Donegal v Tyrone

tyroneed

1389353 I think Tyrone to win this by a bit or else a draw. I suspect if Tyrone are ahead by only one or two the crowd may sway the referee.

The best example of 'getting your excuses in early' that I've seen in a long time

I'm absolutely amazed that after the song and dance made by Tyrone to play the game in Clones that they've now sent back tickets. As for the game itself, I think it will be tight and unforgiving. I'm hoping that Donegal's experience can pull them through, I don't expect there to be too much in it. Donegal by 3

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 22/05/2013 21:20:16    1389401

It just doesn't add up to me Sam, bizarre situation indeed. I'm happy to add that I supported Donegals stance from day one, there was no need for the nonsense coming from the county board and elements among the Tyrone support, they are the home team and have every right to decide where the game should be played. I know its a bit late in the day but I hope that this finally puts this to bed and we can get on with the football.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 22/05/2013 21:29:00    1389404

Many a champion beaten on the defence on the crown. I remember Monaghan beating a fancied Armagh side. Down beating Derry . It happens more frequently in ulster. Big pressure on Donegal. I think Tyrone by 2 or 3.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 22/05/2013 21:34:36    1389414

seanie_boy

1388706 Not the end of the world for either team.And if ye can't get over the "serious psychological trauma" caused by this loss then ye shouldn't be playing anyway! Enough of the psycho babble lads especially GaryMc cos your taking this whole reverse psychology to new heights on here.You must think that Mickey Harte and the Tyrone players are on here reading all this analysis.

What psycho babble do you refer to? My point of Tyrone being under more pressure to win this year stands.

If Tyrone exit the Ulster championship for the 3rd year running to Donegal, It will be damaging blow to the Tyrone players. Mickey Harte himself elluded to this after the League match in Omagh, about how losing too often to one team can start players thinking they can't beat that particular opposition.

For Donegal to lose would of course be a major blow for them, but I reckon they could handle it slightly better on the back of recent successes over Tyrone and in the Championship overall.

Now just because I said more pressure will be on Tyrone, I don't believe either themselves or Donegal will be effected by it prior to this game. My original point was aimed at those who are of the opinion all the pressure was on Donegal going into and after this game, Which isn't true at all.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 22/05/2013 21:52:54    1389431

Where will Tyrone be stronger over Donegal this year? And which area's will either team be weaker in?

I've heard 45's and free's being mentioned a lot in Tyrone's favour by many pundits, and I agree Niall Morgan brings that added dimension to them.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 22/05/2013 22:00:58    1389440

sam57
County: Louth

It looks fierce bad on Tyrone after the whinging that they've done.
The spin about the terraces is the weirdest I've heard, if there were only Hill16 tickets left for an all Ireland would they be turned down?
-------------------------------------------------
The terrace thing was put forth by a Donegal official as the reason people,including some Donegal people,with youngsters in tow might not want to attend.Now I still don't know why the tickets weren't distributed some how as I personally know many people who are raging that they were handed back.People that would have loved to go.
I must say though Sam that your comparison to an all Ireland final is complete nonsense.A team reaches all Ireland finals very rarely,unless off course you are from a few select counties,a team is in the first round tie of their own provincial championship every year.Lets keep things in perspective in that regard.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2013 09:27:33    1389457

Fair enough GaryMc,your entitled to your opinion.So to be clear,you think that Donegal who have been relegated already this year will be less adversely affected by a defeat than Tyrone's team in the making who are not quite the finished article just yet? That Donegal,who are the finished article,would relinquish their Ulster crown to the young pretenders of Tyrone and be just fine? If thats what you are claiming then I disagree with you.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/05/2013 09:46:58    1389463

To all those slagging Tyrone for handing back tickets, I'd say ease off a bit.
The media played a big part in hyping the capacity of Mac Cumhaill Park and sending everyone into a ticket frenzy. When a shortage is expected all of a sudden everyone wants a ticket but if the possibility of a shortage hadn't been publicised I can guarantee that not all those wanting a ticket would have looked for one.
I have spoken to two different club officials in Donegal this week that asked for their quota on tickets and are now looking at the possibility of being over stocked although I know a few clubs that are looking for more!! I'll be suprised if there won't be tickets available on Sunday.
The Donegal faithful had an expensive year last year, Tyrone are just coming off the back of two trips to Croke Park so with the times thats in it maybe some supporters haven't the money and will be just as happy to watch on television. I would also expect that there is circa 1000 lads from Donegal who were at this game last year and are now on foreign soil as can be seen in our club games hit with emigration.
I don't doubt the passion from the supporters that do attend will be on full view and hope we get the game we expect with ofcourse a Donegal win!!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1686 - 23/05/2013 11:11:35    1389528

Good Post Tir Conaill.

