Wearing white socks

National - Wearing white socks

Thats just to let the people know a new Pope has been elected

Very Good Fairshoulder :)

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 14/03/2013 17:30:19    1349594

I bought boots the other week and guess what? They were ever so slightly too big, but not big enough for me to go and exchange them. Then BAM! I decided I'd wear two pairs of socks to remedy this dreadful problem.

And here you have people starting a thread giving out about it. Some of yis have little to be at.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 14/03/2013 17:45:00    1349607

Don't remind me about the 1980s when you couldn't get into a nightclub wearing them!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8753 - 14/03/2013 18:42:04    1349633

WillieFrazer
County: Armagh

it allows players to stand out more to those in the stands. I find that it's those who cant allow their playing ability to make them stand out. I've never got round to the idea of taping your wrists either.

You call yourself an Armagh man? Read Oisin's book, that'll explain the wrist tape. It is used to stop the wrists bending back and snapping when trying to stand up an opponent.

Some players wear them and write messages on them - to help inspire them I guess.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5246 - 14/03/2013 20:57:30    1349715

You are jealous of people who wear them because they have the confidence to wear them and are not bother what people like you think. Not that you should need confidence to wear them this day and age but it appears they are a few backward people like your self still remaining.
As Bosco1937 has stated "the only reason i wear them is the normal socks provide more grip on the inside of my boots than normal o'neills socks, also it provides more cushioning on the foot and is more comfortable than wearing two pairs of football socks" People wear normal socks for better grip and cushion and white just so happens to look better with other colours than black or navy socks.

Confidence to wear them? So I want to wear them, but am too lacking in confidence to do so is it? Is that how you justify it to yourself? Listen dont be fooling yourself. People wear them because they think it looks good, no other reason. If they were putting that concentration into their football instead of how they look while playing football then they would be better footballers, end of story.
Did you not think to ask bosco why they have to be white? Does the colour white gove more grip, cushion, etc? Why not 2 odd socks? Or those big grey wooly ones, plenty traction in them! The reality is more layers on your foot actually gives you less control of a ball and adds more weight for you to carry around all afternoon. On a wet, mucky pitch the extra sock picks up a load of water, and the muck gets between the 2 socks, increasing weight on your ankles and slowing you down. If these lads were actually concerned with getting that 'extra traction', and they put a bit of thought into it, they would discover that tightening the laces in their boots correctly is a solution that actually serves this purpose you think the white socks do.

I can see from your attitude that you must be from West Mayo somewhere and have not moved with the times, the Celtic Tiger should be hitting your parts soon, but dont waste all the money as there is a recession coming up in another few years.

And I can see from that comment that you are a 15 year old, who wears white socks with his boots... I dont really get the west mayo thing. The best town in mayo is in west mayo, westport, and there are plenty of shapers around there also

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/03/2013 11:04:19    1349858

Interestingly enough I wear black socks over black socks for one of the teams I play with, is that a problem? Most socks have white trim up to the ankles anyway its hardly a huge deviation from the norm. It just so happens that it is tough to get cotton socks in green or blue to match football socks to keep people like you happy. Most lads I know wear multiple layers of socks anyway and wearing normal socks instead of layers of football socks is more comfortable.
Of course there is going to be young lads wearing them in order to look cool but like anything there is a reason behind it that has been lost in translation.

Bosco1937 (Longford) - Posts: 185 - 15/03/2013 11:40:10    1349881

Bosco, the old, unfashionable, gaa socks are made of cotton, why not wear them? If it is cotton you are after...
First off, I have already explained that there is no advantage in wearing white ankle socks, that simply tightening yous boots correctly wont fix. Furthermore I have given an example of how they are actually a hinderance in some situations, or in fact any time you kick a ball. So in reality, there is no real function of wearing extra socks, which as far as Im concerned means anyone using them is really using them for superficial purposes. Now that is fine, do that if that is what you want to do. People will make assumptions and the reality is, with respect to the above, they will generally be right. That is the downside of wearing them. However, you cant turn around and then start trying to tell people who have played football, or play football, that it is for footballing reasons. You cant have it every way.

This nonsense about 'having the confidence to wear them' is missing the bigger picture. It isnt about wearing them or not wearing them. It is about the team. Nobody should be trying to set themselves apart on any team. It draws unwanted attention that can end up affecting the teams ability to win the match. It is also bad for team moral and the harmony within the squad. It is the same as guys wearing ridiculous boots or having their hair done as if they are hitting the town. They are taking the chance of maybe being targetted, or even worse, motivating their opponents to a higher level of performance, and the loser is the team. And what does that say about their attitude? Nobody should do this in any way shape or form. Even if it doesnt happen, the fact that guys are willing to take that chance means they only buy into the team ethic on their own terms. So the guys who do this, will also happen to be the forward who will kick his own point when a teamate is in for a goal, or the defender who only cares aboutgetting up the field and kicking a point himself, while ignoring his man creating overlaps all day long on his fellow defenders.
In the above example, consider a corner forward wearing extra socks on a very wet day. The corner back then goes on to pip him ever so slightly to every ball and the team lose by a point. Now are you telling me that the extra weight on his legs, particularly in the last 10-15 minutes, didnt have an affect on him? Maybe his ankle socks motived his marker? He was willing to risk compromising his performance for the sake of looking the part, and that isnt acceptable in a team sport. This happens to be the real reason why people dont like them, not because 'they are jealous'

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/03/2013 12:42:05    1349939

Father Ted: That's right, Dougal. You see, ordinary shops sell what look like black socks, but if you look closely, you'll see that they're very, very, very, very, very, very, very dark blue.
Father Dougal: That's true. I thought my Uncle Tommy was wearing black socks, but when I looked at them closely, they were just very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very dark blue.
Father Ted: Never buy black socks from a normal shop.
[Whispers to Dougal]
Father Ted: They shaft you every time!

