Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

One player in aprticular seems to be the suspect here, a young lad who has only a hand full of appearances. ClondalkinDub kinda pointed the finger at him earlier in this thread. Now, I have learnt a bit more about this from a media source over night and while I am not going to say who the suspect is for obvious reasons, I will say this. The young player many seems to think is to blame, is NOT the suspected party.
CkDub, I dunno who your source for him was, but its wrong. That particular player is in no way connected to this incident.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/04/2013 08:55:32    1364523

Re: wayno1 f it was a Donegal player who was accused of BITING another player while represening their county, Would you not urge people to relax and wait until there is proof of what actually happened ? Would you not label that Donegal player Innocent until proven guilty or would you without any hesitation slate a Donegal player despite not having the facts and ask for a huge ban ?

If it was a Donegal player that did it I'd expect him to have the contriteness to own up to his despicable act to a fellow Gael regardless of provocation. All of this BS about proof, video evidence etc There's no smoke without fire. If the Donegal backroom team saw fit to report it to the referee and draw the Dublin backroom team's attention to it then it's good enough for me. Paddy is a tough young lad from a part of Donegal where crying and whinging about something will get you nowhere. So if he saw fit to report being BITTEN by another human being I'd be inclined to believe him.

I'm not in a position to say what a sufficient punishment should be but if this person had any modicum of human decency he should step forward, admit his act of cowardly thuggery and take his medicine. End of.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10373 - 10/04/2013 09:20:00    1364536

By Donegal not naming the supposed culprit they have cast a shadow over the entire Dublin squad, this might bode well for them to try and get a Dublin player sent off should we meet in the summer.

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 10/04/2013 09:33:32    1364542

180 odd posts, no video link, no official CCC statement, no player named and ultimately no evidence!

I'm not saying what may have occurred is acceptable im not but the amount of hot air been thrown around this thread is ridiculous to be honest.

Can we not just sit back keep quiet and wait and see what happens before pointing fingers and making assumptions.its not a game of cluedo. its a serious incident and could have serious consequences the last thing any player who may have been involved needs is all this talk going around of possible candidates when in truth the evidence is at present stacked against the the incident ever occuring.

crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 10/04/2013 09:35:09    1364543

Crossfield, if this was any other county incolved that is exactly what would happen, but u just know that when a few lads on here saw Dubs and Biting it was like Christmas to them
FACT!

The only other county who would get the same treatment as us from the masses is Tyrone
People love a bad story about Dublin and Tyrone

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/04/2013 10:04:11    1364564

Again I ask what would Paddy McBrearty have to gain by making this stuff up? He has strong links to Dublin with his Uncle being a former Dublin player as far as I know.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 10/04/2013 10:08:54    1364570

Thomas Clarke

1364487 Wayno, this has nothing to do with video evidence. As Joxer has put so well when he references Sherlock Holmes, and as many other Dubs on here have also opined, this is about doing the right thing. It isn't about circling the wagons and demanding proof - it is about being honest and decent.

Look at what is known: We have a brilliant young footballer with a bite mark, something that was apparently verified by both team doctors and which required a stitch, a tetanus injection in hospital and a course of antibiotics. So, if we accept that he was bitten, one of 3 things has happened. Either McBrearty was bitten by a Dublin player; he was bitten by a Donegal player; or he made the whole thing up. Which seems most likely to you?

I've no doubt that the Dublin dressing room is full of decent lads but, although I'm sure they will be as disgusted as any of us, they won't want to throw their team-mate and friend to the wolves. That is understandable, but sometimes doing the right thing is not the easiest thing. McBrearty was bitten. The dogs on the street seem to know who bit him. Let's stop talking about videos and talk about honesty, decency and, as Snuff said earlier, manliness.

seems your wrong andy kettle statement said the dublin team doctor said the player only had a bruise.so both doctors didnt agree.
could this be a situation of the boy who cried wolf?
as far as you me or anybody else knows here its all just media speculation until any actual proof is given either way.
why didnt donegal county board contact dublin county board as the proper procedure and ask them to investigate the accusation?
its all just ifs and buts at the moment,the only simple fact of the matter is there was 8 thousand people at a match a camera crew and a set of officials and none of these people saw the incident so unless you do a DNA test its going to be very hard to determine anything.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/04/2013 10:14:43    1364578

sedico

Again I ask what would Paddy McBrearty have to gain by making this stuff up? He has strong links to Dublin with his Uncle being a former Dublin player as far as I know.

he was actually born and rared in dublin himself and moved to donegal when he was ten.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/04/2013 10:26:25    1364590

An investigation has now begun by the CCCC into the incident.

