Paul Galvin incident

Its Snot funny!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/03/2013 15:43:38    1353529

I haven't commented on this tread as I thought any like minded decent human being would consider spitting outrageous and disgusting. Regarding Ulsterman - you have outdone yourself with that post. I think you should be ashamed of yourself trying to justify what happened and you are not a GAA man at all.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/03/2013 15:48:45    1353540

Tir Conaill Abu

Donegalman

u forgot to mention michael lester, colm orourke, and pat spillane. Then u would have backed all the horses running

I'll see your Mark Sidebottom and raise you a Tom Comack (takes ten minutes to let you know the score) of Highland Radio!!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/03/2013 15:53:12    1353545

I will c u and raise u........ marty morrisey!!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3849 - 21/03/2013 16:49:50    1353592

I think it was either brend or gatekeeper who have has asked in the past "Do people actually read the posts on here?" How many times on this thread have I condemned the spitting at Paul Galvin and said the guilty should get a ban? I also went on to say that there were other allegations of spitting in the game AND allegations of slagging throughout. YES I say again if someone is found guilty of a spitting offence whether from Cookstown or Finuge ban them BUT investigate the game as a whole and ask why would someone do this? To listen to some Kerry posters AND others this appears to be another lynch mob gathering to take it out on the big, bad Nordies; it seems to be a fait accomplie where the verdict of guilty has already been decided and it's only going to be Cookstown. I have condemned spitting towards Paul Galvin; will others do likewise against allegations of spitting towards any Cookstown players AND the allegations of provocative sectarian abuse aimed at them?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 21/03/2013 17:59:02    1353658

Ulsterman,
Whats up man?You just wrote a messsage without once mentioning freestate conspircies,26 county media or partitionism:)

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 21/03/2013 18:27:31    1353690

Ulsterman

I have condemned spitting towards Paul Galvin; will others do likewise against allegations of spitting towards any Cookstown players AND the allegations of provocative sectarian abuse aimed at them?

Unless Finuge are a club populated & supported by a collection of Protestants, Jews, Muslims etc etc then I fail to see how any abuse could be classified as "sectarian".

As I understand it, the definition of sectarian behaviour requires that the person doing the abusing must belong to a different religion to the person being abused.

Now in my mind abuse is abuse & should be treated all the same, but sectarian? I think not.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/03/2013 18:28:38    1353691

Ulsterman you always have an angle - ahh yes I condemned spitting but the bigger question is what did the Kerry lads do to deserve it! I judge a person on how they hold themselves whether they are from west Belfast / omagh or god forbid Cork! Unlike you who judges everyone depending on where they come from.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/03/2013 18:47:03    1353703

The picture in the Irish Independent probably sums up the treatment Galvin gets everyday he goes out.
Will this be a Black Card offence?
[url=]http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/galvin-arrives-to-rebel-welcome-29151327.html

Silage (Wexford) - Posts: 19 - 25/03/2013 11:25:56    1355706

Silage
County: Wexford

The picture in the Irish Independent probably sums up the treatment Galvin gets everyday he goes out.
[url=]http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/galvin-arrives-to-rebel-welcome-29151327.html

imagine if paul galvin had done that himself?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 25/03/2013 12:05:24    1355746

kerryluck

1355746 Silage
County: Wexford

imagine if paul galvin had done that himself?

It's easy if you try

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 25/03/2013 12:11:16    1355756

He also took a nice punch to the back of the head after giving a fair shoulder.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 25/03/2013 12:32:27    1355798

They're all good mates really!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 25/03/2013 12:39:43    1355807

To listen to some Kerry posters AND others this appears to be another lynch mob gathering to take it out on the big, bad Nordies; it seems to be a fait accomplie where the verdict of guilty has already been decided and it's only going to be Cookstown. I have condemned spitting towards Paul Galvin; will others do likewise against allegations of spitting towards any Cookstown players AND the allegations of provocative sectarian abuse aimed at them?

You ask do people read the posts. Do you read them yourself? Big bad nordies? I, like everyone else, have condemned a guy for spitting in the face of an opponent. I dont care where he is from.
What is disconcerting is your stance on the issue. 'Yes he spit, but why did he spit?' As if there has to be a reason that forced him into the act, all the while ignoring the frankly, most likely possibility that he just decided to spit in galvins face because he wanted to get him to react.
You keep pushing this guy as a victim, with very little to back it up. The reality is he is no victim. You can see in the video, he recognises that galvin is in front of him, he thinks for a second for a method to get a reaction and then spits on him. He then tries to make his getaway, hoping galvin will chase him and lash out.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/03/2013 12:45:00    1355817

Silage, that picture clearly shows paul gavin biting o'leary's hand. No doubt o'leary passed some comment to justify this act...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/03/2013 12:48:16    1355821

Superglue

1355798 He also took a nice punch to the back of the head after giving a fair shoulder.

If you look again the punch actually hit him in the back, but your premise remains correct

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 25/03/2013 12:55:27    1355833

And not a Tyrone man to be seen, ahhhh bliss!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 25/03/2013 13:10:31    1355853

omaghredhand

Superglue

1355798 He also took a nice punch to the back of the head after giving a fair shoulder.

If you look again the punch actually hit him in the back, but your premise remains correct

First impression was the head but didn't see replay so will take your word for it.
Was a decent shoulder. Pity it'll be a thing of the past very soon.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 25/03/2013 13:54:38    1355899

I think there must be a bounty given to photographers for the Indo to get the worst possible photo you can find in a GAA match. Its all about creating a negative image of GAA. There were some great scores in the 32+ matches some high fielding (e.g. Barry Moran Cian O'Sullivan Mannion dub corner forward) but none of that is highlighted. It is no coincidence the former owner of the paper was a rugby international. The Indo tries to set the agenda And it succeeds!!!! What are we discussing today?

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 25/03/2013 16:20:36    1356081

On photos, the Times today had a good one as well. Two fingers & a thumb stuck in a players eye.

What's the penalty for gouging ??? Culprit was not sent off. Was he even booked ?

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 25/03/2013 17:40:09    1356130