Paul Galvin incident

There is no proof of this. It is your assumption. Well I could have told you that myself Sherlock.

Why did the guy run away like he was making an escape if it was in retaliation? Were the sectarian comments made whilst squaring up toe to toe? I don't know and I'm know that you don't know either.

Why was galvin so bemused looking about the whole situation if he knew something might be coming his way? If you bothered to read the post, you will see that I said that I didn't believe Galvin made any sectarian abuse, but that others probably did, which MAY have led to this.

The evidence does not only not support your assumption, it actually suggests the total opposite... The evidence - I really didn't know you were a detective. Alright, some might say (not me) that if someone was spat on for nothing, they would have looked for retribution rather than stand looking bemused.

And just to re-emphasize, I said and I am saying now again, I don't think Galvin made any sectarian comments.

muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 12/03/2013 16:27:22    1348185

muffin

Once again your trying to put both as equal.

The spitting is not alleged, its proven.

The vocal abuse is only alledged, and only came out AFTER the proven spitting.

Theres a huge difference, so why speak of them as the same?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 12/03/2013 16:41:38    1348194

Snufalufagus

Fists until the cry for mercy is heard, anyone?....has always sorted out lads that need summary justice for me no probs!

Not that crazy of an idea, I live in the US with a couple of big ice hockey fans. Watching the game one night (only one tv) and out of no-where two lads took into fighting man on man. I asked the lads why was this stupid rule in place that 2 lads could go fighting all of a sudden. They told me its to keep all the little niggles and bad blood out of a game, one player says something or gives a late hit etc and they sort it out between them one on one. Doesnt seem that stupid a rule anymore!

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 12/03/2013 16:49:49    1348204

Nobody from Tyrone or anywhere else should be engaged in spitting or similar. Simple.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 12/03/2013 16:54:33    1348207

Jinxie

We are going around in circles here.

I am not trying to put them both as equal. I know they are not equal. What I am trying to put across is that for the guy who spat, it MAY have been great leveller for HIM to spit on Galvin for the alleged sectarian abuse given to him.

Also, having watched the video, I was disgusted. Subsequently having watched it again, I was still disgusted, but it is not actually clear (although it is very damning) that the guy spat, without the use of another camera angle or x-ray vision - the guys head is in the way.

I agree that the vocal abuse is alleged, but how could it ever be anything other than alleged. The allegation of abuse did only come out after the video, but it's not surprising, why would they bring up allegations of abuse if they just won an All-Ireland.

muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 12/03/2013 17:07:44    1348220

muffin. You are trying to justify an obvious truth with something that there is absolutely no indication of. Yes he MAY have said it. Similarly, mulligan MAY have made the whole thing up to cover up a plan they came up with to get galvin sent off. You are just pulling this notion out of the air, there is no basis for it, so you cant use it as a reason that the guy spat on galvin. either of the above could be true, or neither could be true, so speculating on that is ridiculous. You could make anything up and stick it in there. The reality is, we both know that didnt happen, so why are you making that point?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/03/2013 17:12:53    1348224

white n blue,

Indeed!....Simply lets a lad know that if you insist on messing around you will pay a very painfull price for it!

FISTS!....I have yet to see them not solve any 'problem' in short order!

.....and to think I have my detractors on here eh!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/03/2013 17:14:31    1348227

Some people are always the victim. Didn't look like Galvin said a word. Far more likely he spat on him to get a reaction and try to get him ( their best player) sent off. Cynical, disgusting and no place for it in the GAA.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 12/03/2013 17:44:34    1348245

There is nothing wrong with justifying things; it is a tool used to get an understanding of why someone did something. You can justify anything: why Fred West buried people in his patio; it was a simple place to put the bodies and he was clean mad. The problem is when you agree with why someone did something. I never said that I condoned spitting, I have said that it sickened me. This is a forum after all, not a court of law, and I think that is OK for me to say that IF this guy was riled by sectarian comments (which I agree may or may not have been said, and if they were Galvin probably wasn't responsible) then I can see why he might want to get retribution. I'm not condoning it, but I am as you say justifying it, so as to understand it as part of a wider set of events, rather than an isolated incident as most people are keen to view it.

I also said that that video is damning, but not conclusive, as the guys head is in the way, but that I am 99% certain it probably was a spit. Again, there is nothing wrong with saying that; there may well another video tomorrow showing it one way or the other.

muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 12/03/2013 17:56:27    1348259

Galvin has a statement on his website

http://www.thisispaulgalvin.com/statement/

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 12/03/2013 18:05:00    1348267

Ok for the fools saying it was in reaction to sectarian comments? Are you for real? I mean, sectarianism is mostly( not completely but mostly) to do with religious differences, (IMO anyone who spits is scum) would be of same religion, Jesus lads is this how low you have to go to try to justify this? This is a trait I've noticed increasing over a number of years among those from the six counties, this victim thing and trying to justify everything by it, it is among players and supporters, not all but some, grow up those who try to justify this accept he was wrong and please stop trying to play the nordie card, it don't work

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/03/2013 18:12:35    1348275

Well done Paul galvin on a very manly statement.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 12/03/2013 19:30:55    1348329

Very good statement from Paul Galvin, he is showing great leadership and dignity.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 12/03/2013 19:59:00    1348356

ulsterman are you for real? you start your post by saying us kerry people never stop whinging and moaning about ills that have befallen us and then you whine on for half a page about the troubles that befallen you as if its kerry peoples fault, did i or any other kerry people ever abused you or stoped you from going a football match? NO we didn't, so get over your self and get off kerry peoples backs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2013 20:33:06    1348380

Well done Paul, we should all move on from this including the forum.

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 12/03/2013 20:33:51    1348381

There is a strong likelihood that there will b an example made of a player this summer on the back of this. I just hope they dont single out a scapegoat for a lesser infringement. Pity that it has come to this.

2 wrongs dont make a right. the lesson here seems to be leave it on the pitch and it will b all right, especially if you dont get caught.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3849 - 12/03/2013 20:47:41    1348389

That is a classy statement from a footballer I admire enormously and from a county I respect greatly. No footballer deserves to be treated like that, least of all Paul Galvin. As far as I'm concerned there are no issues between Tyrone and Kerry, they are contrived by people outside of our two counties who have an agenda, many of whom are regulars on this forum. Can we now move on from this as it serves no one any good whatsoever, except for those who wish to attack my county, and Kerry for that matter, for no other reasons other than envy and fear.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 12/03/2013 20:52:31    1348394

snuffles you should come down to kerry and apologize to me for annoying me for the past 3 years ;-) .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2013 21:00:14    1348397

great statement fair play paul..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/03/2013 21:03:45    1348399

KingdomBoy1
ulsterman are you for real? you start your post by saying us kerry people never stop whinging and moaning about ills that have befallen us and then you whine on for half a page about the troubles that befallen you as if its kerry peoples fault, did i or any other kerry people ever abused you or stoped you from going a football match? NO we didn't, so get over your self and get off kerry peoples backs.

It always strikes me how that irony always seems to be lost on ulsterman. He is always accusing people about whining, yet he never stops doing it himself...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/03/2013 21:05:52    1348402