Let's see what comes from this before jumping any guns. I'm sure a suitable punishment will be administered to any player found guilty of biting another.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 10/04/2013 10:31:16    1364591

Liamwalkinstown

ah here JayP, dont be so ridiculous
Unless PM bit first then there is NO excuse, absolutely none
hit a fella a clatter if your annoyed at him, do not bite or spit, EVER
Especially not in a blue jersey

Jackeen, i feel ashamed as a Dub fan. That a fella given the priviliged position of wearing that shirt, representing us, saw fit whilst wearing the shirt, to bite another player
I feel shamed and frankly disgusted

what a differance a day makes it seems,that was what you said yesterday.
and called myself this and that for saying otherwise,now your saying the opposite!!! bit of a hypocrite arent you liamo!!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/04/2013 10:32:16    1364594

He grew up in Dublin his mothers side are Dubs, he goes to maynooth college and lives with his granny in terenure. Liam I don't know how it could be wrong, obviously from where I'm from I know people from the back room team, but maybe they gave a different name for what reason I don't know.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/04/2013 10:35:03    1364599

Maybe he bit himself?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3859 - 10/04/2013 10:49:40    1364610

I wish this thread can be put to bed until we get some actual evidence/proof of one player bitting another.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 10/04/2013 10:59:17    1364615

U know what lads, the more that comes out about this, and with Donegal saying nothing and Kettle denying their claims.....if it turns out the Dublin doctor did not agree with them as Donegal claimed, and there is no proof of this incident whatsoever ...Donegal are gonna look really really stupid here!
And the Dublin Physio (David Hickey I think) will be well within his rights to complain the Donegal County Board to the GAA!

Hill - point taken. I apologise to you man. Sorry.

Clondalkin - the player being mentioned in media circles is not, thats all I will say on it

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/04/2013 11:09:03    1364622

This whole incident is very disappointing. The GAA needs to act fast and find the culprit. I have heard of 4 different Dublin players who are supposed to have done it. Surely thats not fair either on the Dublin players as each one could be classed as a suspect?? Whoever is the alleged biter should have their name put forward and be proven innocent before proven guilty. If its true and i have no doubt that there are elements of truth to the story, then that individual should get a life ban from the GAA. No place for it. Spitting/ throwing Blood/ biting have no place in the GAA.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 10/04/2013 11:27:23    1364641

There's alot of confusion over this alleged incident with conflicting reports... initial reports from Donegal described a laceration. Now we hear from Andy kettle about a memeber of the Dublin medical staff being shown a bruise.... It's very importnant that the CCCC get to the bottom of this denial/exageration - can't see a it happening though without a match official as a witness.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 10/04/2013 11:36:30    1364647

bernardmessi

By Donegal not naming the supposed culprit they have cast a shadow over the entire Dublin squad, this might bode well for them to try and get a Dublin player sent off should we meet in the summer.

I suppose it was only a matter of time before Donegal got blamed for all this.
I'm just waiting now for someone to suggest that JMcG bit him!!!!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 10/04/2013 11:40:14    1364654

The Donegal County Boards reaction to this has been a thundering disgrace
they are hanging all the Dublin players out to dry
Maybe that suits them
This couldnt be a ploy.................could it lads???

I was very adamant in my earlier posts in condemning the Dublin player whoever he was from a height as I presumed the Donegal CB would never have let this go so far unless it was true, however the longer they drag this out the more it starts to stink of BS and if that is proven to be the case then Donegal should have the book thrown at them

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/04/2013 11:41:18    1364655

Muckross if ye're county board would just come out and tell us what they know then it would stop all the confusion
Their silence speaks volumes for them and if this is BS then they ARE to blame

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 10/04/2013 11:42:42    1364658

Why are people calling this a bite?.....it has been described as a """GRAZE""" that looked like a bite!!!

If I had a cat that looked like a dog, it would still be a cat!!......the Donegal man suffered a 'graze' on his shoulder!!

Dont blame me!.....thats the word...."GRAZE"!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/04/2013 12:10:40    1364679