The only people who should be getting a bit of grief are those who lost the run of themselves in abusing Donegal for sticking to their guns. Yes Rahillyman I am talking about you.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 23/05/2013 11:27:41    1389535

I find it amazing that the whole country Now knows about the 1000 tickets the county board gave back but who knew about them when they had them??? All they needed to do was put a line on here saying they had 1000 tickets for sale in Omagh , Cookstown or where ever and I'd have been there with a lot of Tyrone people to get them. We have a great County board but sometime they can be a bit dim. Up Tyrone

CoTyrone (Tyrone) - Posts: 261 - 23/05/2013 12:14:37    1389580

I would tend to agree with the thing about the terrace, the tiered system wouldn't be the same as some grounds so it doesn't offer the best of viewing points, especially for young children. I remember Armagh in 2007 first round of champ and the hype was huge after winning the league and the ground was packed, only game I felt uncomfortable in a terrace. But there are other reasons too I'm sure for the returned tickets, the media definitely overhyped the venue/capacity/ticket shortage etc. debacle.

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 23/05/2013 12:16:56    1389583

MuckrossHead

1389535 Good Post Tir Conaill.

The only people who should be getting a bit of grief are those who lost the run of themselves in abusing Donegal for sticking to their guns. Yes Rahillyman I am talking about you.

I make no apologies for anything I said on the ticket issue. I stand by what I said the game should no be in Ballybofey and whether terrace tickets are handed back or not I know quite a few people who couldnt get tikets to attend on Sunday some of these people have been going to tyrone games for years. Donegal have made their call and I hope that the Tyrone players can give the answers to that on the pitch on Sunday.

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 23/05/2013 12:52:43    1389622

The media played a big part in hyping the capacity of Mac Cumhaill Park and sending everyone into a ticket frenzy. When a shortage is expected all of a sudden everyone wants a ticket but if the possibility of a shortage hadn't been publicised I can guarantee that not all those wanting a ticket would have looked for one.

-----------

Somebody within Tyrone GAA made this an issue and got their contacts and friends in the media to whip up a highly unsporting campaign to get a legitimate Donegal home tie moved.
The excuse put forward for this under hand campaign has been shown to be a complete falsehood. I think therefore, we are entitled to ask legitimate questions about their conduct.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 23/05/2013 13:15:08    1389650

22/05/2013 16:01:45
Donegalman

hardcore
County: Monaghan

Dun na nGall by 7 to 10 points,the carry on that went on in Omagh in the league will be brought up more than once in the dressing room sunday,Neill McGee will take care of Stephen O'Neill,and that will end Tyrone.

There was no carry on that day. It was a very competitive match and no arguments or appeals were lodged about red or yellow cards. Everyone got on with the business end of things, it happened to be Tyrone's day that day. But no, that game is not an issue for either team now. If anything, Tyrone will want this all the more, and that hunger is very hard to beat

Plenty went on that day Donegalman......... McGee had to be held back by several players at the end of the match,after plenty of mouthing from Tyrone boys,Karl lacey spat on in the stand,Murphy getting sent off for noting..........Dont tell me Jim wont have these facts all ready for sunday,because he will.

The 26th of May is all he has spoken about since the end of March.......this is were it begins,not an auld league match were Tyrone taught they were going to win it out,granted the missed O'Neill but he wont count sunday you watch!

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 23/05/2013 14:16:43    1389720

I think the ticket issue is very easily explained.
If the match was in Clones I would have been there with my wife and 4 children.
I didn't even try to get tickets for Ballybofey as I didn't want to have them standing on packed terraces even if I could have got 6 tickets.
I think most families wouldn't place their children at risk in this situation.
GAA lost out here on sale of 6 tickets. Would have been plenty of room in Clones, even with 25000 odd there
Looking forward now to watching a great game on tv

Redhandsam (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 23/05/2013 14:33:13    1389732

I agree bally buffet is not a great ground to have young kids standing in areas where their going to be jostled no family friendly enclose I think the Ulster council called this wrong such a big game should have been played in Clones I won't be there nor will I be listening as I managed to get 4 tickets for the Radio one big weekend sunday session so my wife and 2 youngest will enjoy a Family day out ...... good luck to those folk travelling and the very best of luck to our young Red Hand team on Sunday Seniors and Minors Tir Eoghain abu!.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 23/05/2013 14:53:59    1389751

The 26th of May is all he has spoken about since the end of March.......

Is this a statement of fact hardcore or the wishful thinking of a Monaghan man who soon enough will discover that he has a lot of free time to himself this summer?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/05/2013 14:55:03    1389752

On second thoughts I have absolutely no faith in Donegal and see Tyrone winning this by seven points. You heard it here first.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 23/05/2013 14:59:17    1389757

Good interview here with Eamonn McGee about the game on Sunday. Interesting about how he holds Ricey McMenamin's sledging skills in such high regard and aspires to be as good as he was!!!

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/sport/local-sport/eamon-in-a-good-space-ahead-of-tyrone-challenge-1-5122421#.UZ3z9QCs1pQ.twitter

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 23/05/2013 15:07:04    1389773

"Who's markin Ricey, Who's markin Ricey"..Ricey was very friendly with Cass so assume knew Eamon through him. This interview was in yesterdays Irish news yesterday.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 23/05/2013 15:16:41    1389781