Black Card For or Against?

Dreading it's haphazard mishmash application by referees already.

Marty Duffy will be especially bad.Mark my words.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 23/03/2013 21:23:04    1354876

because our dear president of the gaa. who failed to be elected to the position due to no contest, said football was boring and declared himself a hurling man.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 23/03/2013 21:27:09    1354879

You only get 5 replacements, black cards and substitutions, so nothing has changed regarding the number of replacements a team can make.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 23/03/2013 21:31:42    1354886

Snapper its now 6 subd

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 23/03/2013 21:37:47    1354900

6 subs

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 23/03/2013 21:40:03    1354906

Confusion already...

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 23/03/2013 21:49:27    1354917

Its in the motions on the gaa website if you care to look

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 23/03/2013 21:54:34    1354927

boys was the pick up voted in do ye know?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/03/2013 10:28:46    1354971

shaggy will ya calm down man !.

You are obviously upset but look, there are certain aspects of the game that have to be eradicated and hopefully the black card thing will help to do these.

Nobody wants to see one of their players deliberately hauled down or taken out when bearing down on goal etc so hopefully this new measure will go a long way to stopping this, it won't eliminate it altogether but it should reduce it and that has to be a good thing.

Certain teams and players will have to change their ways more so than others but I believe they'll all get there eventually it may be costly to them in the beginning but they'll surely learn some the hard way but they will get there in time.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 24/03/2013 10:46:30    1354978

The pick up was rejected.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 24/03/2013 10:51:23    1354981

I don't know if this question has been asked earlier or not but are yellows done away altogether or what happens???

gaelic_life (Down) - Posts: 286 - 24/03/2013 11:06:40    1354989

im surprised with that snapper, i taught that would pass.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/03/2013 12:04:06    1355022

Black card has a status above a yellow card and is used for the 5 offences described.Existing yellow card offence apart from the 5 black card offences will remain yellow card offences. So a challenge for the ball that is late will still be a yellow card if it is a genuine challenge for the ball, of course what is a genuine challenge for the ball is open to interpretation

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 24/03/2013 12:04:13    1355024

If anyone hasn't seen it, the video that was shown at Congress and which must have swung the vote is on youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=QBhikkHoNcg

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/03/2013 19:18:36    1355240

Referees are hard pushed to use the yellow and red cards correctly without throwing another colour into the mix, personally I didn't see the need for a black card, proper use of the yellow card should be enough of a deterrent

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 24/03/2013 19:59:06    1355313

Correct me if I'm wrong but i thought tripping was red card offence already!

hound (Meath) - Posts: 234 - 24/03/2013 20:16:25    1355361

Richieq that is the point. The yellow card is not acting as a deterrent to this. In theory, though unlikely there can be 40 cases of cynical play in a match, 40 yellow cards handed out and no-one is playing. The game as it stands is driving away many people, including our children from playing our games and something had to be done. Like someone said in an earlier post if the black card doesn't cut it out then it can be reverted back.

I think the Black Card got so much publicity on Saturday that congress got caught up and the other motions were not properly debated. If they were then results may have been different on some other motions.

In relation to the black card debate i was very surprised that the "NO" camp polled 30% because during debate, after the FRC gave their review there were endorsements from Dublin, Kildare, Longford, Derry, Europe, the top table and other National committee's among others until an Uachtaráin stopped proceedings and asked, in the name of balance if anyone from the other side of the fence wanted to give their views against the motion. Christy Ring Jnr said a bit about Hurling, which really posed no relevance and the Tyrone Chairman made a sheepish attempt at opposing the motion, more interested in clearing his Senior County managers name from various press reports, venting his opposition. Next up came past President Joe McDonagh who stole the show with a rip-roaring 5 minutes in support of the motion and then to vote.

So apart from Cork and a watered down Tyrone no-one opposed the motion vocally. I thought there was at least 12 Counties against it, according to reports.

Next up was lunch where the Tyrone chairman was seen talking to Joe Brolly, seeking advice for his next role after Mickey gets him booted off the CB. :-)))

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 24/03/2013 20:26:32    1355388

Oh lord wasn't that a cute hoor trip by the Kerryman on the Cork player lol! Was so well done ye have to give him credit for it.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/03/2013 20:31:37    1355397

I meant no one is really punished instead of"playing" in the first sentence.... Duh!!!!!!!

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 24/03/2013 20:45:07    1355418

petejoeduff

Or WWF tactics as Karl Lacey can attest to. Doesn't change the fact that its the wrong solution to a valid problem.

Firstly, your opinion isn't a fact, its merely an opinion! The only fact we're dealing with is that cynical fouling is prevalent in our games. Time will tell whether this measure works or not. I like to think it will and i find it extremely encouraging that something is being done. The principle idea that most people have completely overlooked is that if the measure is punitive enough there will be no need to issue black cards. In that case no teams will be losing players. All that will have occured is that Rubgy tackling will no longer exist in Gaelic Football.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 24/03/2013 20:53:20    1355432