well said mod.
Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 23/03/2013 19:02:28
I just can not believe the world cup can be held in Ireland. Would the final be held in a rugby stadium of only 50000 capacity. Only mickey mouse matches could be held in another rugby stadium Ravenhill capacity 18000. No last 8 game for Thormond Park unless Fuji v Italy etc. Would they really have quarter-finals at Croke Park, Casement, Aviva and Semple Stadium. How would this reflect on the rugby world cup.
Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 23/03/2013 19:23:21
Absolutely delighted the motion passed, would be great for our little country to host such a global event, lets hope the bid is successful. Ps anybody who thinks that this is a threat to the Gaa is just plain bitter if you ask me, believe me this will do the Gaa little or no harm at all.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/03/2013 19:23:34
23/03/2013 15:38:16 beal gaa have already defiled croke park Not sure if serious. How has one irish sporting organisation helping other irish sporting teams and players and fans "defiled" the ground. 23/03/2013 18:13:39 mod Very short sighted decision. It makes absolutely no sense. What next Dunnes Stores giving Tesco a dig out for "the good of the country" ? Lazy but predictable cliche from ashure. A foretaste of the media take on this ridiculous decision. Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Completely different scenario to Dunnes and Tesco. Not ridiculous at all
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/03/2013 19:29:29
The rugby dominated media will be salivating at the thoughts of rugby being played in GAA grounds should we get the world cup. I look forward to some of the articles that will inevitably appear, like the time the Irish as a race came of age because of a rugby game.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 23/03/2013 19:31:57
Sergeant_Slash County: Cavan Posts: 1718
1354779 The rugby dominated media will be salivating at the thoughts of rugby being played in GAA grounds should we get the world cup. I look forward to some of the articles that will inevitably appear, like the time the Irish as a race came of age because of a rugby game.
There will always be the odd ruggers a-hole in the media or down your local pub who look down on everything to do with the 'bog-ball.' But I think the vast majority of fans of both codes have the utmost respect for the other sport. A lot of people have played both sports at one stage or another. Even though I've little interest in rugby, I'm delighted with this decision as it gives Ireland a chance to host a major international sporting event. Feck the begrudgers I say, and I'll just avoid reading any condescending articles that may appear
petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 23/03/2013 19:59:44
For anyone who supports the RWC in Ireland, what would you say if Croke Park was renamed Heiniken Stadium? Instead of the Sam Maguire Cup, the All Ireland SFC winner receives the British Petroleum Trophy?
mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 23/03/2013 20:15:55
The Rugby bandwagon will be long over by that stage so wont have to worry
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/03/2013 20:23:21
23/03/2013 20:15:55 mikeyjoe For anyone who supports the RWC in Ireland, what would you say if Croke Park was renamed Heiniken Stadium? Instead of the Sam Maguire Cup, the All Ireland SFC winner receives the British Petroleum Trophy? Not relevant to the argument and no neither of those scanarios will ever happen 23/03/2013 20:23:21 moomoo The Rugby bandwagon will be long over by that stage so wont have to worry no bandwagon. rugby will still be strong then and well after that
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/03/2013 20:28:47
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 4105
1354777 23/03/2013 15:38:16 beal gaa have already defiled croke park Not sure if serious. How has one irish sporting organisation helping other irish sporting teams and players and fans "defiled" the ground.
Thats a matter of opinion ormond. Read chapter 1 of the GAA's official guide and you can easily see why some people would form the opinion that Croke Park has been defiled. It's not my own opinion, but I can see why people think that way.
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 23/03/2013 20:37:41
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 4107
moomoo The Rugby bandwagon will be long over by that stage so wont have to worry no bandwagon. rugby will still be strong then and well after that
Ormond, in 2007, Croke Park held 82500 odd people for Ireland vs England. Later that year after a dismal world cup, 15 people turned up to greet the team on their homecoming.
Now come on.......
Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 23/03/2013 20:39:37
Only problem I have with all this is listening to and reading rugby heads waffle about their dire game. Still if we can screw them for some money I can grin and bear it.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 23/03/2013 20:56:10
It was a fait accompli. Once it was in the ether that a rugby world cup bid hinged on them, there was never any way that the GAA could refuse the use of the stadiums. Can you imagine if they did refuse? The righteous and the holy would've been out in full swing, with the usual hand-wringing, soapbox denounciations, and virtuous outrage. And that would of course have affected the general public's attitudes to the GAA. It ain't about money.
