Paddy McBrearty bitten by Dublin player?

In the absence of hard facts it's hard to come to any conclusion. Best to wait for more info I suppose. On the face of it it doesn't look too serious, the novelty factor of a bite adding to the story which the papers are only too happy to big up.

Mind you there will be no disputing Dublin's hunger for success after this!! Boom Boom

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 09/04/2013 18:48:05    1364342

If this is true then would like to add my voice to those of my fellow dubs in condemning the incident. Apologies to the Donegal players, fans and PM. The player should be banned for the rest of the year following investigation. In the interest of fairness PM's role leading up to the incident should also be investigated. Was there an altercation beforehand? I'm not excusing the act in any way but interaction between both players leading up to the incident should be looked at closely before interviewing both parties. There are normally two sides to the story with incidents like this so let's get it all out on the table and act very swiftly on it.

Again shocking incident and I'm sure all dubs will condemn when the whole story comes out.

Joxer.. Did you see this biting incident ? Cause nbody else has seen it so again when the proof is there then and only then should anybody be apologizing to Donegal players/fans and so forth. The player should not be banned for the year following investigation UNLESS he is found guilty. Until then please refrain from pre punishing the guy

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 19:09:17    1364354

Mind you there will be no disputing Dublin's hunger for success after this!! Boom Boom

________

Badum dum dush :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 19:10:03    1364355

Fair play to you Snuff trying to brush this one under the carpet so you can get back to talking about Kerrys relegation and demise .......... Oh Wait ;)

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 09/04/2013 19:26:43    1364365

Many of the comments on this thread display the
blatant hypocrisy Hoganstand is renowned for!
'Some' Dublin supporters have very short memories
regarding comments made on recent threads! Must be
a bad case of amnesia in parts of the capital!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 09/04/2013 19:33:52    1364369

If this is true then would like to add my voice to those of my fellow dubs in condemning the incident. Apologies to the Donegal players, fans and PM. The player should be banned for the rest of the year following investigation. In the interest of fairness PM's role leading up to the incident should also be investigated. Was there an altercation beforehand? I'm not excusing the act in any way but interaction between both players leading up to the incident should be looked at closely before interviewing both parties. There are normally two sides to the story with incidents like this so let's get it all out on the table and act very swiftly on it.

Again shocking incident and I'm sure all dubs will condemn when the whole story comes out.

Joxer.. Did you see this biting incident ? Cause nbody else has seen it so again when the proof is there then and only then should anybody be apologizing to Donegal players/fans and so forth. The player should not be banned for the year following investigation UNLESS he is found guilty. Until then please refrain from pre punishing the guy

Wayno READ the first 4 words of my post. You'd do well to heed what you read before typing knee jerk responses. I put a massive caveat at the beginning of my post. So far it has to be said it appears that a Donegal player received an injury and it apparently wasn't inflicted by another Donegal player or by the Hound of the Baskervilles. Too early to draw solid conclusions but at this stage it's fair to say that Sherlock Holmes' services will not be required on this case.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 09/04/2013 19:34:08    1364370

This is getting a bit silly from some posters on here whom I know do not represent the genuine Dublin fans I've had the pleasure of having the craic with down through the years win, lose or draw.

If it was a Donegal player who was accused of BITING another player while representing their county I wouldn't be asking how bad was the bite, was there much of a mark or did anyone get a picture? I would be disgusted and embarassed by the shame he brought on the county and want him off the panel. Its black and white if he did it (which at this stage with news coming out of both camps we know he did) then show him the door.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 09/04/2013 19:58:51    1364380

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

Fair play to you Snuff trying to brush this one under the carpet so you can get back to talking about Kerrys relegation and demise .......... Oh Wait ;)

You're very welcome by the way............

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 09/04/2013 20:01:33    1364383

I'm not suggesting there wasn't a bite. I'm not saying PM is lying. I'm saying the Dublin player is innocent until he is PROVEN guilty and until then its unfair and wrong for people to automatically say he should be banned for life. How can you say that when none of us have seen the incident. The FACT of the matter is , Unless there is hard evidence to back it up no action will be taken because one persons word against another will NEVER ever stand up.

IF a Dublin player is found guilty, that Dublin player should NEVER EVER BE ALLOWED TO PLAY FOR DUBLIN AGAIN...EVER, Bt until there is absolute definitive 100% proof, Then this is all hear say and rumour. I would like to think no Dublin player stooped so low but if they did they will be dealt with but until then this talk is premature

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 20:15:37    1364393

MesAmis

Ciarrai Abu
County: Overseas

You're very welcome by the way............

There's a bag of the finest Kerry turf on it way up to Glenalbyn with Mannion's name on it.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 09/04/2013 20:20:04    1364395

If it was a Donegal player who was accused of BITING another player while representing their county I wouldn't be asking how bad was the bite, was there much of a mark or did anyone get a picture? I would be disgusted and embarassed by the shame he brought on the county and want him off the panel. Its black and white if he did it (which at this stage with news coming out of both camps we know he did) then show him the door.

If it was a Donegal player who was accused of BITING another player while represening their county, Would you not urge people to relax and wait until there is proof of what actually happened ? Would you not label that Donegal player Innocent until proven guilty or would you without any hesitation slate a Donegal player despite not having the facts and ask for a huge ban ?