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1066 - 15/03/2013 13:25:56    1349975

Bosco, the old, unfashionable, gaa socks are made of cotton, why not wear them? If it is cotton you are after...
First off, I have already explained that there is no advantage in wearing white ankle socks, that simply tightening yous boots correctly wont fix. Furthermore I have given an example of how they are actually a hinderance in some situations, or in fact any time you kick a ball. So in reality, there is no real function of wearing extra socks, which as far as Im concerned means anyone using them is really using them for superficial purposes. Now that is fine, do that if that is what you want to do. People will make assumptions and the reality is, with respect to the above, they will generally be right. That is the downside of wearing them. However, you cant turn around and then start trying to tell people who have played football, or play football, that it is for footballing reasons. You cant have it every way.

This nonsense about 'having the confidence to wear them' is missing the bigger picture. It isnt about wearing them or not wearing them. It is about the team. Nobody should be trying to set themselves apart on any team. It draws unwanted attention that can end up affecting the teams ability to win the match. It is also bad for team moral and the harmony within the squad. It is the same as guys wearing ridiculous boots or having their hair done as if they are hitting the town. They are taking the chance of maybe being targetted, or even worse, motivating their opponents to a higher level of performance, and the loser is the team. And what does that say about their attitude? Nobody should do this in any way shape or form. Even if it doesnt happen, the fact that guys are willing to take that chance means they only buy into the team ethic on their own terms. So the guys who do this, will also happen to be the forward who will kick his own point when a teamate is in for a goal, or the defender who only cares aboutgetting up the field and kicking a point himself, while ignoring his man creating overlaps all day long on his fellow defenders.
In the above example, consider a corner forward wearing extra socks on a very wet day. The corner back then goes on to pip him ever so slightly to every ball and the team lose by a point. Now are you telling me that the extra weight on his legs, particularly in the last 10-15 minutes, didnt have an affect on him? Maybe his ankle socks motived his marker? He was willing to risk compromising his performance for the sake of looking the part, and that isnt acceptable in a team sport. This happens to be the real reason why people dont like them, not because 'they are jealous'

If we were all the same it would be a very boring world we live in. Some people want to wear white socks, let them. What difference does it make to you or anyone else. People should not have to defend themselves because you are backward. some individual players want extra attention and this can help their game. Take Ronaldo for instance or Paul Galvin, these type of people love been in the spot light and perform best when there in it. There not bothered about individuals like yourself who complain about things they do but at the same time are miles behind them in skills.

ballaghmen (Mayo) - Posts: 318 - 15/03/2013 15:19:20    1350039

If we were all the same it would be a very boring world we live in. Some people want to wear white socks, let them. What difference does it make to you or anyone else. People should not have to defend themselves because you are backward. some individual players want extra attention and this can help their game.

We dont have to be all the same, just that everyone on a team should put the team before themselves, simple. The socks offer nothing to the team, except possible negativity, therefore no player should be coming to the conclusion that they should be wearing them, and if they do, it reflects poorly on their attitude to being part of that team, and how they value themselves in comparison to the team

Well it makes a difference to their team, I thought I was clear about that in the last post. It offers nothing and is potentially a negative influence. So yes it does make a difference. I dont see how that makes me backward, I would say someone who cannot see the knock on effects, potential downfalls and lack of an upside to wearing them, would be far more backward. Surely the team should take precedence over whether you think you look good or not?

Take Ronaldo for instance or Paul Galvin, these type of people love been in the spot light and perform best when there in it. There not bothered about individuals like yourself who complain about things they do but at the same time are miles behind them in skills.

They arent bothered, it doesnt mean they are right though does it? It is not as if they need all those extras to perform is it? That is my point, it offers nothing. However, look at the negative effects that type of pomp and circumstance has as regards the team. Your own example, Galvin gets sent off very often, many unwarranted, he attracts attention of the wrong type to himself and those around him, e.g. this spitting incident, entirely not his fault, yet are we surprised that this guy chose to target galvin? Now if he just got on with playing his football, would he be getting targetted half as much? No he wouldnt. Are those things helping his team? No they are not. Would it be better for his team if he wasnt getting targetted? Yes it would. Case closed, leave the white socks at home in future.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/03/2013 16:14:34    1350067

If people wanna wear white socks, let them. It's doing you no harm, it does the team no harm, football is being modernised, style is a part of it whether you like it or not. The day when a footballer is considered soft for wearing white boot is slowly going out the window, get used to it.

1weeword (Donegal) - Posts: 29 - 15/03/2013 16:43:17    1350098

Whether it's a big deal or not it's a brave lad that would wear them training with the club!! In Meath anyway it's frowned upon to say the very least!

shldrs2thewheel (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 15/03/2013 18:43:07    1350152

This thread has to be a windup? Anyone suggesting that a player wearing white socks is putting his team at a disadvantage has to be fishing

mmcartan (Cork) - Posts: 17 - 16/03/2013 10:19:28    1350283