Any arguments the GAA could've made about it being a very small country, about how they have to be concerned with the promotion of their own sports amid huge competition from much larger, not to mention professional sports, would have just been dismissed as bitter, archaic, insular, small-minded, parochial, and so on. Logic and perspective are the first things to be done away with when something like this comes along.
I just hope people are honest about what the costs of hosting this will be.
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 23/03/2013 21:00:56
23/03/2013 20:37:41 Sergeant_Slash Thats a matter of opinion ormond. Read chapter 1 of the GAA's official guide and you can easily see why some people would form the opinion that Croke Park has been defiled. It's not my own opinion, but I can see why people think that way. Ormond, in 2007, Croke Park held 82500 odd people for Ireland vs England. Later that year after a dismal world cup, 15 people turned up to greet the team on their homecoming. Now come on....... 15 people? and where was that? and whats the relevance of that number compared to 80'000ish who were actually watching a game not watching players walk through an airport on their way home 23/03/2013 20:56:10 arock Only problem I have with all this is listening to and reading rugby heads waffle about their dire game. Still if we can screw them for some money I can grin and bear it. Rugby isn't dire to a lot of people. Anyway how is it? There is a lot of people who waffle on about football and many people think gaelic is dire.
23/03/2013 21:00:56 Marlon_JD It was a fait accompli. Once it was in the ether that a rugby world cup bid hinged on them, there was never any way that the GAA could refuse the use of the stadiums. Can you imagine if they did refuse? The righteous and the holy would've been out in full swing, with the usual hand-wringing, soapbox denounciations, and virtuous outrage. And that would of course have affected the general public's attitudes to the GAA. It ain't about money. Any arguments the GAA could've made about it being a very small country, about how they have to be concerned with the promotion of their own sports amid huge competition from much larger, not to mention professional sports, would have just been dismissed as bitter, archaic, insular, small-minded, parochial, and so on. Logic and perspective are the first things to be done away with when something like this comes along. I just hope people are honest about what the costs of hosting this will be. No not the righteous and holy would have been out in full swing. the sensible and wise would also have been out with perfectly practical and viable and reasonable reasons why we should host this competition with the GAAs assistance.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 23/03/2013 21:16:53
ormondbannerman County: Clare
No not the righteous and holy would have been out in full swing. the sensible and wise would also have been out with perfectly practical and viable and reasonable reasons why we should host this competition with the GAAs assistance. ------------------------------------------------
I've yet to hear from those two, I thought they emigrated circa 2002. BTW, people on both sides of the for-and-against abyss have viable and reasonable, erm, reasons. Worth bearing in mind.
Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 23/03/2013 21:28:32
Jesus wept, The narrow mindedness of some people on hear is unbelievable. Im glad that they are very very much in the minority as was shown by such a huge majority yesterday, some are going as far as using terms like defilement, now if you want to see gaa grounds getting defiled then go to anyone of the hundreds of concerts held in them over the years, places like killarney.thurles. and oh yes Croke park, using the bigoted logic of some we should have refused to allow Croke park to have anything to do with special Olympics, well at least the British team anyway, cause let's be honest that's what this boils down to the assumption that both rugby and soccer are Brit's and we should have nothing to do with them. I have no great liken for either rugby or soccer but I'd watch either game over hurling, does this mean i can condemn stick and ball game been played in Croke park? There is a certain element within the gaa that thrive on bigoted, bordering on racist views towards anything outside the "tradition " no wonder Jason Sherlock and Lee chin faced such disgusting treatment. Finally this will be good for both the organization and the country as a whole. Rant over and congratulations to the delegates who showed that narrow mindedness is finally been got rid of
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/03/2013 08:44:31
Marlon_JD County: Tipperary Posts: 368
Once it was in the ether that a rugby world cup bid hinged on them, there was never any way that the GAA could refuse the use of the stadiums. Can you imagine if they did refuse? The righteous and the holy would've been out in full swing, with the usual hand-wringing, soapbox denounciations, and virtuous outrage. And that would of course have affected the general public's attitudes to the GAA. It ain't about money.