This country has a way of viewing people accused of crime in modern society. That is that EVERYONE is innocent until proven guilty.

There is absolutely no shame whatsoever that will change if its proven that a Dublin player bit PM, Until then i will support every Dublin player equally until something solid comes out and leaves me no option but to call for a long ban.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 20:22:16    1364399

Innocent till proven guilty ........ Wayno its a pity and hugely coincidental that you have all of a sudden begun applying such logic! I suppose it being a Dublin player it changes everything!!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 09/04/2013 20:22:30    1364400

I have never commented on an incident unless i have seen actual video footage of the incident and i guarantee you can look back over as many threads in my time here and see . I have not seen this incident, Nor have you, So logically it makes sense to see the Dublin player as innocent until such evidence comes about that he is undeniably guilty in which case he will be dealt with in the severest manner by the Dublin county board and will be lambasted by Dublin fans everywhere.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 20:46:20    1364422

Thats my point it doesn't matter what can be proven by actual video/photo evidence. Gavin and his players will know what happened same as the Donegal panel, I'm sure they have talked about it and I'm sure the accused wouldn't lie to his team if he was asked.

If there is a bite mark there (which isn't much of an if!) its up to the Dublin backroom team to dish out their punishment, regardless of what the GAA do. I've never seen a picture/video or whatever 'actual' evidence you need of Hitler hurting anyone either!

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 09/04/2013 20:54:52    1364430

Thats my point it doesn't matter what can be proven by actual video/photo evidence. Gavin and his players will know what happened same as the Donegal panel, I'm sure they have talked about it and I'm sure the accused wouldn't lie to his team if he was asked

________

Well the CCC cant and wont take any action unless there is video footage that shows the incident.

If the news is to be believed that Dublin dont feel they have a case to answer they obviously believe the wound was not a bite. So they believe their man same way Donegal would believe their man that it was a bite wound. They both trust their players as would naturally be the case

Nothing will come of this.. Its one teams word against the other. One player against the other. I hope someone finds video evidence so we can put this to bed one way or another

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 09/04/2013 21:14:02    1364440

Wayno, this has nothing to do with video evidence. As Joxer has put so well when he references Sherlock Holmes, and as many other Dubs on here have also opined, this is about doing the right thing. It isn't about circling the wagons and demanding proof - it is about being honest and decent.

Look at what is known: We have a brilliant young footballer with a bite mark, something that was apparently verified by both team doctors and which required a stitch, a tetanus injection in hospital and a course of antibiotics. So, if we accept that he was bitten, one of 3 things has happened. Either McBrearty was bitten by a Dublin player; he was bitten by a Donegal player; or he made the whole thing up. Which seems most likely to you?

I've no doubt that the Dublin dressing room is full of decent lads but, although I'm sure they will be as disgusted as any of us, they won't want to throw their team-mate and friend to the wolves. That is understandable, but sometimes doing the right thing is not the easiest thing. McBrearty was bitten. The dogs on the street seem to know who bit him. Let's stop talking about videos and talk about honesty, decency and, as Snuff said earlier, manliness.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 09/04/2013 21:46:40    1364487

Donegal won't pursue it because their man is not seriously hurt for his Ulster final tomorrow night and it won't change the result anyway. But they took photos, and showed the Dublin doctor his injury in case the CCC or Dublin GAA think biting is something one their players shouldn't be doing so its in their hands now to do what they feel they should. I can take a good guess as to how both will deal with it.

SeanieSense (Donegal) - Posts: 328 - 09/04/2013 21:51:30    1364491

Just like to say,if this is proven to be true,this person should never be allowed to put on a Dublin jersey again.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 09/04/2013 21:56:25    1364499

So Kettle supposedly said that the burden of proof lies with Donegal. I find this to be a very disturbing development. A lot of people here are saying 'innocent until proven guilty'. Fair enough but what would McBearty or Donegal gain by making up this stuff?

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 10/04/2013 08:29:51    1364513

Thomas Clarke

1364487 Wayno, this has nothing to do with video evidence. As Joxer has put so well when he references Sherlock Holmes, and as many other Dubs on here have also opined, this is about doing the right thing. It isn't about circling the wagons and demanding proof - it is about being honest and decent.

Look at what is known: We have a brilliant young footballer with a bite mark, something that was apparently verified by both team doctors and which required a stitch, a tetanus injection in hospital and a course of antibiotics. So, if we accept that he was bitten, one of 3 things has happened. Either McBrearty was bitten by a Dublin player; he was bitten by a Donegal player; or he made the whole thing up. Which seems most likely to you?

I've no doubt that the Dublin dressing room is full of decent lads but, although I'm sure they will be as disgusted as any of us, they won't want to throw their team-mate and friend to the wolves. That is understandable, but sometimes doing the right thing is not the easiest thing. McBrearty was bitten. The dogs on the street seem to know who bit him. Let's stop talking about videos and talk about honesty, decency and, as Snuff said earlier, manliness.

Well said, you arte correct in every aspect of this post.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 10/04/2013 08:44:52    1364517