, the choice he had to make between soccer and football and how he has come so far in such a short time.......and he only in the team a wet day.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 27/05/2013 08:58:27    1392109

Well done to our lads yesterday and fair play to the Tyrone posters for being gracious in defeat. I know yous are hurting as I know we felt the same getting beat by Armagh year in and year out in the 00's.
On the game yesterday, like the other two encounters it was all about the result but don't think Mc Guinness will be too happy overall. We started very well but then allowed Tyrone to completely dominate possession and this could hurt you against a better forward line. Another problem was that we gave away too many frees, Morgan missed them but would cluxton? We were also very clinical up front which is a positive but we created much less chances than Tyrone and lost ball in the contact too often, Thompson was very guilty of this.
On the positive front, Lacey and Mc Hugh came on and although weren't at full pelt did well enough and the game time will help them, the other subs that came on all did well, especially Wherrity and Mc Elhinney.
I think Tyrone got too involved in the physical stakes with Donegal and that played into our hands as the Donegal lads are as physical as any team I have ever seen. Hard to feel sorry for Morgan after his antics of roaring into Murphys face when he missed the peno in Omagh but he'll learn from the experience and it still a good keeper today, just had a sore lesson in humility yesterday. I think Conor Clarke is a very good player but didn't see too many others playing well for Tyrone yesterday. O' Neill was bottled up, Cavanagh tried hard but would have been better deployed running from deep than further up the field. I honestly think this defeat will have a very negative effect on Tyrone and will need a favourable run of opponents to make the quarters.
Hope all got home safe, for all the Donegal fans, we'll enjoy these wins now when we're getting them as I know they won't last forever but heres hoping we can win the next few games and get the three in a row, Derry/Down won't be easy though!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 27/05/2013 09:38:55    1392126

Muckross, that is fair enough, but to be honest with you, the most thing I learned is that tyrone are not as good as they were being billed.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 27/05/2013 09:47:49    1392140