Dublin 4-27 v 0-02 Carlow

Haha that's true Waynol seen as since I got on here I told everyone that domination was coming and it is but our defence last night doesn't fill me with confidence and as I said Kildare have a very good forward line so it won't be easy against.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/02/2013 11:53:01    1336552

valley westmeath, are u aware that we fund ourselves 100%
we are not getting more funding than anyone else

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/02/2013 12:00:56    1336559

it is but our defence last night doesn't fill me with confidence and as I said Kildare have a very good forward line so it won't be easy against.

Sorry ?

The 21s won by 37 points last night conceeding only 2 points in the whole game, What was there last night to suggest the defence struggled ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 20/02/2013 12:05:02    1336561

clondalkin defence couldnt be too bad only conceded two points haha
liamo i dont get it how can winning games taking scores and getting confidence into players not be a good thing,if we had of lost the match like the hurlers did to laois at this age group then we would have had a thread slamming all the hard work being done and nothing to show,we won with loads to spare job done,
WINNING IS NEVER A BAD THING.as regards the seniors a few years back they just met hungrier better teams on them two days against tyrone and kerry,i dont rememebr any other teams beating us by a big margin back then.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/02/2013 12:06:32    1336563

Hill i am not saying its a bad thing
All i am saying underage success is a guarantee of nothing
Humility is an admirable trait
and we should be aware of the enormous trap being set here by our culchie rivals and not walk straight into it!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/02/2013 12:12:34    1336569

First of all, underage should be focused towards developing senior players. While winning minors and U21's is brilliant, this is still about producing as many players who are capable of playing senior games - either county or club, as possible. Winning may be a by-product of excellent structures and good players, but it shouldn't be the end goal.

Dublin have clearly done a lot of excellent work with their structures. They probably have to do this work to attract and retain players in the face of strong competition from other sports. It is probably this competition, along with their huge numbers and large financial resources, which has driven them on.

A county like Carlow, Wexford, Longford etc. just aren't playing on a level playing field. They never were, but now the gap appears to becoming larger. This is due to the huge amount of effort big counties are putting in to development squads. The effort coaches, parents and players are putting in from probably U12 onwards is unreal. Years ago, a small county could have an excellent crop, and because all counties were doing less, you could hope that they'll catch one of the bigger teams on the hop. With how professional things have become, I don't think this is possible.

Would Dublin be better off splitting into two? We've had this suggestion before at senior level which I don't agree with, but I think it should be seriously considered at underage. If Dublin can give twice as many minors and U21's a chance to play intercounty football, I think that this could be a huge benefit to them in the long run. If smaller counties were coming up against a more level playing field in terms of size it would greatly aid they're development also.

One side games, or one county beginning to dominate underage championships is no good to anyone.

ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 20/02/2013 12:19:19    1336572

Dublin have exceptional talent coming through at levels of their underage structure. The progression of Gavin to the senior setup and Farrell to the under 21's was a great way of ensuring a good level of continuity for the young lads, and it'll really benefit them over the next few years.

People can talk about the Kildare team all they want and can say we have all the talent and potential in the world. But we haven't won a single game in Leinster in this age bracket in three or four years now.

There's no way we would have racked up such a score against Kilkenny, never mind Carlow.

The Dubs must be nearly odds on for the All Ireland now, and rightly so.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 20/02/2013 12:20:31    1336573

Could Dublin possibly scoop the U21, Minor and Senior treble, I think they could based on what I've read so far. Any of you betting folk out there going to give me some odds on that?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/02/2013 12:35:56    1336587

Cute Kerry Hoor is right, it won't matter a jot if we can't transfer our recent minor and under 21 success onto senior level...although I think the future looks bright we need to turn it into All Ireland success at senior.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/02/2013 12:39:09    1336590

U-21's gain is Minors loss

I think we'll see teams a lot closer to our minors this year

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 20/02/2013 12:42:36    1336594

brendtheredhand

Could Dublin possibly scoop the U21, Minor and Senior treble, I think they could based on what I've read so far. Any of you betting folk out there going to give me some odds on that?

Don't think there's odds available for the minors yet but I'd imagine a treble would work out at close to 20/1 or 22/1.

Probably be similar enough odds if you wanted to substitute the minor All Ireland for the seniors winning the league.

Printing money.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 20/02/2013 12:45:10    1336595

Lads that team was beaten when the draw was made. There was a very poor crop anyway but absolutely no effort was made. they only got together to play u21 games against Wicklow who also beat them well and Wexford who also won. Nevertheless as Waynol says Dublin were scoring every 60-70 seconds which is ridiculous. Dublin are exceptional and were missing a few last night as well....aagh. Remember Cork 2 years ago tho, looked unbeatable but werent.

pennypincher (Carlow) - Posts: 777 - 20/02/2013 12:52:50    1336599

Waynol I know these backs well before last night man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/02/2013 13:19:27    1336631

You can dress this up any way you like but the plain and simple facts are Dublin GAA have serious advantages over ALL the other counties yet Dublin GAA have greatly underachieved over the years given the position they are in.

Yes they'll hammer counties like Carlow and Louth six days of the week and twice on Sunday's but what good is that when you look at the overall big picture.

Dublin really should be doing a clean sweep in football year in year out but they're not, therefore they are underachieving big big time and that must really hurt.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 20/02/2013 13:39:57    1336649

Snapper, much like the way say England/France should win every Rugby World Cup?
Russia should win every European Championships?
Antrim should win every Ulster title going???

That kinda way??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/02/2013 13:51:02    1336655

It's only quite recently the fruits of the hard labour being done in Dublin has started to bare fruit on the underage stage. Results like this are meaningless in the grander picture, one must also take into account the effect emmigration has on a County the size of Carlow. This is a exceptional crop of players but they are not invincible.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 20/02/2013 13:52:03    1336657

And you should be thankful that we are not the snapper! Imagine how "hurt" you'd feel?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/02/2013 13:53:58    1336659

Any idea how many wides Dublin had?
Keeper will be sore today after a minimum of 31 kickouts.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 20/02/2013 13:59:41    1336663

Snapper why don't Galway win Connaught ever year? Why don't Cork win Munster every year? Why don't Antrim win Ulster every year so cause there populations are way bigger than every other county in there province? No doubt are pop is an advantage but that doesn't mean we should win Sam every year as someone said earlier it's still 15 v 15

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/02/2013 14:17:44    1336676

I heard the ref was a hometown man .

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 20/02/2013 14:24:21    1336682