Marlon, they are out in force we have a few on this very thread whose only contribution to any GAA is to the defend the egg ball. The very fact these are incapable of understanding why people would be opposed to (by calling them bitter - now there's a statement for ye!) a Professional sport cherry picking what grounds they want from the GAA whose grounds are part of an amateur organisation. I just want MY organisation to grow some, and say NO, this is what we want from this and hear are the conditions and I hope its screwing them for every dime we cam end off.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 24/03/2013 10:56:02
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 4111
1354871 23/03/2013 20:37:41 Sergeant_Slash Thats a matter of opinion ormond. Read chapter 1 of the GAA's official guide and you can easily see why some people would form the opinion that Croke Park has been defiled. It's not my own opinion, but I can see why people think that way. Ormond, in 2007, Croke Park held 82500 odd people for Ireland vs England. Later that year after a dismal world cup, 15 people turned up to greet the team on their homecoming. Now come on....... 15 people? and where was that? and whats the relevance of that number compared to 80'000ish who were actually watching a game not watching players walk through an airport on their way home
The relevance of it shows how big a bandwagon Rugby has been. Everyone shows up when things a going well and no sign of them when there not. More proof of this is a lad i know who is involved with a Rugby club here in Kerry, when it looked like Munster would go out of the Heineken Cup he couldnt get rid of tickets for there last 2 games yet when they didnt go out everyone wanted tickets for the last game. What would you call that?
moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 24/03/2013 11:12:10
24/03/2013 08:44:31 royaldunne Jesus wept, The narrow mindedness of some people on hear is unbelievable. Im glad that they are very very much in the minority as was shown by such a huge majority yesterday, some are going as far as using terms like defilement, now if you want to see gaa grounds getting defiled then go to anyone of the hundreds of concerts held in them over the years, places like killarney.thurles. and oh yes Croke park, using the bigoted logic of some we should have refused to allow Croke park to have anything to do with special Olympics, well at least the British team anyway, cause let's be honest that's what this boils down to the assumption that both rugby and soccer are Brit's and we should have nothing to do with them. I have no great liken for either rugby or soccer but I'd watch either game over hurling, does this mean i can condemn stick and ball game been played in Croke park? There is a certain element within the gaa that thrive on bigoted, bordering on racist views towards anything outside the "tradition " no wonder Jason Sherlock and Lee chin faced such disgusting treatment. Finally this will be good for both the organization and the country as a whole. Rant over and congratulations to the delegates who showed that narrow mindedness is finally been got rid of +1 excellent post.
24/03/2013 10:56:02 arock Marlon, they are out in force we have a few on this very thread whose only contribution to any GAA is to the defend the egg ball. The very fact these are incapable of understanding why people would be opposed to (by calling them bitter - now there's a statement for ye!) a Professional sport cherry picking what grounds they want from the GAA whose grounds are part of an amateur organisation. I just want MY organisation to grow some, and say NO, this is what we want from this and hear are the conditions and I hope its screwing them for every dime we cam end off. If you are referring to me then just say it openly so everyone knows it is me. Yes a professional sporting organisation is asking a rival organisation for help. But congress obviously saw that it is good to open the grounds. What kind of money do you want the GAA to ask for from the government and IRFU? It is a pro sporting organisation asking for help from an amateur organisation but it is also 1 irish organisation asking another irish organisation for help in hopefully hosting a competition that will provide many benefits throughout the country from increased tourists coming into the country and all that comes with it like increased hotel stays, increased spending in bars, restaurants, shops. everyone wins
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/03/2013 12:21:13
24/03/2013 11:12:10 moomoo The relevance of it shows how big a bandwagon Rugby has been. Everyone shows up when things a going well and no sign of them when there not. More proof of this is a lad i know who is involved with a Rugby club here in Kerry, when it looked like Munster would go out of the Heineken Cup he couldnt get rid of tickets for there last 2 games yet when they didnt go out everyone wanted tickets for the last game. What would you call that? GAA has a huge bandwagon following. where are all the supporters for league games which make up the majority of teams games every year? Yet there is then thousands looking for championship tickets. Oh so you know a lad............ I would call that a sign of the times. People are still struggling with money and there's a lot of people with f all discretionary cash and will not spend it on match tickets esp when it looks like the team would go out. 1 of Munsters last 2 games was abroad as well so that would have been an issue
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/03/2013 12:28:07